We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ktmg family travellers
Birmingham, United Kingdom

Good quality motel in ideal location for touring the area, including the many vineyards.

Review of Te Mata Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Mar 2024
Good quality motel on the edge of the town, just a short walk to the shops, bars and restaurants.
Good location for touring the area, including the many vineyards.
Nice large room with lounge area and well equipped kitchenette.
Seating outside on balcony area.
Able to buy food supplies within a short walk
On site parking
Would definitely consider staying here if touring this area of North Island again.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Premier One Bedroom Suite
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    $342
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Te Mata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Suite
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Te Mata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
15m Lap Pool is heated to 28 degrees for fun in the sun
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Te Mata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment entrance
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
    0.2 km from Te Mata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Just arrived and ready for nice cuppa.
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    0.1 km from Te Mata Lodge
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    • Lol.travel
    1.4 km from Te Mata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    4.8 km from Te Mata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Hotels.com
    4.9 km from Te Mata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Large Studio Apartment
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $266
    • Hotels.com
    0.1 km from Te Mata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Prestigia.com
    2.3 km from Te Mata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Havelock North
    Reviews (120)
    Filter reviews
    120 results
    Traveller rating
    79
    33
    5
    2
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    79
    33
    5
    2
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews spa bath great location dressing gowns the check in process nespresso coffee machine shampoo and conditioner great place to stay sky tv nice stay electric blankets upstairs room stayed here for one night great shower spacious rooms stayed longer long weekend fay
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 120 reviews
    Reviewed 24 December 2023 via mobile

    Spacious and comfortable suite, with all the extras. The beds were comfy & rooms really quiet. Fay made sure we had everything we needed including a high-chair for our toddler. Great location, right in the middle of the village - great cafes & restaurants & shops nearby.
    Would absolutely stay here again - certainly the best hospitality service we have experienced in a long time.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Excursion614562
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 June 2023

    We were blown away by our host, the nicest friendliest host we have had, even came out to help defrost windows this morning in the cold!
    Rooms exceeded our expectations, I even took photos which I don't usually do, definitely coming back!

    Date of stay: May 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank JECGAGE
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Fay Ye, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2023

    Thank you so much Jecgage for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review!
    Your kind words truly brightened our day, and we are grateful for your generous feedback.
    We look forward to seeing you again at your next visit to Havelock :)

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 June 2023

    It was lovely for my mum and I to be greeted so warmly and shown to our room by Fay on arrival, she also had some excellent recommendations for dining which was awesome given our tired brains and hunger. Hotel was immaculately clean and had virtually everything you could possibly need including dressing gowns, plenty of towels, soaps, bodywash, shampoo and conditioner, Nespresso coffee machine, mints, cookies, Sky TV, decent hairdryer, electric blankets and efficient heating. The extras were not of the generic cheap variety either, decent mostly NZ-made toiletries, teas & plunger coffee. These were also fully replenished the following day. Fully equipped kitchen with modern crockery and utensils. The shower had incredible pressure, we didn't try the spa bath. Easy walking distance to shops, a supermarket and plenty of restaurants. New World was less than a 5-minute walk away.
    Would definitely stay here again.

    Date of stay: June 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank 2shopaholics
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Fay Ye, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2023

    HI there,
    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review!
    Your kind words truly brightened our day, and we are grateful for your generous feedback.
    We look forward to seeing you again at your next visit to Havelock :)

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 June 2023

    We had a lovely long weekend here, the owner Fay went above and beyond to help us with everything including local recommendations. We also requested an early check in for our daughter and that was not a problem at all. The units are much bigger than usual motel rooms, really comfy king size beds and a great shower! Will definitely be back.

    Date of stay: June 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank rachel d
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Fay Ye, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2023

    Thank you so much Rachel for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review!
    Your kind words truly brightened our day, and we are grateful for your generous feedback.
    Our team strives to provide exceptional service and create a comfortable environment for our guest, and it is heartwarming to hear that you had an amazing stay with us. We will pass on your compliments to our staff members.
    We look forward to welcoming you and your lovely family back in the future and providing you with another fantastic experience.
    Once again, thank you for choosing our motel, and we truly appreciate your support.

    Kindest regards
    Fay

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 April 2023 via mobile

    My wife and I stayed here for three nights. Upon our arrival Faye greeted us and showed us to our room. Faye provided a great deal of information about the local eateries and bars, including her opinion of each, which was all positive and accurate.

    The room was spacious, clean, very quiet.

    The staff we met were friendly and very accommodating.

    It would have been nice to have a light breakfast available in the room.

    We will certainly return at some point.

    Faye deserves 10 out of 10

    Thank you

    Room tip: Parking is on site close to the rooms.
    Date of stay: March 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank DaiTheNomad
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews