We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Billy0406
Barrie, Canada

Visiting dad at Toronto General

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Mar 2020
This place is great! Staff were excellent, room was beautiful and very clean, free upgrade for parking and late checkout and wonderful free hot breakfast at Freshi in lobby. Thank you for your exceptional service!!!!
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Loujayna E, General Manager at The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this review
Responded 6 Apr 2020
Thank you very much for the incredible review. We are beyond thrilled for your wonderful comments. It makes us happy that your experience was a great one. I'm glad you enoyed the hotel, the staff service and breakfast. I will be sure to share your kind words with the team. We hope to have the pleasure of warmly welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$464
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.2 km from The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Ambassador Penthouse Suite
$362
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $362
0.9 km from The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
$510
  • Hotels.com
  • Novotel
    $537
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Pool
$364
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Pool
Outdoor PoolCourtyard
$611
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $611
2.3 km from The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Pool
Welcome to our fully renovated pet friendly Toronto Airport Hotel
$282
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $282
16.7 km from The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $534
  • InterContinental
    $484
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Fairmont
    $483
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.5 km from The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Delta Hotels
    $551
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Omni Hotels
    $406
  • Expedia.com
    $435
1.2 km from The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Toronto
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
265
161
31
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
265
161
31
8
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2020

We spent 3 nights at the Saint James Hotel, a small (about 28 rooms) boutique hotel downtown Toronto, close to Yonge Street and Ryerson University. The location is perfect to walk everywhere and there is a variety of restaurants in close proximity. I felt safe in this area, even in the evening when it was dark outside. Based on the recommendation of other reviewers, I had requested a quiet room at the back of the hotel and indeed, we didn't hear any street or hallway noise or sounds from adjacent rooms. Our 2 queen beds were super comfortable and the room (with flooring instead of carpeting) was very clean. The wifi worked great and the rain shower was an added bonus! Upon checking in, we received breakfast vouchers to use at Freshii, the small restaurant located on the ground floor. With this voucher, we could order any item on the breakfast menu. There was a good selection and all of the items we tried were healthy and tasted good too! At check-out, we were able to store our luggage safely for the day. Before I booked our stay at the Saint James Hotel, I had done a lot of research and this hotel happened to offer the best value and the highest ratings for this area of Toronto. With my CAA membership, I also received a discount. Add on a free continental breakfast as well as good service, and I really think that the Saint James is the best choice!

Room tip: Request a quiet room at the back of the hotel.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chantal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Loujayna E, General Manager at The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2020

Thank you very much for the amazing review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the central location, clean accommodations and healthy breakfast. Since your stay, we have soundproofed all the rooms facing the front. We hope to have the pleasure of warmly welcoming you back the next time you visit the city. Sincerely, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020 via mobile

Excellent front desk service. At check in we were greeted with a bag of snacks and water which was appreciated after a long day travelling across the country. We missed the continental breakfast so can’t comment on that. However it is Freshii so it’s a known brand. I found the lighting right at room door is a little dark but otherwise clean and modern feeling.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank OnAnotherJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Loujayna E, General Manager at The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed the welcome bag and excellent front desk service. It is my pleasure to share your kind words with the team. We would like to apologize for the lighting. I am pleased to announce that we will be receiving new brighter light fixtures within the rooms. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020

We stayed at the Saint James Hotel three nights on a recent trip to Toronto. It was a good experience, and I would recommend this hotel. The staff was friendly, the location is good, the price was solid, and the room was comfy and clean. Some touch points:

Conveniently located near a college campus so there are plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

The hotel offers parking, although we did not utilize it. We did valet check our bags the last morning after checking out so we could do some more sight-seeing prior to going to the airport – always a plus to be able to do.

Breakfast is included – you receive a voucher per guest per day for the Freshii downstairs, served until 10:30AM. This was convenient and the food was good.

The room was spacious, clean, and comfy. Modern/Ikea-esque decorations, TV, couch, coffee table, closet. The bed was really comfy. In-room fridge which I love! Nice bathroom, basic toiletries provided, hairdryer, and some fun post-shower slippers made from towel material. Bathrobes in the closet. Low noise level – we had good night’s sleep.

This was a great hotel choice and we enjoyed our stay! I would recommend the Saint James Hotel.

Room tip: 5th Floor, corner
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mintysnowflake7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Loujayna E, General Manager at The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2020

Thank you so much for the great review. It makes us happy to know that your overall experience was a pleasant one. We appreciate your recommendation and positive comments. We hope to warmly welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Toronto. Sincerely, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2019

We have stayed here twice and will come back again. It's a nice boutique hotel in a great downtown location. They included breakfast for two at the Freshii located inside the hotel. Very pleasant stay.

Date of stay: December 2019
4  Thank Buffalo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Loujayna E, General Manager at The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Thank you so much for the fabulous review. We are happy to hear your experience was a great one. I am glad you enjoyed the central location and the healthy breakfast from the onsite Freshii. We are thankful that you choose to stay with us while visiting Toronto. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2019 via mobile

I got a deal on this place using some Expedia points, so only $100. Worth that price, definitely not worth regular price of $200-300 a night. Room was spacious and reasonably clean, but not spotless. Keurig machine and microwave in room. Lots of street noise and noise from the hallway, no soundproofing. Robes and slippers provided, but other than that not a 4* hotel, more like a 3. Staff were okay. Welcome bag provided but was kinda low end, bag of mini Doritos, grocery store brand granola bar, fruit snack and water. Everything seemed to be done a bit on the cheap at this place.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank foozle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Loujayna E, General Manager at The Saint James Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments on your recent experience and will be using your feedback to improve our offerings, services and faciities. We will be soundproofing the rooms facing Gerrard in the near future. It is our hope that you will consider staying with us again. Sincerely, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews