We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
DesaThomsen
New Zealand

Excellent Visit & Tour

Review of Te Mata House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Jun 2021
We had the pleasure of taking the Garden and Heritage Tour with the wonderful Giselle. What an amazing Hawke's Bay place, not only is it steeped in fascinating history, but it is making new memories and stories for the future! The garden, despite being winter, is still captivating. The attention to detail and sculptures throughout make every corner interesting no matter the time of year. Te Mata house offers wonderful hospitality and a genuine experience of Hawke's Bay luxury.
Thank you for having us!
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacqueline Taylor, Owner at Te Mata House, responded to this review
Responded 27 Jun 2021
Thank you, Desa for your lovely and kind review. We are glad to read you enjoyed your visit and tour at Te Mata House, we hope to host many more of your special guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Te Mata House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $308
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from Te Mata House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Te Mata House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment entrance
Go to your Happy Price
    3.3 km from Te Mata House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    King Studio Suite
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $235
    • Hotels.com
    3.2 km from Te Mata House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    15m Lap Pool is heated to 28 degrees for fun in the sun
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    4.1 km from Te Mata House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    4.7 km from Te Mata House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Large Studio Apartment
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $265
    • Hotels.com
    3.3 km from Te Mata House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $418
    • Hotels.com
    4.7 km from Te Mata House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Business Logo
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $225
    • Hotels.com
    4.0 km from Te Mata House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Havelock North
    Reviews (7)
    Filter reviews
    7 results
    Traveller rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 7 of 7 reviews
    Reviewed 17 June 2021

    We used Te Mata Houses Conference space. Jacqui and Giselle were so wonderful to deal with. Professional and very friendly. The setting is amazing, stunning view, beautiful gardens and the perfect place to hold a meeting or have a conference. We can not wait to come back and use it.

    Date of stay: June 2021
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank jimcI6485GE
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jacqueline Taylor, Owner at Te Mata House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

    Thank you Real World team for choosing us. It was lovely to host you for your private corporate session. We hope to meet you again for more exciting projects.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 May 2021 via mobile

    From the moment I stepped onto the property, I felt so welcomed. Jacqui and Giselle went out of their way to make sure everything was comfortable. Freshly baked bread and feijoas from the garden on the table were a nice touch. The old stables have been redecorated so beautifully, with a loft bed and kitchenette; the aesthetic was just stunning and it was plenty warm overnight. The surroundings are so lush and removed enough from the bustle of lovely Havelock North to be an exquisitely peaceful stay, but close enough to everything one wants to get out of a trip to the Hawkes Bay (wineries, Te Mata Peak, beautiful beaches). I will be recommending this place to family and friends looking for a refreshing getaway, and hope to be back soon!

    Date of stay: April 2021
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank Ria N
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jacqueline Taylor, Owner at Te Mata House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

    Dear Ria, Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you and host you. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and stay with us and we hope to see you next year for the Hawke’s Bay marathon! Or even sooner!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC