We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jaynie2015
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Wonderful short stay

Review of Mangapapa Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 May 2021
My husband and I stayed in the mangapapa Suite for 3 nights. The suite was lovely - spacious, clean and well equipped. The staff were friendly and attentive. Highly recommend this hotel for a peaceful stay in the country, but very close to all that the region has to offer.
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 23 May 2021
Hi Jaynie,

Yes we do find that although we are incredibly peaceful and a little oasis in the countryside, we are also in a great location for Hawke's Bay finest vineyards, beaches and visits to local towns like Havelock North. The team are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the five stars. Hope to see you again soon.

With thanks
The Mangapapa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
15m Lap Pool is heated to 28 degrees for fun in the sun
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
4.5 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $322
  • Algotels
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Suite
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $233
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Just arrived and ready for nice cuppa.
$248
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $248
4.6 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free parking
Apartment entrance
Go to your Happy Price
    4.9 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    5.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Business Logo
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      $225
    • eDreams
    4.3 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    7.4 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Large Studio Apartment
    $256
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Havelock North
    Reviews (393)
    Filter reviews
    393 results
    Traveller rating
    350
    28
    9
    3
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    350
    28
    9
    3
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews high tea course dinner beautiful grounds hawkes bay main building new zealand set menu attention to detail relaxing stay cape kidnappers wine tasting spa pool suite conservatory macon accommodation bubbles
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    51 - 56 of 393 reviews
    Reviewed 14 May 2021

    We chose this spot to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. Immaculately kept Hotel, wonderfully helpful staff, beautiful food and our suite (which were were kindly upgraded to) was spacious and very comfortable. We want to come back in the summer to enjoy the outside ambience.

    Room tip: The suites are large and spacious.
    Date of stay: May 2021
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Lordale57
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

    Dear Lordale,

    Thank you so much for your beautiful review. We are so pleased to hear we could make your anniversary celebrations so special and congratulations again! We hope to see you return to the hotel in the Summer. It is a different experience again as our gardens are constantly changing and the Hawke's Bay weather is hard to beat.

    Kind regards,
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 May 2021

    What more could you want high class accommodation and dinner to die for! The 5 course degustation meal was perfect in every way. Portions just the right size so you enjoyed every course. Wine tasting started an evening to be forever remembered.

    Date of stay: May 2021
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 175deniseo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

    Dear Denise,

    Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad the team could provide such a memorable wine tasting - it is a truly special experience to sample our Mangapapa wines that you can't try anywhere else in the country. Our kitchen team work hard to provide high quality food that pair wonderfully with our NZ wines. We hope to see you again soon.

    With thanks,
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 April 2021

    We celebrated Mother's Day early with a High Tea this afternoon. From the setting to the service to the food, it exceeded our expectations (which were high). It was a special occasion price, but certainly value for money. Really looking forward to trying breakfast and dinner.

    Date of stay: April 2021
      • Value
      • Service
    Thank Sue C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

    Dear Sue,

    Wow, thank you so much for your recommendation 'absolute must-do in Hawke's Bay'. We definitely feel our high teas are special and worth taking time out to enjoy on a visit to the bay. Our chefs bake and create fresh, every sweet treat and savoury item everyday and a lot of work goes into making the guest experience extra special.
    We can't wait to welcome you back to enjoy our accommodation, and other restaurant services like our breakfast and fine dining dinners. Definitely recommend our five course set menu with wine pairing!
    See you again soon.

    With thanks,
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 April 2021 via mobile

    We were given a voucher to dine at Mangapapa and we had never been so we were really looking forward to the experience. We booked for the 3 course chef suprise meal however we actually had 6 in total. So great value for money.
    The venue is breath taking and you certainly can't fault the service.
    The restaurant itself is lovely. The tables are well spaced out but given its so quiet you can easily hear the only other couples conversatio and obviously they could hear ours...this was fine once more people arrived. Our only complaint was the very dirty chairs. Huge stains on the ones at our table.
    The meal was absolutely divine from start to finish. We loved that they source all their produce locally as well.
    The crispy skinned snapper that we for our entree was delicious. The sauce that it was teamed with was so rich and full of flavour.
    The main was definitely our favourife. The beef cheek just melted in your mouth and the jus was so good! If they sold it I would have brought bucket loads!!
    All in all a beautiful evening. We definitely would like to go back for the winter menu.

    Date of stay: April 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Lisacunningham01
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

    Dear Lisa,

    Thank you so much for your kind words. The beef cheek is definitely delicious and we always want to give value for your money so it is great to read that you think this. We offer a peaceful elegant space to dine and its great to see you enjoyed this.
    We do apologise for the stained chair, this has been immediately addressed and we are correcting the situation. We hope to see you again in the future so we can improve your experience with us and provide another beautiful evening enjoying our delicious winter menu.

    With thanks,
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 April 2021

    Hubby and I celebrated our Anniversary here yesterday and were not disappointed. From the friendly greeting on arrival to outstanding degustation dinner and breakfast the following morning. We enjoyed champagne on arrival out on the terrace plus a wine tasting before dinner. The food was amazing and thoughtfully presented.
    Our room was large elegant and very clean. Super comfy bed and pillows with a turn down service at night.
    The Garden and grounds are a pleasure to walk around with the added bonus of having a Spa, Sauna, Gym and seasonal Swimming Pool.
    The staff are extremely friendly and professional and we would not hesitate to come here again for either the food, accommodation or both. Keep up the good work Mangapapa.

    Date of stay: April 2021
    Thank mobobs1623
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

    Dear Mobobs1623,

    Thank you for your five star review of our hotel and Happy Anniversary again. Fifty years is fantastic and we are so happy to hear we could make the celebrations special. Plus it is so wonderful to read how you have enjoyed every aspect of what we have to offer, including the rooms, restaurant, gardens, spa and service. We hope to see you again soon.

    With thanks
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews