We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Travelwithwendy
Isle of Man, United Kingdom

Fabulous and Friendly, Elegant and welcoming

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Apr 2024
From the tine you check in the experience is wonderful. There is construction on the street in front of the hotel but the beautiful lobby is quiet and elegant. We were warmly greeted at reception and our reservation completed efficiently and quickly on our way to the room. The hallways are wide and wonderfully decorated with an elegant flair of modern but understated opulence. Housekeeping staff are warm and friendly and take pride in their work as the room and the halls was spotless. Had a pleasant meal in the evening in the bar/lounge. The food was well prepared and presented by friendly and very attentive staff and the decor was welcoming and overall atmosphere was relaxing.

Breakfast in the beautiful main dining room has a wide variety of choice, something for everything on the menu and the servers are friendly and upbeat. Unfortunately we were on a tight schedule but would have enjoyed to sit longer in the bright open room and start the day. Decor was fabulous and great attention to detail.

The bedroom was appointed with 2 large beds with sumptuous linens and were very comfortable. The pillows were just right and a good sleep was enjoyed. The room also included a full desk and cabinet area with a large wall mounted TV at just the right height for viewing in the comfort of bed. Generous sized bathroom with luxury marble floors and an absolutely wonderful shower. Very nice toiletries and plush towels and bathrobes were lovely.

Lovely windows out onto the courtyard where there is a patio off the main dining room made the room bright and welcoming and the blackout curtains ensure that the room was perfect for sleeping. A great touch is that the window can actually be opened for fresh air. Just across from the ROM which is one of the best museums globally to visit and great shopping and dining within footsteps make the location hard to beat. Very close to the subway for a fast trip down to the Toronto waterfront as well as over places such as the Eaton Centre and Union Station. Highly recommended and my thanks to the staff for making our stay so pleasant
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Renouard, Other at The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto, responded to this review
Responded 24 Apr 2024
Dear Wendy,

Thank you for your glowing review! On behalf of my colleagues, we truly appreciate your feedback and it is heartwarming to know that you have noticed the small gestures of greeting to attention to detail during your stay.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back for many more wonderful memories and experiences.

Wishing you a fabulous week!

Regards,
Natasha

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$445
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Novotel
3.0 km from The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto
Free Wifi
Pool
Chelsea Exterior
$241
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.5 km from The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto
Free Wifi
Pool
$678
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $678
4.2 km from The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto
Free Wifi
Pool
Outdoor PoolCourtyard
$642
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.4 km from The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $502
  • Expedia.com
    $575
2.6 km from The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Ambassador Penthouse Suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    $313
  • Expedia.com
    $341
2.4 km from The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $536
  • InterContinental
    $552
2.8 km from The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto
Pool
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $409
  • Fairmont
    $460
2.8 km from The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Omni Hotels
    $483
  • Expedia.com
    $504
2.7 km from The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto
Restaurant
Room service
Welcome to the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $178
  • Algotels
15.3 km from The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Toronto
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
265
55
34
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
265
55
34
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews proof bar great location front desk inner courtyard bloor st green p yorkville area perfect stay bottled water lovely hotel room service mini fridge self parking night stay housekeeping staff room was spacious underground parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2024

My wife and stayed at the Royal Sonesta in Yorkville Toronto this Monday for a little holiday and a Blue Jays game. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff was so friendly and helpful., the room was perfectly setup and found a few chocolate goodies when we arrived. Such a nice touch. In the end the stay was perfect and when compared to other locations in Toronto I don’t think it can be matched. Obviously we will come back.
Pat Espina, Fergus Ontario
PS: Blue Jays won which made the stay even better.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 170pate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Renouard, Other at The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Dear Pat.

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your holiday in Toronto! We're absolutely delighted to hear that you and your wife had such a fantastic experience from start to finish.

It's wonderful to know that our staff provided friendly and helpful service throughout your stay, and we're thrilled that you found the room perfectly set up with some sweet amenity a special touch. Creating memorable experiences for our guests is what we're all about, and we're glad that we hit the mark for you.

We're honored that you feel our hotel stands out among other locations in Toronto, and we're thrilled that you plan to come back. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we can't wait to welcome you both back for another perfect stay in the future!

Warm regards,
Roxanne Choliy
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2024

Great location and very clean. Nice restaurant with excellent breakfast. Rooms were uncomfortably warm so had to run ac to sleep. Be sure to include facility fees and taxes when estimating true cost of staying here. Pool is lovely and definitely made our stay.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Renouard, Other at The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location and found our hotel to be very clean. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the excellent breakfast at our restaurant and that the pool added to your overall experience.

We apologize for any discomfort you experienced with the room temperature. Please know that your feedback has been noted, and we will certainly address this to ensure a more comfortable stay for our future guests.

We appreciate your mention of the facility fees and taxes. We understand the importance of transparent pricing and will work to ensure that this information is clearly communicated to our guests during the booking process.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an even more enjoyable experience in the future. If there's anything else we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024 via mobile

The stay was good. The young lady asked if I wanted an upgrade and said it would be 25 dollars - didn’t know it would be 50 total plus all the crazy “fees” they charge (see attached). This is a complete scam, they don’t explain any of these ridiculous taxes when you check in. Be sure to ask and maybe consider a Hilton property here which doesn’t do this. Was ok but lost me with the shady tax practices. Must be a Canada thing…

Room tip: Ask about the taxes and do not do their upgrades or ensure you ask what it entails.. the lovely customer service will cost you in fees.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank GlobalTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Renouard, Other at The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We apologize for any confusion regarding the upgrade fee and taxes during your stay. We understand your frustration and regret if this tarnished your overall impression of our hotel. Your feedback is valuable, and we will review our communication practices to ensure transparency for our guests.

We strive to provide a positive and transparent experience for all our guests, and we regret if we fell short of your expectations in this regard. Please know that we take your comments seriously and will use them to improve our services.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust during your next visit.

Warm regards,
Roxanne Choliy
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2024

Very pleasant stay at the Yorkville Royal with friendly staff and rooms kept clean. Had a very spacious room on the fifth floor. Room service was excellent and the breakfast - which is a-la-carte - was very good. Would stay again for certain. Close to museums and other attractions.

Room tip: The restaurant is very quiet in the evenings but busy for breakfast.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TonyMcMahon_history
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Renouard, Other at The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

Dear TonyMcMahon,

We are so pleased to hear you loved every aspect of your stay with us. Our team is thrilled to know you enjoyed the a la carte breakfast and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2023

Whilst I did not personally stay there, my girlfriend and her family stayed at the hotel for my girlfriend's 30th and thoroughly enjoyed their stay. As I could sadly not be there, I contacted the hotel in the hope that they could arrange a surprise to be delivered to my girlfriend's room on her birthday. I spoke with Toby Dublin who was incredibly polite, friendly and more than willing to help. Toby, along with Roxanne, delivered a lovely surprise cake to the room which was (obviously) very well received and earned some brownie points :) Thank you very much Toby and Roxanne, you were a pleasure to deal with

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FarAway565651
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Renouard, Other at The Yorkville Royal Sonesta Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear Alex,

We're delighted to hear about Katie's family's stay with us and how we could contribute to her 30th birthday celebration. Toby and I are thrilled that you appreciated our efforts to make it a memorable occasion.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you personally on your next visit and making it an even more memorable experience for you and Katie.

Warm regards,
Roxanne Choliy
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews