We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mapengobis
Leuven, Belgium

Disappointing breakfast

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Feb 2024via mobile
We are a very frequent guest of Hilton Group and have been staying in many Hampton Inn's. Last one was also in Canada, just before this one. Day and night difference for breakfast. The incredible amount of waste created by litterally having everything in carton or plastic, including the boiled eggs. What a horrible experience, also to have to eat with single use "silverware".
Also the orange juice...same machine as yesterday's Hampton Inn in Vancouver...but more...tasteless.
Also..by default housekeeping every 2 days...really? Seems like Corona generated a cost saving opportunity.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$466
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $466
1.4 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Ambassador Penthouse Suite
$363
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $363
1.1 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
$512
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Novotel
    $538
1.7 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
$366
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $366
0.6 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
$553
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $553
2.1 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
Outdoor PoolCourtyard
$521
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $521
2.6 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
Welcome to our fully renovated pet friendly Toronto Airport Hotel
$283
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $283
17.0 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $536
  • InterContinental
    $485
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Fairmont
    $485
  • Algotels
1.8 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Omni Hotels
    $407
  • Expedia.com
    $436
1.4 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Toronto
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
7
6
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
6
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2024 via mobile

Comfortable with excellent facilities, the Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown provided a convenient location, just a short distance from shops, public transportation, and the city center.

The accessibility features were commendable, with a tactile layered ramp, automatic roll-in wide doorway. The multilevel lobby adorned with modern furnishings presented a slight chalkenge. The locked indoor portable access elevator was a minor inconvenience, But the staff's assistance, including a responsive breakfast team, created a positive experience.

The well-appointed wheelchair-accessible room amenities that included the bed, desk, microwave, and mini refrigerator.

The most important thing to me, the babathroom although spacious, had some design quirks, with fixtures and the towels positioned too high or too low for wheelchair users.

However, the staff's exceptional responsiveness, including adjusting the towel height, contributed to a satisfactory stay.

Notable aspects included a large television offering both French and English channels, a water-resistant and tactile floor in the bathroom, and an open floor design under the beds for added space. I dont use a hoyer lift but the storage space under the bed is important to those who do.

The hotel's breakfast, inclusive for three hours daily, featured tasty scrambled eggs and poppyseed coffee loaf.

The surrounding upscale neighborhood, near Toronto Metropolitan University Campus, churches, and the impressive grocery store "Loblaws," enhanced the overall experience.

With a business center, gym, and parking facilities, the Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown proved to be a delightful choice, prompting plans for a return visit in the upcoming Spring or Summer.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank TYsadventures22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2023 via mobile

Great accommodation. Clean and good food. Pleasant staff who were very accommodating.
My friend was able to use the conference room for work and Dan was super helpful. Central location too. Spacious rooms and nicely decorated. We would go back for sure. Parking could be cheaper though.

Room tip: You’re able to park out front while checking in and out which is great
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank OrilliaNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2023

Where to begin ... the front desk staff were very friendly and the breakfast was about to expect from a Hampton Inn, but there are a number of aspects about this brand new hotel that are seriously disappointing ...

1. Parking was $45 per night ... I ended up parking about 5 minutes walk away at The Keg for $10 for most of the weekend; I get that covered parking will be more expensive but this is Jarvis Street (not exactly core downtown).

2. The room door didn't lock on its own ... you need to make sure to pull / push it tight which is definitely not safe. And there are no warnings about it.

3. The rooms are very cold and stark; yes I know it is a Hampton Inn but this one was particularly so; the bathroom was a long distance from the heating unit, directly on an exterior wall and separated by doors by the sink area, and it was unpleasantly cool in there when taking a shower. The overall layout of the room was inefficient ... huge wasted spaces and yet a quite small shower.

4. And finally, the cleaning staff showed up at 8:45am on a Saturday morning to clean the room and woke us up ... who does that? Yes, I forgot to put the "Do Not Disturb" sign up, but 8:45am seems excessively early to be cleaning rooms on a Saturday ... focus on people who have already checked out.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2023 via mobile

Hotel parking is a bit challenging and expensive. The rooms are extremely clean and quite spacious, as well. Breakfast was good and the staff at breakfast is very attentive. They really keep the food stocked and tidy and the area clean. The front desk staff is very accommodating and had great restaurant suggestions. Overall, a perfect Hilton stay.

Room tip: Higher floors quieter. Approx 5-6 blocks from subway. Not overly ADA friendly with no elevator access in parking area.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Goodtimesrus105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2023 via mobile

Hotel was really great. The whole hotel seems to have been recently renovated and the rooms are big and clean. Hotel staff was very helpful and were always happy to help! The included breakfast is way ahead of most hotels for a complimentary breakfast. Hot food and a good selection. The location is perfect, less than 10 minutes from the subway and next to a streetcar stop. Hotel is almost in the heart of downtown so it's easy to come and go as you want during the day. I recommend this place and would definitely like to go back again!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Fx1240
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews