We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jennifer B
Auckland, New Zealand

Great stay but not what we thought from the website.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Nov 2016via mobile
We stayed 1 night at this lovely homestead which is in a lovely rural setting, full of tranquility and peace. The full breakfast was delicious. However we stayed in the studio and from the website and reviews on TripAdvisor we didn't realise that the studio was seperate from the homestead in a 'corrugated barn/garage' with none of the character of the homestead. The photos on the internet are not current and the reviews on Tripadvisor are for the previous management Herman. It is now under new ownership for the lasr 8 months. Having said that we still enjoyed our stay - just not what we thought we were getting.
Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lousia Suite in the Homestead B&B
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
14.7 km from Woodgrove Homestead
Free parking
Bedroom 1 - Queen bed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
6.4 km from Woodgrove Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    $279
  • Hotels.com
42.9 km from Woodgrove Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
49.0 km from Woodgrove Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
Alpine views
46.8 km from Woodgrove Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
48.5 km from Woodgrove Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Entrance
Contact accommodation for availability.
48.7 km from Woodgrove Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
47.8 km from Woodgrove Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
48.5 km from Woodgrove Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hawarden
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
16
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

Beautiful location in Hawarden. We stayed in the gallery which is separate from the homestead and it was a perfect place for the night. Herman was a great host setting up a European breakfast for us prior to our departure.
We were here for work, but I'd like to return and spend a little more time.
Perhaps stay in the Homestead itself next time.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Lisa2715
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Beautiful rooms. Well furnished. Good breakfast. Very nice hosts.
In the middle of the countryside in the Waipara Vally. If you want to get some rest , this is the place to be.
Also Christchurch is nearby.

Room tip: All the rooms are excellent.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Apopost1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2015

The B&B is located out in the countryside, 15 - 30 minutes from villages and towns of the Waipara Valley. You discover a gracious traditional house amid the fields and pastures (use your GPS!). Our room was very large, with a private door onto the terrace, and a nicely equipped bathroom. "Our" sitting room was just across the hall from our room, with chairs, settee and table, overlooking the lawn and sheep fields. Our hosts, both of whom are Dutch, were engaging, inviting us for wine and cheese before we left for dinner. They prepared a complete cooked breakfast with European touches. We really felt that we were guests in their house, not just travelers in an ordinary B&B.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikendavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2015

A place been a bit on the blind spot before. This area is really worth to stay longer and this B & B would be the perfect base for that stay. The hosts are very welcoming, the rooms are just great. Overall it is quiet and comfortable. The dinner arrangement is a beautiful idea and you will get lots of information and tips from the hosts.

Room tip: All rooms are good.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thorsten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Arriving in NZ, there is no better Place to come down from Journey, really quit and a great hospitality with wonderfull Breakfast and Dinner.Fabulous country escape directly to door outside. Thank so much Herman!

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1957Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews