We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a buzz on a Friday night”
Review of Mamacita

Mamacita
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 8 January 2024 via mobile

Dropped in without a booking, restaurant was busy and we were quickly seated. Staff were attentive and friendly. Sharing plates were served as they became available. Camarones would definitely be recommended. Estallido cauliflower was flavoursome but not very crispy. Chicken quesadilla was tasty. Fried chicken was a bit dry and unexciting. Nice atmosphere but not fantastic food.

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2023

I won't go again! I had fried chicken which was as tough as old boots. It was served with a sauce and nothing else - no salad or fries or anything. My husband had a prawn taco which was the size you would serve to a 3year old. There were 2 prawns! Neither of us finished our meal because it was so awful.

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrandTour51066982098
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2023

We enjoyed all the tastes and meals presented. Thought the margaritas were excellent and enjoyed our evening.
Service was great.
One issue all four of us noticed was...all surfaces felt tacky / sticky eg the table tops.
Hopefully that can be addressed so I will be allowed to return. (Women really notice these things)

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Venture20161689114
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2023 via mobile

Great little place, unfortunately you can’t reserve a table so it’s pot luck. We struck lucky as a table freed up as we arrived. Return visit after four years but it’s still the same standard. Tasty food and good service. Lots of parking nearby. Will definitely revisit next time we’re in town.

Date of visit: April 2023
1  Thank GillO190
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2023

This place was busy but lacked appeal. The service was oaky but the food was very average. Won't be back.

Date of visit: January 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank P9466SAmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Mamacita also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Mamacita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.