We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Lucy

Wedding retreat

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Apr 2019via mobile
We were lucky enough to spend 2 nights in the Lacebark cottage for our friends wedding. The place was private, peaceful & a intimate place for a beautiful wedding with scenic views surrounding.

The cottages were quirky with tasteful art pieces by local artists and had a well equipped kitchen & laundry area.

The hosts were lovely & friendly, thanks for having us Jane & David. 😊
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
janemack1961, Owner at Ribbonwood Cottages & The Loveshack, responded to this review
Responded 23 Apr 2019
Thank you Lucy for taking time to write a review. The cottages do work well for either couples through to larger groups . We were delighted to be able to add to creating a beautiful, memorable experience
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Premier One Bedroom Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $305
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from Ribbonwood Cottages & The Loveshack
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
2.6 km from Ribbonwood Cottages & The Loveshack
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment entrance
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
    3.0 km from Ribbonwood Cottages & The Loveshack
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    3.2 km from Ribbonwood Cottages & The Loveshack
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    15m Lap Pool is heated to 28 degrees for fun in the sun
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    3.8 km from Ribbonwood Cottages & The Loveshack
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    King Studio Suite
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $220
    • Hotels.com
    3.2 km from Ribbonwood Cottages & The Loveshack
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    5.0 km from Ribbonwood Cottages & The Loveshack
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Large Studio Apartment
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $265
    • Hotels.com
    3.1 km from Ribbonwood Cottages & The Loveshack
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Just arrived and ready for nice cuppa.
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    3.3 km from Ribbonwood Cottages & The Loveshack
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $342
    • Expedia.com
      $439
    8.0 km from Ribbonwood Cottages & The Loveshack
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Havelock North
    Reviews (70)
    Filter reviews
    70 results
    Traveller rating
    58
    9
    2
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    58
    9
    2
    1
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 70 reviews
    Reviewed 21 February 2019 via mobile

    My husband and I were lucky enough to spend 2 nights at The Love Shack and we could not be happier with our stay. The facilities were excellent and the entire property has been tastefully decorated with a lovely garden too. We were even provided with a complimentary bottle of bubbles! The Love Shack is the perfect private getaway and we would not hesitate to recommend. Thank you Jane for your hospitality!

    Date of stay: February 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Brittross
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 April 2018

    Just spent easter weekend at Ribbonwood cottages, had a really great time. The cottage is delightful and very well equipped. The location, looking out across the Hawkes Bay area is excellent (the view would be even better with a little more trimming of bushes and trees) and the owners have thought of practically everything - although some warning regards the mosquitos on the patio would have been appreciated as we all suffered after we had a bbq on Saturday evening. Overall a beautiful cottage in a great location and would highly reccomend it.

    Date of stay: April 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
    Thank davidianalexander
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 March 2018

    We chose Ribbonwood Cottages because we wanted more space and to be in the NZ countryside. The cottages are about 2 miles from the town center amid rolling hills, sheep, even pheasants and quail. Our first stay was at the Loveshack, a smaller cottage, with country decor, very romantic, secluded on the shore of a small pond.
    All of Ribbonwood’s cottages are imaginatively decorated and appointed with everything you could need. When we returned for our second stay we went to the upper cottage, larger with 2 bedrooms, very contemporary and, again, beautifully furnished and equipped. This was our third stay at Ribbonwood and we will return again. Havelock North is a lovely town, great restaurants, close to excellent wineries, first rate dining, and all the beauty NZ has to offer.

    Date of stay: March 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Elizabeth D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    jane m, Owner at Ribbonwood Cottages & The Loveshack, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

    Thank you Elizabeth for taking the time to post. What a shame the fishing had to be cancelled.
    Better luck next year!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 February 2018

    We spent 4 nights in the Lacebark cottage and if you love quiet, private and peaceful, but still close to the village then this is a great spot. We found the cottage, and especially the kitchen, was equipped with everything we needed, including some bubbles and fresh fruit Jane had left in the fridge.

    Date of stay: February 2018
    Thank Wawata
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    jane m, Owner at Ribbonwood Cottages & The Loveshack, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

    Thanks Guys, have tried hard to make it a home away from home.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

    We’ve stayed in Havelock North countless times and the Loveshack beats them all. It’s quirky and gorgeous with lovely attention to detail - but something I can’t really put my finger on made us fall in love with it.

    It feels wonderfully private and it oozes romance and charm.

    For us, it’s a winner all round. ❤️

    Date of stay: February 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 213el
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    jane m, Owner at Ribbonwood Cottages & The Loveshack, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

    A little oasis of gorgeousness! Come back soon

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews