We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ENTP

Pukka 5* in the heart of Yorkville

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Feb 2024
We stayed in The Windsor Arms for 1 night in January 2024. The rate was approximately CDN$ 550 room only. There is a distinctly 'British' feel to this Toronto landmark where high tea (they will even lend you a hat), attentive service and luxury spa treatments are all the order of the day. The location is also superb - 10 minutes by taxi to the CBD with the University, Museum and planetarium all on your doorstep.

The room was vast and complete with whirlpool, walk-in shower, his 'n' hers basins and a King-size bed with luxurious linen. The decor is ultra-traditional with plush carpets, polished brass, dark tones and plenty of texture with 'Laura Ashley' linen and wallpaper. If you're looking for exposed concrete and Philippe Starck lighting then this hotel isn't for you.

The top floor and part of the 4th are devoted to the spa with a salt-water swimming pool, excellent gym and 'salt chamber' (the latter at extra cost). It's certainly a relazing place to while away an hour or two.

Service is suitably attentive. Apparently the room came with a butler but we never saw him/her and if you advertise a service you should offer it freely - don't wait for me to remind you. The technology in the room is dated with iPlayer sockets and a audio service in the bathroom that didn't work. Apparently breakfast was included but you are offered only coffee, juice and pastries; everything else costs extra which is why I have stated 'room only'. That struck me as slightly misleading and I would have prfeferred to know one way or the other so we could have booked brunch in Yorkville.

The minibar was generously stocked and the restaurant downstairs had a live jazz band on the Friday night. The cocktails are excellent and the wine list is a real fine - hundreds of listings and some offer exceptional value.

If you like ultra-traditional then you'll love The Windsor Arms - it's a little slice of Britain in downtown Toronto.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$487
  • Expedia.com
    $575
  • Vio.com
    $530
  • ZenHotels.com
    $503
2.5 km from Windsor Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Ambassador Penthouse Suite
$340
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
    $340
  • ZenHotels.com
    $312
  • Hotels.com
    $340
2.2 km from Windsor Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
$552
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $552
  • ZenHotels.com
    $536
  • InterContinental
    $552
2.7 km from Windsor Arms Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
$445
  • Priceline
    $445
  • Vio.com
    $378
  • Novotel
    $468
2.8 km from Windsor Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Chelsea Exterior
$296
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $476
  • ZenHotels.com
    $242
  • Expedia.com
    $297
1.3 km from Windsor Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$464
Fully refundable
  • Omni Hotels
    $483
  • Expedia.com
    $504
  • Hotels.com
    $504
2.5 km from Windsor Arms Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
$678
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $624
  • Expedia.com
    $678
  • Hotels.com
    $678
4.4 km from Windsor Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Outdoor PoolCourtyard
$642
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $642
  • Hotels.com
    $641
  • Expedia.com
    $642
3.4 km from Windsor Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Welcome to the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport hotel
$194
  • Priceline
    $194
  • ZenHotels.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $194
15.7 km from Windsor Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$1,002
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $460
  • Hotels.com
    $409
  • Fairmont
    $460
2.7 km from Windsor Arms Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Toronto
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
301
65
23
24
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
301
65
23
24
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high end shopping boutique hotel bloor st rooms are large one bedroom suite spa wedding furnishings valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2023

Horrible experience, I went there for the high tea experience for my birthday. Some items from the savoury menu were missing. My friend found a hair in her egg sandwich, they took away her plate for like 20 minutes only to come back with tomatoes and lettuce sandwiches. The sweets and pastries were not fresh. The service was horrible, at the 2 hour mark, as we got ready to wrap up, the waiter rushed us to leave although the place was dead empty. They were in a hurry to close. I will never go back and we didn’t even get compensation or a sorry for the hair in the sandwich!!! Total disaster.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Jihene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2023

Our carpet was dirty. The toilet paper roll holder was broken. The bathtub was cracked and chipped. The bathroom sink drain was broken. The hot and cold in the shower were reversed (but nobody told us). Staff were indifferent bordering on rude. Not a 5 star hotel or experience. It may have been grand in it's day, but that day is long, long gone. Bedding was nice.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Happiness27061634776
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2023

After booking "Mother's Day High Tea" in March, I received a text and email notification the booking was changed to "Mother's Day Brunch" and another notification the booking was at an earlier time. I thought at this point they were not offering "High Tea" rather only "Brunch" and did not investigate. My guests and I arrived for a far below average brunch with unresponsive, inattentive staff and a maitre d' wearing white dirty running shoes. This was not end of the adventure. Upon leaving the brunch room, entering the main entry, we see "High Tea" being served in two other rooms.

I have but one conclusion, the change in my reservation was deliberate as the brunch was $135 not the high tea rate of $50. I would not refer nor attend this hotel for any reason and as someone living in the GTA, there are many finer hotels and places for brunch or high tea.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank dhY5266ET
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2023 via mobile

Came for Mother’s Day brunch for 135 per person. It was extremely underwhelming and seemed like zero thought was put into presentation or service. Very casually dressed Managers just stood by waiting for your payment never inquiring how the service or food was. I’m pretty sure the valet man was smoking directly outside the front doors of the hotel as well. Charging what they did for this brunch is embarrassing. You could tell other tables were unhappy as well. Also in this day in age with allergies your labels on food should have whether or not it has gluten, dairy, nuts, alcohol. Etc. I have seen better buffet set ups at 3 star hotels that offer complimentary breakfast.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Global812023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2023

Had to be the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in. There was a distinctive odour upon entering the hotel that followed you up into the room. The room itself was completely disappointing starting with the horrendously stained rug as we entered the room. The rug was so old it was rippling throughout. The furniture was dated and poorly maintained. Chipped and threadbare. The bathroom was the worst the sink surround was so dusty and dirty but the tipping point was the bandaid, used bandaid in the bathtub. They offered to clean the room but there is no cleaning possible that would erase the memory of this absolute disappointment. Disgusting

Room tip: Don’t bother
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank acanthus12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews