We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Joanne G
Auckland, New Zealand

Excellent place to stay for a long weekend

Review of Te Mata Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Oct 2020
The room is well appointed with everything you could need, extremely clean, friendly staff and great communication. Shower is great, there a spa bath in the room but we didn’t use it. Free fast wifi. A great location.
Date of stay: October 2020
Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage you would be best to choose a ground floor room.
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Premier One Bedroom Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $305
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Te Mata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $234
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Te Mata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
15m Lap Pool is heated to 28 degrees for fun in the sun
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Te Mata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Just arrived and ready for nice cuppa.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Te Mata Lodge
Free parking
Apartment entrance
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
    0.2 km from Te Mata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    • Lol.travel
    1.4 km from Te Mata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $343
    • Booking.com
    4.8 km from Te Mata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Large Studio Apartment
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $264
    • Priceline
    0.1 km from Te Mata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    4.9 km from Te Mata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Prestigia.com
    2.3 km from Te Mata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Havelock North
    Reviews (120)
    Filter reviews
    120 results
    Traveller rating
    79
    33
    5
    2
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    79
    33
    5
    2
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews spa bath great location dressing gowns the check in process nespresso coffee machine shampoo and conditioner great place to stay sky tv nice stay electric blankets upstairs room stayed here for one night great shower spacious rooms stayed longer long weekend fay
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    19 - 24 of 120 reviews
    Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

    We stayed for 2 nights mid week. All the staff are really friendly and welcoming.
    Enticed by the in room spa bath, we were not disappointed. The sizeable ground floor unit was sparkly clean. The bed was huge and comfy. Bathroom sparkly clean, with shower gel and shampoo dispensing bottles (extra points) the fixed shower head would be the only negative. The kitchenette well served including a cafetiere, mini stove and a couple of pans. Bottles and plastics are recycled.
    The lodge is centrally located to the shops and cafes in town, and the wider Bay region.
    Would recommend, would stay again.

    Date of stay: September 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank Woodinio
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 July 2020

    First weekend break since Covid and couldnt have been better. Te Mata Lodge is the perfect place to stay in Havelock. Spotless accommodation and surrounds. Motel hosts and staff welcomed us warmly and in a professional manner. Breakfast was delicious. Definitely our favourite place to stay on future trips to Hawkes Bay.

    Date of stay: July 2020
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank annvex
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 29 May 2020

    This motel is located within walking distance of a big grocery store and some restaurants. The hostess was very friendly and provided us with a carton of milk and a cheese platter when we first arrived. She also gave us information on local things to do. We had a spa room on the second floor with a jacuzzi. Note that the jacuzzi can only be used between 7 a.m & 11 p.m. I think that is because it makes a lot of noise when it drains. The air conditioning works very well and was much appreciated because the weather was fairly hot when we were there. Everything was very, very clean. There were some minor negative things though. They could use another hook on the bathroom wall because there is only one towel rack. They could also use a hook in the shower for a facecloth. The shower curtain should also be bigger, as it doesn't cover the entire opening. If one is careful about where the shower nozzle is pointed, it is possible not to get water everywhere, as the floor is slanted quite well toward the drain. There were no problems with water pressure or temperature changes. There is lots of shelf space in the bathroom which is nice. We noticed some noise from the road but have a "white noise" app on our iPad, so played that all night. Then we didn't notice any road noise. The kitchenette facilities are quite adequate and come with the usual coffee, tea, etc. We ate breakfast in the room. The only big negative for me was the very firm bed. It is the only reason I would not stay there again. My husband, who can sleep almost anywhere, also thought the bed was too firm. (I bring my own pillow on trips, so cannot comment on that.)

    Room tip: If you like firm beds, this is the place for you.
    Date of stay: February 2020
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Brenda T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 January 2020

    Very friendly and accomodating staff! In a central location close to the restaurants and shops. Spacious, clean and tidy rooms. We had a lovely stay with our family & friends. Would highly recommend :)

    Date of stay: December 2019
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank KatelynMcT
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TeMataLodge, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. We are so happy that you and your & friends enjoyed your stay. We look forward to accommodate you again in the future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 January 2020 via mobile

    We stayed during the Christmas week. It is centrally located and within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and parks. The room we stayed has a spacious private spa. It is quite useful after a day of going around Hawke’s bay. Fay has also an excellent customer service and quite attentive to our requests. We will stay here again.

    Date of stay: December 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank bluekiwi
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TeMataLodge, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

    Hi there,

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed stayed with us. We are looking forward seeing you again in the future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews