We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
360
87
21
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
87
21
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basque country iriarte jauregia beautiful hotel superior room hotel restaurant rolling hills high quality glass of wine small village superb restaurant his wife steak three nights fresh fruit en route tasting menu attention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018

LUXURY - in a way, that you feel yourself "easy".
The building is an old mansion -among mild hills and slopes. The place is perfectly reconstructed. Nicely designed and performed.
A lovely garden (of course: well maintained) - and the best bed (matrace) I ever had.
Great service and superb restaurant (do not even know: how many MICHELIN stars they were given).
If you can: try the steak (surprisingly painted black -and the RIOJA wine). Not cheap - but it can not even be.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handhungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Hotel Iriarte Juaregia is an absolute hidden gem - a stunningly beautiful property tucked away in the rural mountains in Basque Country. The hotel itself - an old stone manse - is beautifully renovated, with lovely quiet rooms and big wooden beams; the staff were incredibly kind and attentive. We had a five-star dinner in the hotel restaurant, and were utterly charmed by the clinking of cowbells from the next-door pasture during cocktail hour. While it's a bit off the beaten path, it's well worth a stop if you've got a night or two on your way home from San Sebastian - it's a peaceful, luxurious place.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bryn550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Iriarte Jauregia has the bones of a cozy, chic country hotel: a tastefully renovated and decorated stone manse, a hillside perch overlooking a tranquil valley with cows grazing next door, and proximity to mountains and the ocean. Our room was well designed and well-appointed, but for a lack of proper closet and bureau space (a problem if one is not traveling light). A wonderful getaway retreat!

Unfortunately, what was lacking too often overshadowed the pluses. We received a chilly and curt greeting from the Reception Desk’s Cruella Deville and no offer of assistance getting bags to our room, showing us the room or the Hotel’s facilities. Others who covered the desk throughout our visit were only slightly warmer and more accommodating. The bar and lounge areas were never manned and required searching for service, notwithstanding the roving maitre d’hotel and his female counterpart wearing earphones for constant staff communication. Drinks were delivered without the snacks that were available at the bar for the asking, but without offering. After the first drink was served, we were generally abandoned, whether in the bar or at the outdoor terrace seating. The piped-in muzak was lugubrious and, at least in the evening, could have easily been replaced by upbeat jazz or classical.

Most critical would be management encouraging the staff to warm up, become more outgoing, anticipate what a guest might require and, generally, be more engaged and less officious. If that were to occur, the romantic setting and comfortable facilities could easily be “5 star”.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnnisquamAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Our last night in Spain was spent at this slice of chic in the rolling hills. Our room was large, bed super comfortable, and we even had a pillow menu. Tired after a long drive, we chose to eat in the library rather than restaurant, despite this hotel being known for the food, and had a lovely bowl of salad and pot of cheesecake.

A last minute find... If we're in the area again we will rebook.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped by on a road trip through northern Spain and we were completely blown away by how beautiful this property was. We had a standard room the first night then upgraded to a suite room which was definitely worth the little extra cost.

The two meals we had in the restaurant were delicious but with such a limited menu it might leave you wanting for more with a longer stay. The breakfast spread was perfect, with fresh orange juice, bread, meats and cheeses. Not to mention the server for breakfast was very friendly and attentive. However, the other staff in general were not friendly or welcoming at all. The waitress serving dinner was especially rude and didn’t even speak to us or look us in the eye, it put us off a bit but I wouldn’t let that deter you from enjoying this beautiful estate.

We even took a hike up to Mount Ernie which was tough but well worth it! Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel if you’re looking for a quiet romantic getaway but the staff could definitely be improved!

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank jessiebfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews