We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
52
35
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
52
35
5
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2019 via mobile

First off, we were here for a wedding and you would be hard pressed to find a more beautiful location for a wedding. (And the wedding wasn’t mine, and I got married in a great spot, no regrets, but this place is spectacular in a singular way.).

So. The place is gorgeous. And it’s easy to drive to many take-your-breathe-away beautiful spots. Personally my fave was Castle Rock.

The accommodations were ideal for us-cabins with individual bedrooms and small kitchens. I’m not sure how it works if you came here and we’re not a part of a group?

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2019

We stayed in a backpackers double room. This was reasonably comfortable and towels were supplied, which was nice. There were dead flies in the room and it was very dusty under the bed (I always check for lost socks etc.). There were a lot of dead insects caught up in the extractor fan in the shower room. The kitchen is well-equipped and was clean, There is also a lounge room and plenty of pleasant outside space. There is a restaurant but on the morning of our arrival we received an email saying it was closed that day. Alternatives for buying food are limited as this is a very rural area so you could be caught out if you were relying on them for meals. Wifi is
10$. The most expensive we encountered in NZ. Staff were not particularly helpful. They said they had had a very busy weekend but that is no excuse for indifferent service. This was the most expensive room of our holiday but not the best.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzieflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous views waking up in the lodge. We had two rooms and the were above expectation. Comfortable, warm, spacious, and homely. We were greeted by Tish who was lovely. Her positive energy was contagious instantly gave me and my staff a mood boost. She also helped us out in the morning with food and coffee.
The only issue with both our rooms was the exhaust fan in the restrooms. One locked on and was a bit rattley and the other didn’t work. Aside from the it was beautiful. Would look forward to staying here again.

For the younger crowd - this place is amazing. Get two couples together go halves in a cottage and fall in love with the scenery.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank theyoungwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2019 via mobile

Based on the pictures and high ratings on trip advisor we arrived with high expectations. What a disappointment. We booked a room for two. Throughout the booking procedure it was not clear that we did not make a booking for one of the cottages, but for a room in the backpackers' building with shared bathrooms.
Our room was smelly. The doors had an old door lock so you can't close them quietly - loud slamming at night! The walls were so thin that I could hear our neighbour turning around on his mattress at night. The window sill full of dead flies. Only the staff building seemed to have flyscreens.
Shared bathrooms dirty (dead flies) and smelly (urine).
Corridor full of living and dead insects. Carpet stained.
We left early after the first night - no place to feel comfortable!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LukasNZ2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2019 via mobile

Paradise for real. A lovely spot in the mountains close to rivers, lakes, Castle Rock and a filming site of Narnia.

Bunk accommodation, chalets or motel room style choices.

Great food and drinks in the restaurant and free WiFi.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Y8808JGdavidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews