We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent French style B&B with great included breakfast”
Review of La Gentilhommiere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Gentilhommiere
Ranked #1 of 3 Manvieux B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Warm friendly welcome. Large comfortable double bed in good size en-suite room. All facilities in good order including free wi-fi. Excellent included breakfast (extensive French b&b style cold table selection, good quality and quantity); breakfast is served at a long table, shared with other guests, in a lovely old room. Quiet location with village atmosphere and short drive to Arromanches where there's a wide choice of places for evening meal. Cash and credit cards accepted. Ideal location for visiting nearby small "Musee Debarquement" in Arromanches, in early morning, before coaches arrive.

Front gate was locked - access is down lane at side of property and via driveway through large rear garden - easy on-site parking.

Room Tip: En-suite doubles have 5' bed; good size rooms & great for a couple. Choose suite for a famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

3 - 7 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2016

We were travelling on motorcycles , arrived here late afternoon and were made very welcome , our room was huge with separate sitting room ,bath,shower room and toilet.
Loads of secure parking for the bikes . About 20 mins walk into arromanche with its lovely bars restaurants ,the ww2 museum and mulberry harbour among other things .
A good nights sleep , and breakfast before back on the road .
Very good friendly clean and welcoming stay . Highly recommend here but be aware you need to leave the village for eats and drink etc . But it's a lovely wander .

Room Tip: We had the huge room on the gable end of the house , it hasn't a number though .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucydog2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

We wanted somewhere that would be within easy travelling to the Normandy beeches and we were not disappointed. The welcome relieved at the hotel was perfect we were showed to our room and given a tour of our room. Which came with deprecate bathroom and loo, dining table and 2 chairs along with tea and coffee making facilities. Nothing was too much trouble we were asked if we needed a hand with our luggage and then
Told breakfast served on the beautiful big breakfast table between 8.30 - 9.30. Given s key to the front door. It is a short 10 minute drive to Gold Beech which has plenty of restaurants. We ate in the marina with stunning views over the beech. Food was a little more expensive but tasted divine. The breakfast at the hotel is home made and quintessential French buts great start to the day. Would recommend.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 99Jilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

This place is in the countryside and there is no shops or restaurants nearby. There is a big Carrefour a 15 minutes drive from the B@B. We stayed in the blue room, with a seperate diningarea. Nice room, good size, ok bed, lighting could be better. Fresh towels every day and the room was clean but a bit cold at night. Breakfast was basic but the quality of the items were great. I believe most was homemade. For the price we paid, 68 € for one night, we think it was very good value for money.
Wifi worked fine, there is no TV in the room, we did not care. Free parking, the entrance is down the road from the mainroad.
The landlady was kind but speaks only french.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank pean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Location was perfect; hosts were gracious; rooms and family suite were spacious (separate kids' room with a curtain but not door); and cold breakfast was generous (bread, toast, different pastry each morning - e.g., croissant or brioche, yogurt, jams, local cheese, ham, fruits, and delicious coffee or hot chocolate or tea). WiFi is also strong from room. Breakfast was at a long table, which encouraged our introverted selves to talk with others. We loved the location for D-Day beaches; it was near Arromanches, which has lots of affordable, family-friendly eateries plus historical interest. If you're going to Omaha Beach, be aware that many of the road signs to the beach are literally to a beach, not to a historical site. The path down to the beach from the cemetery is best (for perspective on what the Allies faced). The bunkers near Saint Laurent sur Mer and (with a longer drive) cliff at Pointe du Hoc (which Rangers scaled) are also pretty incredible. There are lots of museums; read reviews and go to what you can.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLoverLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Gentilhommiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gentilhommiere

Address: 4 route de Port, 14117 Manvieux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Manvieux
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Manvieux
Hotel Class:1.5 star — La Gentilhommiere 1.5*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing