We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Clouds

Absolutely sensational

Review of Mangapapa Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Jul 2021
We enjoyed a beautiful mid winter couples getaway including hotel stay, 5 course degustation dinner and breakfast (continental buffet plus a la carte). Everything about our stay was exceptional. The service was amazing..... all the staff were professional, attentive and lovely to talk to. In particular Jake who showed us around and settled us in and Thomas who served dinner. Both delightful.
The food was sensational. Every single thing we were served was mouth-watering. Such a high standard. What an amazing chef.
The room was gorgeous and the personal touches were appreciated. I felt in terms of value for money the special was outstanding. Five star luxury. What a treat.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 25 Jul 2021
Dear Nurseclouds,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and recommendation. It is great to read that the team have looked after you well and you have enjoyed your stay in your room and the restaurant service. I have passed on your feedback to our team and they were so happy to read this. We hope to see you again at Mangapapa in the future.

With thanks
The Mangapapa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
15m Lap Pool is heated to 28 degrees for fun in the sun
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.5 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Just arrived and ready for nice cuppa.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.6 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
5.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
7.4 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment entrance
Go to your Happy Price
    4.9 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Prestigia.com
    4.4 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Large welcoming bedrooms with super comfy beds
    No booking fees
      8.0 km from Mangapapa Hotel
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Havelock North
      Reviews (393)
      Filter reviews
      393 results
      Traveller rating
      350
      28
      9
      3
      3
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      350
      28
      9
      3
      3
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews high tea course dinner beautiful grounds hawkes bay main building new zealand set menu attention to detail relaxing stay cape kidnappers wine tasting spa pool suite conservatory macon accommodation bubbles
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      47 - 52 of 393 reviews
      Reviewed 15 July 2021

      The staff are informed, friendly and extremely considerate. The building is from the 1800s but the surfaces, fittings and amenities are stylish and shining new. I couldn't recommend the comfort and value highly enough.

      Date of stay: July 2021
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank M2900LUbarryp
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2021

      Dear Barry,

      Thank you so much for your wonderful review and five stars. Our team work hard to ensure you enjoy your stay with us and it is a joy to see this in your words. We hope you return to stay with us again soon.
      Kind regards,
      The Mangapapa Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 8 June 2021

      We had a fantastic stay at Mangapapa over the weekend to celebrate our Anniversary, all the staff was very friendly and hospitable. We stayed in the Lady Watties which was nice, it would've been good to have some more outdoor lighting so we could see where we were going when walking to dinner/the spa.

      Thanks again :)

      Date of stay: June 2021
      Thank feliciaaull
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

      Dear Felicia,

      Thank you for your lovely review and happy anniversary again!
      We do already have lighting around the property pathways and we taken your feedback to our maintenance team who will look into this further. We hope to see you again at Mangapapa.

      With thanks
      The Mangapapa Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

      After staying a couple of nights the good and not so good
      The lady watties rooms are not in keeping with the hotel and are too far away from the spa rooms
      The spa complex was smelly and decided not to use
      The restaurant and food were amazing.. the five course meal with wine was better than craggy range.
      Nice grounds and helpful staff

      Date of stay: May 2021
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      2  Thank kruuza
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

      Dear Kruuza,

      Thank you for your feedback and kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your food and beverage service with us. We have also taken your feedback to our team department meeting to see where we can improve. Although lady watties is only a short walk through the gardens to the spa, we are also happy to set up treatments in rooms where possible, so please let us know next time.
      We hope to see you again.
      Kind regards
      The Mangapapa Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 21 May 2021

      My husband and I stayed in the mangapapa Suite for 3 nights. The suite was lovely - spacious, clean and well equipped. The staff were friendly and attentive. Highly recommend this hotel for a peaceful stay in the country, but very close to all that the region has to offer.

      Date of stay: May 2021
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Jaynie2015
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

      Hi Jaynie,

      Yes we do find that although we are incredibly peaceful and a little oasis in the countryside, we are also in a great location for Hawke's Bay finest vineyards, beaches and visits to local towns like Havelock North. The team are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the five stars. Hope to see you again soon.

      With thanks
      The Mangapapa Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 14 May 2021

      We chose this spot to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. Immaculately kept Hotel, wonderfully helpful staff, beautiful food and our suite (which were were kindly upgraded to) was spacious and very comfortable. We want to come back in the summer to enjoy the outside ambience.

      Room tip: The suites are large and spacious.
      Date of stay: May 2021
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank Lordale57
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

      Dear Lordale,

      Thank you so much for your beautiful review. We are so pleased to hear we could make your anniversary celebrations so special and congratulations again! We hope to see you return to the hotel in the Summer. It is a different experience again as our gardens are constantly changing and the Hawke's Bay weather is hard to beat.

      Kind regards,
      The Mangapapa Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews