We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
greenheart33
Ekero, Sweden

Our best stay at the Southern Island

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Feb 2018
Due to cyclones and closed roads we prolonged our stay with Shirley and John from one to four nights and got some very nice days in Oxford. They are fantastic hosts taking care of the guests, serving excellent breakfasts snd we had the opportunity to get gourmet dinners prepared by John. The apartment was spacious, well equipped and with nice view towards the gaden and mountains. When coming back to Southern Island we will surely stay there again.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HielanHouse_B_and_B, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this review
Responded 27 Feb 2018
It was a pleasure to host Stefan and Agneta. Lovely considerate guests. We were just so glad Oxford didn't get the storm that was predicted. We thoroughly enjoyed the company and conversation and are now thinking seriously about visiting their beautiful country in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $179
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Hielan House Countrystay B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Hielan House Countrystay B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
8.1 km from Hielan House Countrystay B&B
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.9 km from Hielan House Countrystay B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$142
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $140
  • Vio.com
20.8 km from Hielan House Countrystay B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
大きいベッド
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
22.6 km from Hielan House Countrystay B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
38.1 km from Hielan House Countrystay B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
38.3 km from Hielan House Countrystay B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
38.6 km from Hielan House Countrystay B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oxford
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
25
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Breakfast was a treat. Choice of many options and prepared with great care of the owners.(Shirley and John). One day I left very early on a fishing trip they made me a packed breakfast. Very kind. The room I had was very large with an en suite section.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Werner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HielanHouse_B_and_B, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Werner - it was a real pleasure to host you. No problem, only wish you had caught more fish. Appreciated the company and the conversation and you weren't any trouble. A very nice guest. Please come back to New Zealand and enjoy what else our beautiful country has to offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

It was just wonderful.
Lovely atmosphere, food delicious. Shirley and John were perfect hosts.
Great to use the telescope in the suite to look at the New Zealand sky, and the view of the mountains in the morning was just as awe inspiring.
Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HielanHouse_B_and_B, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Hi Ian
Thanks very much for your great review. It was a pleasure to host you and your lovely wife Rachel. Hope it was a relaxing time for you and you enjoyed the rest of your time in Oxford. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed with Shirley and John for one night in February on a 5 week tour of New Zealand and Australia. By the time we left we felt we had stayed with friends. Hielan House is in a beautiful peaceful location away from it all. When you arrive you drive up a lovely flower and shrub filled driveway into the lovely gardens. Our accommodation was huge with a very large lounge double aspect lounge with stunning views from the balcony. This was equipped with a small kitchenette with coffee making facility and microwave, large seating area and dinning table, TV and large telescope. Onto top of this there was a separate bedroom, bathroom and walk in wardrobe. We only stayed one night but it is very suitable for a longer stay. Oxford itself is very quiet but would be excellent base for exploring the area beyond. When I contacted Shirley and John re places to eat they did offer us an evening meal for €40 dollars per person including meal and drinks. I believe this is only available on request and booked and food chosen in advance. We opted for the lamb and joined them for a very pleasant meal with wine with the food all coming from their small holding. It was an extremely pleasant evening which was a highlight on our tour as they are a great couple and very knowledgeable about the area. There was a great choice for breakfast, ordered the night before. Highly recommended stop on any tour of New Zealand.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PaulineC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HielanHouse_B_and_B, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

What lovely words, Pauline, and loved the photographs. We thoroughly enjoyed your company and conversation over dinner and breakfast. Garden is now going through its autumn colours and lots of leaves to rake up. You were a lovely couple to host and appreciate your kindness in the review. Take care and all the best. Shirley and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

We have just returned to the UK from a 6 week tour of NZ and stayed with Shirley and John very early on. We stayed in some nice places but this was one of the best. We were also given lots of information about the area and where to go on our travels which was very helpful.The facilities and hospitality including dinner were second to none and we even managed a dip in the pool! It would have been nice to stay longer and wouldn't hesitate in recommending anyone wanting to stay in the area.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E5411XQdavidk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HielanHouse_B_and_B, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear Lesley and David

Lovely to receive the fantastic photographs of our NZ bird life as you travelled around New Zealand. Your kind words are very much appreciated and you were a delightful couple to host. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

We chose to stay at Hielan House Countrystay in Oxford as we were planning to drive across Arthurs pass to the West coast and did not wish to stay in Christchurch.
It was very convenient for this purpose.
Shirley and John were great hosts, and made us feel very much at home in their house.
The house was very very comfortable, with wonderful views across the mountains.
I would recommend this stay for antone wanting to drive across the pass.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HielanHouse_B_and_B, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2016

Hi Helen and Steven
Thanks very much for the lovely words. It was a pleasure to host two lovely people. We hope you had a great time over on the West Coast despite the weather. We thoroughly enjoyed the company and conversation, especially as we have travelled through your neck of the woods. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews