We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$338
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
hayman2
Upper Hutt, New Zealand

Exquisite, Exceptional (now you'll all want to go!!)

Review of Mangapapa Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Jul 2021
We stayed here on the winter bundle package and had the best time. The room was superb and the location offered the peace and quiet we were hoping for. The grounds are so lovely to explore and the staff are all just there in the background if needed. The bundle offered us wine tasting before the dinner. Sadly my husband is not able to partake at the present time, but our waiter put together different fruit cocktails for him to enjoy so he didn't feel left out - what a great option and idea and very much appreciated.
We then had one of the best meals we have ever enjoyed - and I mean across the world! The salmon was delicious and the pumpkin soup was glossy and gorgeous. We had advised our dietary requirements prior to arrival and these were all very well attended to. Duck breast and lamb provided the next two courses and then the dessert entree and entree provided a wonderful end to a fabulous evening (although I don't think we ended up with what was stated on the menu but it didn't matter as the replacement was just lovely!.
All courses were beautifully presented and the flavours were exceptional. The staff were friendly and efficient but only there when needed.
You couldn't eat like this every night - the whole thing took about three and a half hours - but it was paced just right and we came away KNOWING that we will want to return again at some future point.
Just lovely - I'm salivating at the thought of it! And I wish there was a rating above EXCELLENT!!
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 5 Aug 2021
Dear Hayman2,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was an absolutely pleasure reading this to our team who take so much pride in their work. We are thrilled you enjoyed our food and beverage choices and recognise the quality that we provided throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

With thanks
The Mangapapa team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
15m Lap Pool is heated to 28 degrees for fun in the sun
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
4.5 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premier One Bedroom Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $300
  • Hotels.com
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Just arrived and ready for nice cuppa.
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
4.6 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Prestigia.com
4.4 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment entrance
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
    4.9 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    • Lol.travel
    5.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    7.4 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Large Studio Apartment
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $263
    • Hotels.com
    4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Havelock North
    Reviews (392)
    Filter reviews
    392 results
    Traveller rating
    350
    27
    9
    3
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    350
    27
    9
    3
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews high tea course dinner beautiful grounds hawkes bay main building new zealand set menu attention to detail relaxing stay cape kidnappers wine tasting spa pool suite conservatory macon accommodation bubbles
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    45 - 50 of 392 reviews
    Reviewed 20 July 2021

    We enjoyed a beautiful mid winter couples getaway including hotel stay, 5 course degustation dinner and breakfast (continental buffet plus a la carte). Everything about our stay was exceptional. The service was amazing..... all the staff were professional, attentive and lovely to talk to. In particular Jake who showed us around and settled us in and Thomas who served dinner. Both delightful.
    The food was sensational. Every single thing we were served was mouth-watering. Such a high standard. What an amazing chef.
    The room was gorgeous and the personal touches were appreciated. I felt in terms of value for money the special was outstanding. Five star luxury. What a treat.

    Date of stay: July 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Nurseclouds
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

    Dear Nurseclouds,

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review and recommendation. It is great to read that the team have looked after you well and you have enjoyed your stay in your room and the restaurant service. I have passed on your feedback to our team and they were so happy to read this. We hope to see you again at Mangapapa in the future.

    With thanks
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 July 2021

    The staff are informed, friendly and extremely considerate. The building is from the 1800s but the surfaces, fittings and amenities are stylish and shining new. I couldn't recommend the comfort and value highly enough.

    Date of stay: July 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank M2900LUbarryp
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2021

    Dear Barry,

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review and five stars. Our team work hard to ensure you enjoy your stay with us and it is a joy to see this in your words. We hope you return to stay with us again soon.
    Kind regards,
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 June 2021

    We had a fantastic stay at Mangapapa over the weekend to celebrate our Anniversary, all the staff was very friendly and hospitable. We stayed in the Lady Watties which was nice, it would've been good to have some more outdoor lighting so we could see where we were going when walking to dinner/the spa.

    Thanks again :)

    Date of stay: June 2021
    Thank feliciaaull
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

    Dear Felicia,

    Thank you for your lovely review and happy anniversary again!
    We do already have lighting around the property pathways and we taken your feedback to our maintenance team who will look into this further. We hope to see you again at Mangapapa.

    With thanks
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

    After staying a couple of nights the good and not so good
    The lady watties rooms are not in keeping with the hotel and are too far away from the spa rooms
    The spa complex was smelly and decided not to use
    The restaurant and food were amazing.. the five course meal with wine was better than craggy range.
    Nice grounds and helpful staff

    Date of stay: May 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank kruuza
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

    Dear Kruuza,

    Thank you for your feedback and kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your food and beverage service with us. We have also taken your feedback to our team department meeting to see where we can improve. Although lady watties is only a short walk through the gardens to the spa, we are also happy to set up treatments in rooms where possible, so please let us know next time.
    We hope to see you again.
    Kind regards
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 May 2021

    My husband and I stayed in the mangapapa Suite for 3 nights. The suite was lovely - spacious, clean and well equipped. The staff were friendly and attentive. Highly recommend this hotel for a peaceful stay in the country, but very close to all that the region has to offer.

    Date of stay: May 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Jaynie2015
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

    Hi Jaynie,

    Yes we do find that although we are incredibly peaceful and a little oasis in the countryside, we are also in a great location for Hawke's Bay finest vineyards, beaches and visits to local towns like Havelock North. The team are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the five stars. Hope to see you again soon.

    With thanks
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews