We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

St. Georges Restaurant
Price range: $16 - $82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At St George's, the majority of our ingredients are organic, grown on-site and hand-picked by our award-winning head chef Francky Godinho.The menu is then created to produce elegant and colourful dishes using the best our garden has to offer.Francky delivers clean, precise and intense dishes with a contemporary approach to ingredients and technique.
Reviewed 3 December 2020

Again I took a group of chef students to st Georges restaurant, again the food service and value exceeded our expectations. The freshness of the produce, skill of the chefs never disappoints. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank T4537EOmarkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StGeorgesRestaurantNZ, General Manager at St. Georges Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2021

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so pleased that you all had a wonderful time. consistency is key so I am happy we live up to that standard! We can't wait to have you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2020

Very good food and service. The pork belly and the eye fillet dishes were fabulous.
A restaurant that deserves another visit.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AMPedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StGeorgesRestaurantNZ, General Manager at St. Georges Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2021

Thank you for your review; we really appreciate the great feedback! See you again shortly, we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020

Another gorgeous meal at our fav restaurant. A big thank you to Francky and team for a lovely three course meal, wine and drinks 😊😊

Date of visit: November 2020
2  Thank ApatuMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StGeorgesRestaurantNZ, General Manager at St. Georges Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2021

Hello Maria,

Thank you very much for all your wonderful words, we always love having you and your family dine with us. We are so grateful for your support over the past few years - here's to looking after you for a few more years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2020

We arrived at 7pm, waited 20minutes before we got a menu.
Ordered a bottle of wine which arrived at about 7.30pm.
Entree of prawns tempura arrived about 8.10 .
9.15pm I complained that our main course hadn't arrived and was going to leave, was told it was coming now, by this time we had long consumed or wine.
I suggested we get a complimentary wine which we got.
We were told that a large early booking arrived late which put much pressure on the kitchen.
The large group should have been told that since they arrived late their service would be slower. Also one of the wait staff was off which left the manager and one waitress to look after the whole restaurant.
The food was excellent. The service was shocking.
If they had some good mood music and amends made to all the diners by way of complimentary beads olives etc to nibble on while waiting it would have eased the tension for all.
Other diners were obviously not happy as you could see Eden checking their watch often.
This was a dissapointing evening.

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StGeorgesRestaurantNZ, General Manager at St. Georges Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2021

I'm sorry that your experience with us was not what you were hoping for & due to things out of our control we dropped the ball, as some of the night got a little away from us due to being down a staff member & the busyness in the kitchen which caused some delays. This is not a typical portrayal of the standard of service we pride ourselves on. We aren't happy with providing a disappointing experience so please rest assured that all of your feedback has been taken on board very seriously. If we do see you again hopefully you'll be able to see this feedback taken into action

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2020

If you are yet to visit ST Georges restaurant in Hawke's Bay you should. With so many restaurant choices in the Bay it is easy to get blindsided by the regular 'go to's' and overlook this place but you seriously shouldn't.

Growing and raising the majority of their produce + meat, it is clear they. have a real passion for their food from the ground to your plate. My father had the chef's degustation and has not stopped raving about it. The rest of us shared a selection of entrees and mains and we were not disappointed.

Food that looks almost too aesthetically pleasing to eat - BUT seriously fresh, flavorsome, and tasty.

Frankcy (The head chef) sure has a good thing going on here.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank laralhornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StGeorgesRestaurantNZ, Owner at St. Georges Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2021

Thanks a lot for your very kind review. It really means a lot to us that you had a great time with us and noticed the little details that we are offering to develop the experience.
We can't wait to have you in again

Francky & Kathryn Godnho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Georges Restaurant also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to St. Georges Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.