We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lisacunningham01
Napier, New Zealand

Date night

Review of Mangapapa Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Apr 2021via mobile
We were given a voucher to dine at Mangapapa and we had never been so we were really looking forward to the experience. We booked for the 3 course chef suprise meal however we actually had 6 in total. So great value for money.
The venue is breath taking and you certainly can't fault the service.
The restaurant itself is lovely. The tables are well spaced out but given its so quiet you can easily hear the only other couples conversatio and obviously they could hear ours...this was fine once more people arrived. Our only complaint was the very dirty chairs. Huge stains on the ones at our table.
The meal was absolutely divine from start to finish. We loved that they source all their produce locally as well.
The crispy skinned snapper that we for our entree was delicious. The sauce that it was teamed with was so rich and full of flavour.
The main was definitely our favourife. The beef cheek just melted in your mouth and the jus was so good! If they sold it I would have brought bucket loads!!
All in all a beautiful evening. We definitely would like to go back for the winter menu.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 1 May 2021
Dear Lisa,

Thank you so much for your kind words. The beef cheek is definitely delicious and we always want to give value for your money so it is great to read that you think this. We offer a peaceful elegant space to dine and its great to see you enjoyed this.
We do apologise for the stained chair, this has been immediately addressed and we are correcting the situation. We hope to see you again in the future so we can improve your experience with us and provide another beautiful evening enjoying our delicious winter menu.

With thanks,
The Mangapapa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
15m Lap Pool is heated to 28 degrees for fun in the sun
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.5 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    $311
  • Hotels.com
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Suite
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $222
  • Hotels.com
4.7 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Just arrived and ready for nice cuppa.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.6 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Prestigia.com
4.4 km from Mangapapa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment entrance
Go to your Happy Price
    4.9 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    5.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    7.4 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Large Studio Apartment
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $265
    • Hotels.com
    4.8 km from Mangapapa Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Havelock North
    Reviews (395)
    Filter reviews
    395 results
    Traveller rating
    352
    28
    9
    3
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    352
    28
    9
    3
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews high tea course dinner beautiful grounds hawkes bay main building new zealand set menu attention to detail relaxing stay cape kidnappers wine tasting spa pool suite conservatory macon accommodation bubbles
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    57 - 62 of 395 reviews
    Reviewed 4 April 2021

    Hubby and I celebrated our Anniversary here yesterday and were not disappointed. From the friendly greeting on arrival to outstanding degustation dinner and breakfast the following morning. We enjoyed champagne on arrival out on the terrace plus a wine tasting before dinner. The food was amazing and thoughtfully presented.
    Our room was large elegant and very clean. Super comfy bed and pillows with a turn down service at night.
    The Garden and grounds are a pleasure to walk around with the added bonus of having a Spa, Sauna, Gym and seasonal Swimming Pool.
    The staff are extremely friendly and professional and we would not hesitate to come here again for either the food, accommodation or both. Keep up the good work Mangapapa.

    Date of stay: April 2021
    Thank mobobs1623
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

    Dear Mobobs1623,

    Thank you for your five star review of our hotel and Happy Anniversary again. Fifty years is fantastic and we are so happy to hear we could make the celebrations special. Plus it is so wonderful to read how you have enjoyed every aspect of what we have to offer, including the rooms, restaurant, gardens, spa and service. We hope to see you again soon.

    With thanks
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 March 2021

    We drove in along a tree line driveway to the reception where we were greeted and shown to our suite. The young woman who guided us was able to tell us a lot about the beautiful property.
    Our suite was glamourous and comfortable. We dined out in Napier but we found we had received a special turn down service on our return which was a lovely surprise.
    Breakfast in the morning was a very pleasant experience with food that was beautifully presented, served by friendly staff.
    We would love to enjoy Mangapapa Hotel again in the future.

    Date of stay: March 2021
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank vernirischapman
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

    Dear Verniris,

    Yes we do love the entrance to our hotel with its gorgeous trees and the homestead just ahead ready to greet you. The property has great history for Hawke's Bay and the team take great pride in showing guests this. We are so pleased you also enjoyed our special turn down service that we do for every guest to ensure they are looked after from morning until sleep.
    We cant wait to welcome your return, please ensure you contact our team directly when booking as we love to tailor your booking to you personally as much as possible.

    See you again
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 March 2021

    Mangapapa Hotel provides luxury accommodation and dining at a still affordable price point. Everything about our stay was warm and comfortable, we could not have asked for anything better. The staff, our room, and our dining experience was all superb.

    Date of stay: March 2021
    Thank Roam744918
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

    Dear Roam744918,

    Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and your five star rating. As a team, we are so pleased to see we offered value for money and provided a great service to you. We hope to see you return to the hotel soon.

    Kind regards
    The Mangapapa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 March 2021

    We stayed for two wonderful nights at Mangapapa and were not disappointed. The staff were so helpful, the surrounds amazing and my goodness the food was to die for. Our room was so spacious and private. Overall top marks team. We will be back.

    Room tip: The Lady Wattie annex was lovely.
    Date of stay: February 2021
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Janfergie28
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

    Thank you for your wonderful review. It was great hosting you at Mangapapa Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Josie, Mangapapa Hotel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 February 2021

    We were not looking forward to Xmas 2020 due to Covid restrictions preventing our overseas based children and grandchildren from visiting us. However our experience at the Mangapapa from the outset was an absolute pleasure. All the staff are truly professional, friendly and attentive. Our accommodation was in pristine condition and very comfortable and well attended with 2 service visits per day. We loved the turn down service with the handmade sweets and the meals we enjoyed in the restaurant were truly memorable and amazing. Our duty Manager Tomas is passionate about his work and the hotel and really went out of his way to ensure our stay was relaxing and enjoyable. It is impossible to say anything negative about our stay at Mangapapa as it both met and exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend a visit to Mangapapa to experience impeccable customer service on all fronts and we look forward to returning there again ourselves

    Date of stay: December 2020
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank mandm747
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mangapapa Hotel, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2021

    Thank you for the very special review! We're glad we made your Christmas one to remember and we look forward to hosting you again. Best wishes Josie, Tomas and the team at Mangapapa Hotel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews