We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, wine & atmosphere”
Review of Malo

Malo
Description: Malo offers a fresh approach to the Hawke’s Bay food and wine scene in the heart of Havelock North Village. Serving honest food with a sophisticated, modern twist and an emphasis on local, seasonal flavours. With divine food & an exquisite cocktail list, Malo is a place to gather and enjoy Hawke’s Bay’s finest hospitality.
Restaurant details
Description: Malo offers a fresh approach to the Hawke’s Bay food and wine scene in the heart of Havelock North Village. Serving honest food with a sophisticated, modern twist and an emphasis on local, seasonal flavours. With divine food & an exquisite cocktail list, Malo is a place to gather and enjoy Hawke’s Bay’s finest hospitality.
Reviewed 28 May 2023 via mobile

We were lucky to get a table for us and our toddler. It was busy. Wonderful house bread for the table. The wine list was great! The beef cheek and risotto was divine.
I was amazed at the kids menu, we ordered the steak and it was beautiful with potato wedges, brussel sprouts and shitake mushrooms.

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank Marinaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma McRobbie, Marketing at Malo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2023

Thank you for your excellent review! We greatly appreciate your kind words. We're delighted that you were able to secure a table for your family despite the high demand. Your feedback is truly appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable and friendly dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2023 via mobile

Great spot for lunch. There was a mix up with our order but it was rectified quickly.
Nice ambience on a cold wet day.
Have recommended it to others already 😁

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank Judo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma McRobbie, Marketing at Malo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2023

Thank you so much for your positive review! We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We apologize for the mix-up with your order, but we're glad we were able to rectify it promptly. It's wonderful to know that you appreciated the pleasant ambience, especially on a cold, wet day. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we hope to welcome you and your friends back soon for another delightful dining experience. Thank you again! 😊

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2023 via mobile

This is a top restaurant. This is evident in the quality from how tables are set right through to the quality person at the till at the end. Obviously the key details of food and drink are also too drawer. Nothing is left to chance. This is a restaurant that is clearly consistent and focussed on quality service and food. Recommend the pan fried fish. A wonderful dish with plenty of wine options to accompany it.

Date of visit: April 2023
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma McRobbie, Marketing at Malo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2023

Hi Mike, glad to know you had such a great experience at our place. Alway nice to hear that we're on the right track! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2023 via mobile

Have eaten here a few times over the past few years when visiting friends and always enjoyed the experience.

Unfortunately I ordered wrong this time round.. scallop entre at $26 was tasty but only 3 very small scallops.

The $60 half duck was a waste ... the duck had either been boiled or steamed before hand and the ultimate end result on my plate lacked flavor ...

As per usual, the service was 5 out of 5 and with a great selection of wines with options to taste before ordering.

We will return but not for the duck.

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma McRobbie, Marketing at Malo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for being a returning customer. We're glad to hear that you have generally enjoyed your experiences with us in the past. However, we apologize for the disappointment you faced during your most recent visit.

Regarding the half duck, we apologize for the lack of flavour you experienced. We appreciate your input and will share it with our kitchen team for them to review.

We're glad that you found our service exceptional, as we strive to provide attentive and friendly service to all our guests. We also take pride in our extensive wine selection and the option to taste before ordering.

We truly appreciate your continued support and feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and provide a more enjoyable dining experience. Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2023 via mobile

We had Good Friday lunch at Malo and loved it. Started with a gin tasting which we absolute recommend.
Bluff oysters were so good as was the steak.
Definitely recommend the apple tart.
Best part was the superb service. Every single staff member contributed to making our Good Friday lunch Great! Thank you

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank annieandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma McRobbie, Marketing at Malo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2023

Thanks for taking the time to share a review Annie. So, glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and that the team did such a great job looking after you. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malo also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Malo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.