We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pique my Interest ”

Piku Izakaya Japanese Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
Price range: $30 - $65
Description: 2019 Havelock North Business Association Awards Favourite Village Dine in Establishment. Reigning Restaurant Association Outstanding Peoples Choice Award Winner in 2021 & 2022 Piku Restaurant and Cocktail Bar is located in the heart of Havelock North at the top of Joll Road. We serve fresh and delicious Japanese sharing plate cuisine. Our cocktail bar is the perfect spot for a beautifully made cocktail, local wine or beer. Open Tuesday to Sunday for lunch and dinner from 11am. Our Cocktail Bar also operates late into the evening. Takeaways now also available, go to our website for details.
Restaurant details
Description: 2019 Havelock North Business Association Awards Favourite Village Dine in Establishment. Reigning Restaurant Association Outstanding Peoples Choice Award Winner in 2021 & 2022 Piku Restaurant and Cocktail Bar is located in the heart of Havelock North at the top of Joll Road. We serve fresh and delicious Japanese sharing plate cuisine. Our cocktail bar is the perfect spot for a beautifully made cocktail, local wine or beer. Open Tuesday to Sunday for lunch and dinner from 11am. Our Cocktail Bar also operates late into the evening. Takeaways now also available, go to our website for details.
Reviewed 27 June 2020 via mobile

WOW WOW WOW x 100
The restaurant is located in the hub of Havelock North shops and is mouth wateringly delicious Japanese food.
The layout is modern, simplistic, funky and perfect for the style of food.
The service is prompt and can’t be faulted.
The food is amazing - it’s so good we’re going to visit a 2nd time during our short stay in Hawkes Bay.
The pricing is about what you would expect - we paid $120 for 3 people to have lunch and one drink each.
The best items we had were the karagage chicken and the pulled pork bao.
So looking forward to going again and I strongly suggest you book to not avoid disappointment

Date of visit: June 2020
1  Thank trippingforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2020 via mobile

We celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary and first date night out as a couple without the kids in a year at Piku. It was amazing. Marguerite cocktail was outstanding, would recommend the wagu beef meatballs, ovation rump lamb (very smoky, but yummy) and decadent brownie with ice cream.

Date of visit: June 2020
Thank envacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2020

Not your average or usual Japanese food. Varied menu with many interesting dishes, designed to share a very pleasurable experience.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Suzyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2020

Delicious food, wish I had got here sooner! Food was excellent and so was the service. Look forward to heading back soon

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EandSMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

The staff were very helpful with our food allergies, they have a gluten free menu, which is the first time I have seen this in any restaurant. The food was beautiful, everyone in our group were happy. The only thing I could mention is the tap water had a taste to it, I think you need to buy filtered water or bottled.
The toilets were excellent as well.
A popular restaurant so you need to book.

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank adamsconz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Piku Izakaya Japanese Restaurant & Cocktail Bar also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Piku Izakaya Japanese Restaurant & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.