We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Felicia Aull

Anniversary Weekend

Review of Mangapapa Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Jun 2021
We had a fantastic stay at Mangapapa over the weekend to celebrate our Anniversary, all the staff was very friendly and hospitable. We stayed in the Lady Watties which was nice, it would've been good to have some more outdoor lighting so we could see where we were going when walking to dinner/the spa.

Thanks again :)
Date of stay: June 2021
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 20 Jun 2021
Dear Felicia,

Thank you for your lovely review and happy anniversary again!
We do already have lighting around the property pathways and we taken your feedback to our maintenance team who will look into this further. We hope to see you again at Mangapapa.

With thanks
The Mangapapa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$348
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $316
  • Vio.com
    $290
  • Expedia.com
    $330
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Suite
$235
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $213
  • Agoda.com
    $202
  • Expedia.com
    $207
4.7 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Just arrived and ready for nice cuppa.
$229
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $229
  • Agoda.com
    $190
  • Expedia.com
    $201
4.6 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free parking
$258
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $258
  • eDreams
    $258
  • Vio.com
    $258
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Horse sculpture
$315
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $315
  • Agoda.com
4.5 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Large Studio Apartment
$265
  • Expedia.com
    $265
  • Hotels.com
    $243
  • ZenHotels.com
    $265
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,813
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $1,813
  • Vio.com
    $1,813
  • eDreams
    $1,813
7.4 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
15m Lap Pool is heated to 28 degrees for fun in the sun
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.5 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
5.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Business Logo
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $224
  • Hotels.com
4.3 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Havelock North
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
350
28
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
350
28
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea course dinner beautiful grounds hawkes bay main building new zealand set menu attention to detail relaxing stay cape kidnappers wine tasting spa pool suite conservatory macon accommodation bubbles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

After staying a couple of nights the good and not so good
The lady watties rooms are not in keeping with the hotel and are too far away from the spa rooms
The spa complex was smelly and decided not to use
The restaurant and food were amazing.. the five course meal with wine was better than craggy range.
Nice grounds and helpful staff

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank kruuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

Dear Kruuza,

Thank you for your feedback and kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your food and beverage service with us. We have also taken your feedback to our team department meeting to see where we can improve. Although lady watties is only a short walk through the gardens to the spa, we are also happy to set up treatments in rooms where possible, so please let us know next time.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2021

My husband and I stayed in the mangapapa Suite for 3 nights. The suite was lovely - spacious, clean and well equipped. The staff were friendly and attentive. Highly recommend this hotel for a peaceful stay in the country, but very close to all that the region has to offer.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jaynie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

Hi Jaynie,

Yes we do find that although we are incredibly peaceful and a little oasis in the countryside, we are also in a great location for Hawke's Bay finest vineyards, beaches and visits to local towns like Havelock North. The team are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the five stars. Hope to see you again soon.

With thanks
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2021

We chose this spot to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. Immaculately kept Hotel, wonderfully helpful staff, beautiful food and our suite (which were were kindly upgraded to) was spacious and very comfortable. We want to come back in the summer to enjoy the outside ambience.

Room tip: The suites are large and spacious.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lordale57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

Dear Lordale,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review. We are so pleased to hear we could make your anniversary celebrations so special and congratulations again! We hope to see you return to the hotel in the Summer. It is a different experience again as our gardens are constantly changing and the Hawke's Bay weather is hard to beat.

Kind regards,
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021

What more could you want high class accommodation and dinner to die for! The 5 course degustation meal was perfect in every way. Portions just the right size so you enjoyed every course. Wine tasting started an evening to be forever remembered.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 175deniseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

Dear Denise,

Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad the team could provide such a memorable wine tasting - it is a truly special experience to sample our Mangapapa wines that you can't try anywhere else in the country. Our kitchen team work hard to provide high quality food that pair wonderfully with our NZ wines. We hope to see you again soon.

With thanks,
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2021

We celebrated Mother's Day early with a High Tea this afternoon. From the setting to the service to the food, it exceeded our expectations (which were high). It was a special occasion price, but certainly value for money. Really looking forward to trying breakfast and dinner.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Dear Sue,

Wow, thank you so much for your recommendation 'absolute must-do in Hawke's Bay'. We definitely feel our high teas are special and worth taking time out to enjoy on a visit to the bay. Our chefs bake and create fresh, every sweet treat and savoury item everyday and a lot of work goes into making the guest experience extra special.
We can't wait to welcome you back to enjoy our accommodation, and other restaurant services like our breakfast and fine dining dinners. Definitely recommend our five course set menu with wine pairing!
See you again soon.

With thanks,
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews