We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
44
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barbara rob artwork house lounge
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Truly outstanding. John & Iris are the most welcoming of hosts without being intrusive.
Everything about our stay was outstanding. The room and the bathroom showed an immense attention to detail and were both artfully decorated.
The breakfasts were outstanding. Fresh fruit grown from their own garden, wonderful jams, homemade meusli which I would love to have taken home.
If you're staying in and around Havelock North, this is the only place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us V & C, we enjoyed meeting you both very much. We do appreciate your very kind words. I am very happy to send you my Muesli recipe, it has gone all around the world with our guests. Please let me know if you would like it.

Hope your trip back to the UK was uneventful and maybe we will see you again In Kiwiland :-) or in the UK!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This area of Hawkes Bay, Napier and Havelock North has it all! And what a wonderful way to experience by staying with Iris & John at The Loft. They are the best hosts and have created an ambience that is wonderful; from Iris's creative touch with table settings, art and glass collection to John's beautiful art renditions of the local area, and visit to his exclusive art studio. Hospitality is everything, followed close by location so do not give these two a miss, but enjoy all they have to offer. PS. The homemade muesli and jams, exquisite!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narabnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you so much G & D...we do appreciate your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and in Hawke's Bay. We were delighted to have you stay and enjoyed your company and discussions very much. We look forward to seeing you again, this time on your turn in Australia in July

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We just loved our stay with John and Iris at their wonderful home and it was the highlight of our 12 day road trip .They are engaging and friendly hosts and were very helpful with advice on places to visit and things to do in the beautiful surrounding area and also including Hastings and Napier which are a short drive way . We certainly recommend staying 3 nights minimum ... we needed this and want to return one day to explore some more .The area near their home is adjacent to the most beautiful Te Mata Peak. The drive to the summit is a must do. The surrounding range and river a very picturesque and John has done some beautiful paintings reflecting this . John and Iris were very helpful in recommending which wineries would be good to have lunch or dinner at and their recoomendations were spot on .
They have a spectacular home with a special warmth which was not just the brillant Hawkes Bay weather we enjoyed Our room was lovely and the breakfasts were sensational . We found it so very hard to leave and hope to return again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwifreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Thank you both so much for your very kind words, we do appreciate it and we are thrilled that you had such a good time in the beautiful Hawke's Bay. You are right, you do need at least 3 days to see ate least a selection of what we offer in our region.
We do hope you can return again, we will look forward to that.
Iris and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We recently stayed for two nights with Iris and John. Their art-filled Loft was the best bed and breakfast experience we have had in New Zealand (and that is really saying something!) I knew we would love it the moment we stepped into their private courtyard filled with interesting vegetation and charming artifacts. Our room was equipped with every possible comfort and the spa bathroom sparkled with sunlight and cleanliness. Breakfast is served on a terrace overlooking John's multi-layered garden which he has miraculously created from a bare hillside. Iris is a fine cook and enjoys using the bounty of their own garden and the orchards of the surrounding area. We especially enjoyed the poached Golden Queen peaches she prepared.
John and Iris are happy to suggest local activities and fortunately steered us to Pipi's in North Havelock -a quirky restaurant which we loved so much we ate there two nights in a row! If you visit, you will find a trip to the summit of Te Mata provides spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. The Loft is also the perfect base for explorations of the local wineries.
Thank you, Iris and John, for such a memorable stay!

Room Tip: Do yourselves a favour and select the room with the spa bathroom!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muskoka_canadaSwooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you S & N for your lovely words, we do appreciate your thoughts. We enjoyed your stay very much and thank you again for coming, I hope you have some success with your exchanges, I am working on one now; I should say that at times you need to have some tenacity as it doesn't always fall into place immediately.
Have a wonderful holiday
I & J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We really enjoyed our few days at Iris and John's lovely home. They were very friendly, welcoming hosts, the breakfasts were absolutely delicious, our bedroom and bathroom were lovely and the garden and views were fabulous. John and Iris gave us lots of good advice on things to do in the area and we thoroughly recommend their B & B.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarAsh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Manager at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as we did your company. It was our pleasure to prepare breakfasts for you and thank you for coming to stay with John and me.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews