We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MGAZH
Zurich, Switzerland

Great Location

Review of W Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Apr 2024
Great location, next to Metro. New clean and nice rooms. Friendly stuff. Fridge in the room with bad cooling. Water power in the shower is insufficient. But rooms are new and beautiful, good beds.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$574
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $488
  • Booking.com
2.5 km from W Toronto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Chelsea Exterior
$241
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from W Toronto
Free Wifi
Pool
$523
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.1 km from W Toronto
Free Wifi
Pool
Ambassador Penthouse Suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    $304
  • Expedia.com
    $339
2.2 km from W Toronto
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Novotel
    $467
  • ZenHotels.com
    $417
  • Booking.com
2.8 km from W Toronto
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $499
  • Algotels
2.9 km from W Toronto
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Omni Hotels
    $481
  • Expedia.com
    $503
2.5 km from W Toronto
Restaurant
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $451
  • Priceline
2.8 km from W Toronto
Pool
Restaurant
Outdoor PoolCourtyard
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $664
  • Algotels
3.6 km from W Toronto
Free Wifi
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $502
  • Booking.com
4.8 km from W Toronto
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Toronto
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
23
15
6
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
23
15
6
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public school bloor subway station living room heart of downtown skylight blinds sink gym district floor amenities theatre valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2024 via mobile

We loved our stay at the W. The room was huge with a convenient sitting area. The luxury bath products were luxurious. The location is excellent with lots of great spots in the area and also the subway underneath.

Overall the staff were wonderful. We breezed in around 10:15 pm after sitting in 5 hours of eclipse traffic and kitchens had mostly closed. Tired and stressed, we plunked down at the living room bar and Roche's kindness and chill vibes really made an impression on us. He gave us great recommendations for our stay.

We came to toronto with only a lose plan of what to do and between Roche and the concierge walked away with enough recommendations to sustain us through our stay.

The skylight lounge was also gorgeous. Definitely more of an upscale vibe but the bartender there was fun too and made up cocktails on the spot for us.

Be aware that their self park garage has extremely low ceilings. The valet option was $75 a day so we took the valets suggestion and parked in the surface lot at church and Dundas for much less.

The only downside is the paper thin walls. You'll hear your neighbor taking a wiz... and their alarm, and so forth. But def would stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank schwung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2024

First time to Toronto and a Canadian friend suggested that I book the W Toronto. WOW. It's not just 'staying at a hotel'--- the W Toronto makes it an entire beautiful experience. I have had great experiences at W's before in the US, but this was above and beyond. The hotel is gorgeous. Sit around the fire in the lobby at night with snow falling just outside the floor-to-ceiling windows, or sit around the swanky bar with bartenders who are incredibly welcoming, diverse, and cool. I booked a standard room and it felt like a piece of art-- highly creative, thoughtfully designed and gorgeous. We hit Skylight, the lounge at the top of the W, twice throughout our trip and even brought new Canadian friends back with us there and they loved it.

While the entire staff was great, I want to give a special shoutout (and thank you) to 2 staff members in particular: Roche, one of the lobby bartenders was the first person we met after check-in. Roche was exceptionally kind, undeniably personable, and just made our evenings around the bar an incredible time. Me and my friends looked forward to having drinks there before dinner just because he made it such a warm and friendly environment. Thanks R!

And the cleaning attendant on our 11th floor: Fareba. Each day as we would come out of our rooms Fareba would ask us how we slept and see if there was anything she could do to make our stay better. I have literally never had this kind of kindness and attention from any hotel cleaning staff anywhere in the world besides Disney Cruises. Some days she put extra waters in our rooms just because. My coworker who stayed in a room across the hall had the exact same experience with her. Fareba took such pride in her work and it truly made our mornings just a little brighter each time we saw her. Thank you!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaronW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Freeda Themelis, Guest Services / Front Office at W Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Hello Garon. Wow! Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your amazing feedback. We have shared your comments with the entire hotel. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to Toronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2024 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights on business and was quite pleasantly surprised at the experience.

The room was incredibly well appointed and meticulously clean.

Bed and pillows are super comfortable and the in room dining service was remarkably quick and the food was excellent

There is a great coffee bar and market around the corner.

A great place to stay and would highly recommend it

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Elli362
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Freeda Themelis, Other at W Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Hello Elli362!
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are so happy that you had a great stay and we hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2024

The hotel and the staff are amazing. The experience begins with the valets who were quick to help and always smiling. The check in was seamless. As for the rooms they were modern and sleek. The hotel is centrally located to downtown with many cute places to grab a meal. There is even an Eataly down block! For us the highlight was dinner at the hotel restaurant on the 9th floor. The executive chef, Michael Hawryluk, created a wonderful and delightfully delicious menu. The setting was upscale casual and comfy and romantic. I would highly recommend having dinner there. Also, Michael came out to see how we were enjoying the meal and it made us feel like we were old friends.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Freeda Themelis, Other at W Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Hello Mmskadoo,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to post such an amazing review. We enjoyed having you here and are so happy that you were able to enjoy all that we had to offer! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2024

Booked into the W for a couple nights and reserved two rooms for a birthday weekend in the City. One double queen faced the city and one faced the courtyard. Both rooms were well appointed with enough space for 3-4 people to share the room. the courtyard rooms would be very nice in the summer as it has a "see-and-be-seen" vibe between the lobby pavilion and the surrounding rooms. The city room was on the back side of the hotel so it was quiet and also not super bright in the morning (good for us).

The service was spectacular with lovely little touches like a handwritten card welcoming us to the hotel, birthday balloons, chocolates, champagne and cake pops. It helped us feel welcomed and settled in for our stay. All of our interactions with the staff were super courteous and professional from check-in to waiting for our pickup.

The building is from the 70s so the ceiling heights in the older sections are are lower than what you'd expect from a new building, but the space well designed with sophisticated touches and they've added new features where they could. One thing I noticed is that the nice light bars in the hallway are being damaged by the cleaning staff's trolleys unfortunately. Not too sure how that's going to hold up for the long hall.

We had breakfast at Public School which was very nice, a little expensive, but honestly, this is Toronto so get used to it. All the breakfasts in our group were well executed and service was on point and attentive. On our first day, the main dining room was full so they extended service to us in the coffee house which was above and beyond.

One small gripe was the main floor washrooms. The sensors on the sinks weren't working very well and need some repair. These washrooms are shared by the restaurant as well as the public so I can see how they get damaged, but it is a touchpoint that needs to be attended to.

Room tip: The courtyard rooms would be great place to enjoy a cocktail in the summer before heading out on the town.
Date of stay: February 2024
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Somervillecider
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews