We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Wellington

A few days break for us to celebrate a special occasion

Review of Mangapapa Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Feb 2022
We have booked Mangapapa for special occasions over a number of years. This time was as great as before, despite the obvious challenges management has to resource and maintain standards.
Michael the GM was helpful from booking, welcome and completion of our stay. Staff as always are polite, helpful and friendly.
Mangapapa is located conveniently by car to Havelock North and Napier and offers a green oasis for those that like us, seek a peaceful and restful haven.
Only constructive comment would be some assistance for pre-dinner bar serving when times are busy in the dining room.
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 24 Feb 2022
Dear Kiwitravel22,
Thank you so much for your five star review and we certainly agree that a 'restful haven' sums up Mangapapa. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your return stay with us and its so lovely to hear it was as good as your previous stay especially as you recognise the current challenges we are facing in hospitality. We are working hard to uphold our high standards of service and love to hear that you can see this. We have raised your comment about the bar service to senior management and will look at ways we can improve this for the future - thank you for sharing this. We hope to see you again for another trip back to us!
Kind regards, The Mangapapa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
King Studio Suite
$208
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Just arrived and ready for nice cuppa.
$237
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $237
4.6 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free parking
Large Studio Apartment
$265
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $265
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
15m Lap Pool is heated to 28 degrees for fun in the sun
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
4.5 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $312
  • Algotels
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment entrance
Go to your Happy Price
    4.9 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    5.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Business Logo
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      $213
    • Priceline
    4.3 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    7.4 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Havelock North
    Reviews (394)
    Filter reviews
    395 results
    Traveller rating
    352
    28
    9
    3
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    352
    28
    9
    3
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews high tea course dinner beautiful grounds hawkes bay main building new zealand set menu attention to detail relaxing stay cape kidnappers wine tasting spa pool suite conservatory macon accommodation bubbles
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    43 - 48 of 395 reviews
    Reviewed 11 January 2022 via mobile

    Excellent location. Very private and tranquil. Grounds lovely. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Central to all tourist locations of interest. Would highly recommend

    Food at all times of highest quality and always a surprise. We enjoyed the 3 course and 5 course meals as well as breakfast and high tea. Being a vegetarian they catered for me every meal and was not disappointed even once Room had ample space and the homestead a lovely building

    Date of stay: January 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Jet41683920079
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2022

    Hi Guys - Great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that your room and food were up to expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Regards Christian

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 September 2021

    We booked the winter bundle for our anniversary, whilst the reviews were great, none do justice to the experience.
    From the moment you arrive, it is like stepping out of the busyness of life and into tranquility.
    The hotel and rooms are beautifully presented, plush and welcoming.
    The staff were attentive yet unassuming, doing all they could to cater to our every conceived need.
    Included in the package was a 5 course meal with wine tasting. What an experience. The wait staff were outstanding; attentive, knowledgeable, friendly yet respectful that it was a romantic dinner. Thomas in particular was always very happy to answer questions about the courses and presented them with an explanation of each element on the plate.
    And the food, well, words just don’t do it justice. Your chef is a magician! Every mouthful was a delight! Such interesting flavours and combinations, all presented beautifully. We could even choose whether to know the menu or have a surprise for each course.
    Room service too, was impeccable.
    Thank you to all the staff working this weekend for creating a wonderful step away from real life.
    We can’t recommend Mangapapa enough.
    Outstanding in everyway

    Date of stay: September 2021
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank EnglishKiwiNZ
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2021

    Dear EnglishKiwiNZ,

    What fantastic words, 'a wonderful step away from real life' and definitely something everyone needs right now in these difficult times! You have brought great smiles to our teams' faces with your great review. We really do aim to achieve an oasis for our guests, away from the chaos of life. Yes we agree our dining experience is extra special and our Chef Jeffrey has great talent. We are so pleased you enjoyed the food and beverage choices.

    We hope to see you at the hotel in the near future.

    With thanks
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 September 2021

    In February 2021 a friend's husband arranged a birthday lunch and spa for her and 5 friends. For $105 each, lunch consisted of 2 slices of french bread, one with some slivers of beef and the other with some sort of chicken salad, and small pile of lettuce greens, followed by a very small dessert, accompanied by a 'complimentary' glass of wine - much smaller than the glasses we then paid for. The 'spa' consisted of an indoor spa pool and outdoor swimming pool. That was it. We paid individually and when it came to my turn, the man at the desk had already charged my pinot gris ($12) to someone who had actually had a Mangapapa red ($19) He refused to fix his error and I was forced to pay the higher price. I hadn't met the other woman before that day so didn't feel able to tell her she owed me $7, and it shouldn't have been put onto me to do so. It was his mistake, not mine and it left a very bad taste in my mouth on top of the miserable 'lunch' we'd been served. The food was a set menu so one of the group who is vegetarian had virtually nothing to eat except salad. For $105.00.
    I have made 2 attempts to get this sorted out with Mangapapa. In April I was told the Manager would call me back. Nobody called at all. In June I spoke to Jay, who said she was the Manager and would get back to me. I am still waiting and decided to place this review as a caution to others.

    Date of stay: February 2021
    Thank Sandy R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2021

    Dear W9529YRsandyr,

    Firstly we would like to wholeheartedly apologise that your Mangapapa experience has got to the point you feel the need to write this feedback. We take all constructive feedback seriously and we have escalated your comments to the owners and senior management team. We hope to rectify this situation as a team.
    To clarify, our spa facilities as advertised and booked include our spa, sauna, gym, seasonal swimming pool, tennis court use and garden games. With regards to the spa lunch it is offered as a two course set lunch and booked as such for the group. We can absolutely cater for dietary requirements as long as we know in advance of the booking. Our Chef has taken your feedback for further consideration with the kitchen team.
    Again we apologise that we did not meet your expectations and we are as disappointed as you to read your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
    Kind regards
    The Mangapapa Hotel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 August 2021

    We spent a very enjoyable week-end at this property. A beautiful, well-appointed room in a charming property in a lovely location. The staff was great - professional and very friendly., The highlight was the two 5-course dinners. Outstanding food, beautifully presented.

    Date of stay: August 2021
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank BerndtO
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2021

    Dear BerndtO,

    Thank you so much for your wonderful words. It truly means a lot to the team to hear this. We value our high standards and professional service and its great to see that recognised. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

    Kind regards
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 July 2021

    We stayed here on the winter bundle package and had the best time. The room was superb and the location offered the peace and quiet we were hoping for. The grounds are so lovely to explore and the staff are all just there in the background if needed. The bundle offered us wine tasting before the dinner. Sadly my husband is not able to partake at the present time, but our waiter put together different fruit cocktails for him to enjoy so he didn't feel left out - what a great option and idea and very much appreciated.
    We then had one of the best meals we have ever enjoyed - and I mean across the world! The salmon was delicious and the pumpkin soup was glossy and gorgeous. We had advised our dietary requirements prior to arrival and these were all very well attended to. Duck breast and lamb provided the next two courses and then the dessert entree and entree provided a wonderful end to a fabulous evening (although I don't think we ended up with what was stated on the menu but it didn't matter as the replacement was just lovely!.
    All courses were beautifully presented and the flavours were exceptional. The staff were friendly and efficient but only there when needed.
    You couldn't eat like this every night - the whole thing took about three and a half hours - but it was paced just right and we came away KNOWING that we will want to return again at some future point.
    Just lovely - I'm salivating at the thought of it! And I wish there was a rating above EXCELLENT!!

    Date of stay: July 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank hayman2
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

    Dear Hayman2,

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was an absolutely pleasure reading this to our team who take so much pride in their work. We are thrilled you enjoyed our food and beverage choices and recognise the quality that we provided throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

    With thanks
    The Mangapapa team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews