We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet Spacious Comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to McLeod House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to McLeod House
33 steps leads ... ... To your cosy home away from home.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Welcome to McLeod House
33 steps leads ...
... To your cosy home away from home.
Living room, kitchen and dining room are ready for you ...
...  And three guests
Relax in the turret with some TV ...
... Or a book ...
... Or watch the world drift by from your bird's-eye view.
Cook a meal or warm up some takeout in your fully equipped kitchen.
Make coffee, tea or toast anytime.
Rest your body on our latex pillowtop spring mattresses ...
... with 750 thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets.
Sunny and bright  bedrooms ...
... With alarm clocks, hairdryer and iron.
Enjoy luxurious cotton towels in the bathroom.
Have your own private balcony to sit outdoors.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ottawa, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
11RuthB88
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Quiet Spacious Comfortable”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I stayed for four nights along with a friend.

Jackie, the owner, was prompt with responses to questions and provided all necessary details before arrival. She was there to greet us and give us a tour. She has prepared a thorough guidebook to the area that we referred to often -- full of maps pinpointing great restaurants and recommended local attractions.

The apartment itself is spacious and well-equipped with everything one might need for a comfortable stay. The kitchen is well-equipped and stocked with coffee, a selection of teas and various seasonings and condiments. The beds are great, the towels plush (and soap and shampoo provided along with a hair dryer and little details like band-aids and cotton balls and Q-tips!). Jackie has even provided night lights so that you can navigate in an unfamiliar space in the dark. She has obviously put tremendous thought and care into providing for every anticipated need.

The location is great. We were able to walk north to Parliament Hill and the Byward Market (not close but doable if you are reasonably fit), and south to the Glebe and Lansdowne Place, and east to the paths along the Rideau Canal. There is a wonderful variety of restaurants nearby as well as a good grocery store. So much is within walking distance. Your car can stay parked (and yes, parking was included).

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It was a wonderful peaceful home away from home and was perfect for our needs. ( But people should be aware that this is a third floor apartment and not suitable for those with issues climbing stairs. There is also some unevenness in the slope of the floor, so would not be ideal for those with balance issues when walking.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness, the quiet, the book of recommended restaurants
Liked least: I was sometimes cold when sitting around (April winds blowing) and would've appreciated a space heater. (The owner does say to contact her if you want the heat turned up, but I didn't bother. I just used the provided blankets to wrap myself in.)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind words and so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I do mention on my listing there are 33 steps to reach the apartment, and because the house is over 100-years-old, there is a slight slope to the floor to the back bedroom, but thank you for bringing it up so other travellers are more aware. All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceV96
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location and comfort”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Jacqueline's 2 bedroom apartment has everything necessary for a pleasant stay. She responded quickly to inquiries and was there to meet me and show me around. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. Everything is very clean. The kitchen is suitably equipped and there is a full spice rack. The only thing that might be improved would be to have more TV channels than basic cable (sports or movies) and a DVD player. I went around the corner to Berryman's Pub to watch the hockey game on TV. The location is great, with easy access to the Queensway if you are driving, and situated steps from bus routes on Bank Street, although many shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance. (I recommend the Whalesbone Oyster House).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds
Liked least: Minimal selection of TV channels
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favras
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Your royal turret awaits.”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

If you're fortunate enough to book this lovely apartment, you are in for the royal treatment. I stayed here while preparing for a professional exam. I couldn't have asked for more private, peaceful, and, yes, luxurious digs. From the high thread count on the bed sheets, to the top-of-the line mattress, to the spa-like shower head and endless hot water, this place is a castle unto itself. Jackie, the owner, comes from a family of hoteliers. It shows. Towels are thick and plush. Lighting is soft for drifting off to sleep, yet lamps are bright enough for bedside reading. The kitchen is fully-equipped for creating meals from scratch or for heating takeout from neighborhood bistros. Pantry staples, from olive oil, to herbs and spice, make whipping up an omelet easy and convenient. There's a generous supply of coffee, and a wide selection of tea , along with the makings for hot chocolate. When I was there in mid-December it was still warm enough to take my morning coffee on the private porch off the bedrooms. The apartment is located on a quiet, residential street within walking distance of the bus station. A stroll to the corner provides all the options a big little city offers. Jackie has thought of everything, even a coffeetable book filled with restaurant, activity, transportation, and other helpful information about Ottawa. Staying here was like staying in a gorgeous apartment in the home of a well-heeled relative, only without the obligatory socializing. I am spoiled from ever settling for local hotel. As General Douglas MacArthur once said, "I shall return."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and privacy
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald B
1 review
“Clearly met our expectations”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed for 1 week visiting family and friends and this was an excellent "home base" for us (family of 3). Wanted to be able to walk Otttawa and have easy access to highways when needed. Able to shop locally when we wanted to stay in and lots of restaurants when we chose to eat out. The apartment was exactly as advertised and communicated easily with Jackie ahead to know what was there. She greeted us on arrival (you get your own parking slot in driveway) and settled us in. Always available for questions. It is narrow climb up to third floor but we knew in advance. Balcony was a bonus. Would easily book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEP_CAN
Calgary, AB, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An excellent, comfortable and peaceful apartment for visiting Ottawa”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed in the apartment for 3 nights while visiting Ottawa. This is an EXCELLENT choice - very comfortable beds with high quality sheets, bright living room with comfortable furniture, well-equiped kitchen, tastefully decorated throughout and a balcony overlooking the backyard. The bathroom has good water pressure and nice plush towels. It is a only a few blocks to walk to a good grocery store on nearby Bank Street where you will also find restaurants, coffee shops, Shopper's Drug Mart and interesting shops. The walk to the parliament buildings is about 20 minutes.We cooked our supper at the apartment all 3 evenings because it was such a pleasant space. Jackie is a wonderful host and provides all the maps and information you could possibly need. As well, there is convenient, spacious off road parking. Apartment is on the third floor so if stairs are an issue this could be a problem for some people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, decor and a good sleep
Liked least: nothing - it was all great
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$89
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing