We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Unfriendly”
Review of Underground City

Underground City
Ranked #60 of 378 things to do in Montreal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Montreal's answer to the region's harsh winters, Underground City refers to the extensive web of train stations, restaurants, department stores and hotels all connected underground.
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Our concierge warned us this large underground complex was difficult to navigate and he was right...poor signage, a great deal of construction, many stairs and escalators to deal with. The restaurants are mediocre at best and there are few places to sit in much of the City. Shopping is fair but there’s nothing else to do.
Not worth going to.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank TJVOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"above ground"
in 47 reviews
"huge mall"
in 12 reviews
"gare centrale"
in 10 reviews
"rainy day"
in 50 reviews
"street level"
in 18 reviews
"great place to shop"
in 10 reviews
"cold weather"
in 16 reviews
"great shopping"
in 22 reviews
"lots of shops"
in 24 reviews
"downtown montreal"
in 24 reviews
"old montreal"
in 19 reviews
"tunnel"
in 89 reviews
"winter"
in 159 reviews
"metro"
in 137 reviews
"reso"
in 21 reviews
"maze"
in 50 reviews
"eaton"
in 23 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed exploring the Underground City full of shops and Restaurants.

We had never seen so many food courts! In one area of the Underground we counted at least 25 different food vendors in this circular court area. Always plenty of spaces to sit and eat or just plain people watch.

People are very friendly and willing to help you find your way.

We are from California and felt very safe inside the mall unlike back home where we are always watching our purses or cell phones.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank cjkrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

A place to be in the cold cold snowy days. Stop for coffee, buy your umbrella if it rains, Chinese buns and sweet cake. Find the right exit and you are at The Bay or Holt Renfrew or Rue Peel or Simons. Easily get around and about.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank judy12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

this is the best place for shopping...there is always something to find...if you cant..your too picky

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We decided to go to Centre Eaton for some shopping. It was a disappointment. It is under renovation with at least 50% of the retail establishments closed. Many of the restrooms and escalators were out of service as well.

Hopefully when the renovations are done,it will be a decent place to shop.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank VW-Westfalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Underground City also viewed

 

Been to Underground City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing