We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$102
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
141
23
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
23
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstony riverschnitzelboutique hotelgrabone dealbeer gardenthree course mealpeaceful countrysuperb hospitalitybrilliant place to staya great eveningapple strudeldinner breakfastnew zealandmountain viewwonderful weekendwelcoming hostsnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018

We have been for dinner in Stony river many times. We even booked one night with my partner over there for his birthday. Great wine selection, food is always excellent.And a waitress Courtney always smile and make us feel welcomed, same as Heimo and Renate. We prefer Schnitzel nights every Wednesday, because they have live music :) We will be back :)

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kristýna Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

This is a great place for country hospitality and food done well. Excellent menu choices, some with an Austrian flavour. You cannot go past the strudel which is to die for. The staff are friendly and the service is fantastic.
Look out for a Grab One voucher which has three courses, at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nakitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Great hotel, lovely beer garden and hosts. The food was good but vegetarian snitzel was a bit basic and could do with some more veg and less mashed potato. The sharing platter was really good as a starter and over all we enjoyed the visit.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Comfortable, clean & hospitable. Excellent menu and wine selection, evening entertainment and an effusive & obliging host made for a very enjoyable night away from home.

(The proximity of the mountain and sea where rumored but not visually confirmed!!)

Room Tip: #7 is downstairs, away from the road (didn't notice significant traffic anyhow) and worked well for us.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

A lovely little spot only 20-odd minutes from New Plymouth. A good base for a Taranaki holiday.
Renate and Heimo are lovely hosts, the food is plentiful and good. The room we had was roomy. It is right on the road, but there is very little traffic between 10pm and 6.30am, so it's not a problem. Being an old building there is not a lot of noise insulation but it is not the place to attract wild party animals, so like the traffic it is not a concern.
Our room (the whole place actually) was clean and tidy. The staff are friendly and it really is a great little B&B (rather than what I would call a hotel), with restaurant.
I would certainly not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone thinking of staying.
We stayed 3 nights and with what Taranaki has to offer, would have happily stayed on.
Oh yes. Renate's coffee is about the best I've had. Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zimmbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews