We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
martin c
New Plymouth, New Zealand

Great people! Great place!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Mar 2014
I now consider the Waimak lodge to be my personal Holiday Lodge, Geoff is the Gamekeeper, and Gail is his Fancy-Lady!
My family, friends, workmates, and clients have all stayed from time to time and loved the experience. Gail and Geoff have catered for our events and gatherings with aplomb, panache, and the sort of honest kiwi hospitality which is spectacular in its simplicity and lack of fuss.
Waimak Lodge is the sort of place to stay if you want to get to know real Kiwi folk from a South Island farming and outdoor background. They also know how to respect your privacy if you just need a quiet retreat.
Date of stay: January 2014
Room Tip: When I stay on business, I enjoy one of the two single beds (I dont miss the view of the garden...
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
12.7 km from Waimakariri Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
13.0 km from Waimakariri Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
19.7 km from Waimakariri Lodge
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
11.5 km from Waimakariri Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
大きいベッド
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
15.9 km from Waimakariri Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
43.5 km from Waimakariri Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
43.0 km from Waimakariri Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
4 Bedroom apartment - Dinning Area
44.0 km from Waimakariri Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
42.1 km from Waimakariri Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Oxford
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very nice modern accomodation. The hot tub watching the sun set over the southern alps was special. Central to lots of activities. Geoff directed us to a nearby forest which was a local gem of a place to hike in. Will come back and stay in winter to take advantage of the nearby skifields.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2013

What a retreat fantastic views, accommodation and Gail and Geoff were just the best, you could not have asked them to do more for you. The accommodation was fantastic and very well set out and clean. We had a lovely stay and will be going back again thank you Gail and Geoff.

Room tip: All the rooms are lovely with views and all very quiet.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Large, modern comfortable home with very friendly and accommodating hosts. We only stayed one night but will be back for a longer stay

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephenvsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2011

This comfortable accomadation is situated in quiet countryside just a short distance from Oxford.We were made to feel very welcome by Gail and Geoff and nothing was to much trouble for them.All the rooms are at ground level which is a bonus when traveling for 6 weeks with heavy luggage.The rooms were nicely furnished with very comfortable beds.Great food.We could not believe how lucky we were to find such a gem.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mk773529
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Thank you Gail and Geoff for your kindness,we were overwhelmed by your warmth and outstanding hospitality.Especially after our experience of the earth quake in Christchurch.
This is a relaxing place to stay,surrounded by lovely country side.
The room were beautifully furnished, with a very comfortable bed
A choice of breakfast was served and cooked by Gail.
We would have no hesitation but to recommend this excellant accommodation.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purdidevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews