We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, which we took to be a good sign”

Jackson's Artisan Foods
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Fast food
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

The cafe was busy but food was quickly heated [one item not thoroughly heated through]. Drinks took a bit longer. One long central table so not a lot of privacy in conversation. Friendly staff. Tasty. Would return.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Ezra710
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2021

Had a nice coffee here but quite frankly the artisan sourdough bread had no taste. The lady tried to tell me that ciabatta is the same as sourdough bread. I was very disappointed with the loaf and won’t be buying any bread there again. Need to employ a good baker who knows their breads.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank Son O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2021

We stopped off here for morning tea on our way home from a visit to Havelock North. We’re glad we did. This is a cut above your usual bakery café with its stylish décor, table settings, and fitout. We had excellent coffee and delicious home made lamb and harissa sausage rolls. The other food offerings looked great, for example hot cross buns with lots of fruit in them. A sign that this is a good place was the large number of (presumably) locals who popped in while we were there, for take-out coffee and baked goodies. The staff are friendly and helpful, and go the extra mile.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chE6661OW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2020

Sadly never going back again.
It's always been about the food and it's high level of flavour, quality and standard there. Sadly not a patch on how it once was.....

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lizzie2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2020

The coffee and slice were pleasant but I did think that the cafe lacked atmosphere. We used to enjoy the delicious pies from the old bakery that was here and were a little disappointed the buzzy atmosphere was no longer present.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sus1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Jackson's Artisan Foods also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Jackson's Artisan Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.