We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JS428
London, United Kingdom

Hospitality at its very best

Review of Mangapapa Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 May 2022
We had an absolutely superb stay at the Mangapapa hotel expertly hosted by Michael and his team. Dinner was the best meal we’ve had in a long time and excellent value too. Thank you to everyone at the Mangapapa hotel for making our stay so special.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Marketing at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 29 May 2022
Dear JS428,

Thank you so much for your kind words. The team were so pleased to hear your feedback. It is always such a pleasure to learn that our work has delivered a special experience for our guests. We hope you can return again soon to enjoy another visit.

Kind regards,
The Mangapapa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
15m Lap Pool is heated to 28 degrees for fun in the sun
$180
  • Priceline
    $180
  • Vio.com
    $180
  • eDreams
    $180
4.5 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Suite
$235
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $207
  • Agoda.com
    $202
  • Priceline
    $213
4.7 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$246
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Vio.com
    $246
  • eDreams
    $246
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Just arrived and ready for nice cuppa.
$247
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $218
  • Vio.com
    $213
  • Priceline
    $247
4.6 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free parking
Horse sculpture
$299
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $299
  • Agoda.com
4.5 km from Mangapapa Hotel
$166
  • Priceline
    $166
  • Agoda.com
5.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large Studio Apartment
$245
  • Expedia.com
    $245
  • Hotels.com
    $226
  • Agoda.com
    $257
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Business Logo
$219
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $224
  • Priceline
    $219
  • Hotels.com
    $219
4.3 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$258
  • Agoda.com
5.7 km from Mangapapa Hotel
$875
  • Priceline
    $875
  • eDreams
    $875
  • Vio.com
    $875
7.4 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Havelock North
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
351
28
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
351
28
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea course dinner beautiful grounds hawkes bay main building new zealand set menu attention to detail relaxing stay cape kidnappers wine tasting spa pool suite conservatory macon accommodation bubbles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2022

The hotel is simply stunning and the staff is absolutely wonderful!! It was so clean, bed/linen was so comfy, shower was amazing, our suite was gorgeous and honestly as great as any St. Regis suite I have stayed in!! Would give them 6 stars if I could!!!

I had not been able to see my daughter for 2 years due to covid and we were uncertain if I would make it in for Mother's Day. So we did not schedule the Tea the hotel offered in time so it was sold out BUT Michael made it happen!! The most wonderful tea ever and food was absolutely delicious! Thank you Michael and staff for going above and beyond for us!! It was a perfect Mother's Day and you made it happen!! Can't wait to come again for a stay!!

Room tip: Try to book one of their beautiful suites!!
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Marketing at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2022

Dear M S,

A fantastic way to celebrate a reunion and we are so pleased we could help create special memories for you! We really appreciate your wonderful review and 'six stars' wow!!! Thank you!! The team were so pleased to read your words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2022 via mobile

bsolutely Superb. stayed a night for my partners birthday in the Orchard Cottage, thank you for the upgrade Mangapapa. The dinner was devine and wine excellent. Service throughout out stay couldn’t be faulted. Breakfast the next morning was equally good. So good I took the key with me…

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Keithry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Marketing at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2022

Dear Keith,

Don't worry 'the key taking' happens a lot - perhaps your subconscious talking you into staying longer or ensuring your return stay! The ultimate compliment! Thank you for your five star review and your kind words. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. The Cottage suites are certainly something not to be missed along with our five course dinner.

We look forward to welcoming you back,
With thanks
The Mangapapa Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2022 via mobile

Everything was perfect. Clean room, lovely spa bath. Great heating, beautiful food. The grounds are very private and make for a relaxing stay. Not many guests so very quiet. The homestead suite was spacious and extremely comfortable with parking outside.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trail61663203585
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Marketing at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Thank you for your generous compliments. Our Country Estate is intended to be a private oasis. Thank you for your comments on the dining options. We are pleased you were able to experience a relaxing stay. We hope to be of service to you once again in the future. Many thanks, the Mangapapa team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2022

I surprised my husband a night at Mangapapa for his birthday. I spotted "The winter Warmer" deal in a newspaper advertisement recently and thought perfect birthday idea for the hard to find birthday present man in my life. Our room was faultless as was dinner,the service and breakfast. We added on a spa treatment offer for the next morning and left feeling like two different people. Thank you to the team at Mangapapa for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Marketing at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Hello Caroline, what a perfect gift and we are pleased that we lived up to your expectations. It was a pleasure to host this special occasion. We look forward to assisting you with a few other hard to find gifts in the future. Many thanks the Mangapapa team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2022

Came to stay in the Hawkes Bay for a little weekend away and was so lucky to get a luxury room here.
Everything was spotless and so comfortable.
A sweet note on a rival both made us laugh and also face palm. For we are a Mrs & Mrs rather than Mr & Mrs.
The staff were incredible and so accommodating.
The grounds were stunning.
9/10 for sure will stay here again!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Marketing at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2022

Dear Peta,

Thank you so much for your five star rating. The team are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and loved to read your kind review of your weekend. We totally agree that the grounds are stunning and rooms luxurious!
We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews