We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,616)
Filter reviews
1,616 results
Traveller rating
1,190
246
91
54
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,190
246
91
54
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club rocky beach family pool la frasca golf course italian village beautiful hotel main building adult pools family hotel beach restaurant interior design two story white stone beach club attention to detail tennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,616 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

This is an amazing hotel and it is an experience to be there. The service, the food, the ammenities were above expectation. There is a maze of structures that wind around the property. The ambience inside and out, is a treat for all. They have people in golf carts driving people from pool to room and back again. They also have a shuttle to the beach.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank bostonsonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

From check in to check out, we were treated as though we were the most important patrons! The setting is indescribable:truly like a set in a movie. Attention to detail is everywhere. The staff was attentive but never overbearing, the food options were outstanding and rooms extremely comfortable. Expensive but worth it! I hope to return.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank TravelinGalCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

From the moment we arrived, until we left, we (4 adults) were amazed at the hotel and the entire staff. Beautiful, quiet and had a totally relaxing atmosphere.
Special mention to Rita for always keeping us informed and Donatello at one of the restaurants that always made us feel welcome, gave suggestions and service was second to none. We also went to the restaurant on the beach which was wonderful. The sommelier did a unique presentation. Breakfast was beautiful, plentiful and delicious. Our only complaint was the we didn’t get enough time to enjoy the resort because of sightseeing. A real gem. We will be back!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank imbieelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

This resort has, as has been pointed out, very attentive staff and good quality infrastructure but it is pricey and, taking advantage of its relative isolation, sweats its assets by up-selling expensive staged meal events, tours, upgraded wi-fi etc.

One peculiarity is that there is no written information on the available facilities. This has to be obtained from a greeter who, in our case, was as poor. Thus, amongst many other omissions, we were not made aware that meals for the under 3s, if taken in their own (very good) children's restaurant, were included in our tariff whereas if the child ate with the family they were charged.

We were also unhappy with the amount of waste we saw. This, apart from large quantities of food, even involved the replacement of toilet rolls after only a few sheets had been used.

Perhaps this waste contributed to the resort's overpricing but, even accepting that establishments in this area of Italy may have specific additional overheads, we considered the Borgo Egnazia to be poor value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Borgo Egnazia claims it is a place « like nowhere else », and although luxurious in many ways, is not a place we felt matched their slogan and missed the mark on a few points. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay, but only because we could combine several day trips and excursions outside of the resort during our two week stay. Already after 2 days, we felt claustrophobic, enclosed in a gated community with Disney-like artificiality (which many guests have alluded to on Trip Advisor). Definitely get out of the resort, even just to go to Savalletri, the neighboring fishing town, to remind yourself what authentic Italy really is like.

Pros
-the staff is hands down, one of the best we have been to at a five star hotel, and Borgo has a level of attentiveness that will not disappoint. Whether it is the cleaning ladies, who work very hard two times a day to immaculately clean the rooms, or the pool staff and front desk, who are attentive and friendly, we were extremely impressed. The only hiccups we had were 1) we had a bad experience with the breakfast hostess, Elena, who was unprofessional in her attitude and customer service and 2) some hiccups with room service and special food requests. Big thank you to Tania from the kid’s buffet who was amazing to our children, friendly, warm and very attentive. Valet service very friendly and accommodating
- facilities are amazing, with 18 hole championship golf course, 3 pools (esp the adult only 30m saltwater pool area), 2 mediocre beaches, stellar gym, kid’s club and great playground. They also offer swimming lessons by a great instructor,m who our kids loved
-Free cold water bottles at the pool and beach area

Cons
-after paying over €1,000 per night, you would expect to have free internet, but they throttle the internet access unless you upgrade to « premium » internet. Also, if you want to use a bed at the beach, it costs €120 a day! Even the staff told us they were embarrassed to tell us of the exorbitant prices for such a basic item. They were all empty too.
-breakfast selection is really poor and boring, no changes whatsoever day to day meant we were really sick of the selection after 5 days. Other hotels of this level have a far better breakfast selection. This brings me to the food in general, which was overpriced and mediocre for the most part. If you eat at the restaurants, pizzas were good, but main dishes were a hit and miss, especially considering the prices you are paying (pizzas around €22) and you are far better off eating outside of the hotel. Some guests told us that Due Camino is also disappointing and missed the mark, so we decided not to try it.
-the beds were one of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever stayed in, seems the mattresses are long overdue for a replacement, because our beds were sinking in the middle with no back support
-kid’s club staff was very friendly, especially Sara and Mary. Our only gripe is that they had a daily program which my kids were initially excited about, but the kid’s club staff did not adhere to it, I wonder out of laziness. For example, a treasure hunt was one of the activities, but ended up being just free play. After a few days my kids gave up on the activities and knew that nothing in the program would actually be done
-don’t expect too much from the beaches at Borgo - one is a rocky beach, although water is warm, it is very windy. The sandy beach is a nice setting especially for kids with a large playground, but there is a cold current / spring in the water, and is extremely cold, too cold for my kids to enjoy

Overall, it is probably a nice hotel for a few days, but wouldn’t recommend it for such a long stay as we did. The Puglia region is amazing, and Borgo’s location is ideal for day trips. Probably not a hotel we would go back to. We have many friends who have been to Borgo, none have repeated their visit. If I could have, I would have given 3.5 circles rather than 4 on TripAdvisor - it’s good but not very good.

Stayed: September 2018
3  Thank thetravelbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews