We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$128
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
FindHotel
US$118
View deal
eDreams
PricelineUS$129
Hotels.comUS$128
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveller rating
387
242
65
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
387
242
65
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room no elevator free breakfast stay there again beds were very comfortable very nice hotel downtown area niagara falls front porch notl lake walkable fireplace ontario
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 717 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2021

A clean and comfortable hotel in Niagara on the Lake with reasonable prices. Only a 20 min. walk to the historic old town. Conviently located across from Willows Bakery, Ruffino's for Italian food, and a Tim's. Very friendly staff!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank LJYToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle B, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2021

Hello LJYToronto, we really appreciate you taking a moment to leave such a kind review of your recent stay with us! Our location is so great for those who enjoy a morning walk - start with Willow Cake bakery and make your way downtown to visit the shops before things get too busy. I hope that we'll be able to welcome you back soon for your next escape from the City & we wish you well until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2021

Very convinient location near all the tourist attractions. Service was great.

Not a great value for money though. Guest rooms are clean and decent but don't justify the price.

Breakfast is grab and go during covid times and some services like gym not functional during covid-19.

Overall a good experience but not a great value for the money, price can be more competitive.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank siddheshmalgaonkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle B, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Hello siddheshmalgaonkar, I'm pleased to read you had a good experience at the Colonel Butler Inn. Our rates are generally the lowest in town, especially when you consider that breakfast, on-site parking and wifi are always included at no extra charge. Our convenient location is another reason guests stay with us time and again; we are centrally located and within walking distance to much of "downtown," all without the congestion and noise of the main street. We appreciate the review and hope that we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2021

My recent trip to niagara on the lake and i stayed at the col butler inn hotel in niagara on the lake. I had a amazing stay at the hotel the room was nice clean and great staff and friendly service i want to stay their again

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle B, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Hello Paul C, thank you for taking a moment to share such a lovely review of your recent stay! I'm so happy to read you had a perfect stay and enjoyed the quiet charm that the Colonel Butler Inn offers. Our teams are always available for anything you need and to help you plan anything to make your stay more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2021

The room was satisfactory, except for a slow-draining sink and immovable shower head pointed at shower wall -- you had to lean against the wall to get wet. The room was on 2nd floor and there was no elevator. It wasn't consistent with the $299 and $239 charged for the Saturday and Sunday nights we stayed.

Our main complaint was feeling mislead by a $8.95 voucher for breakfast at the Butler Sports Bar and Grill next door. The menu for the voucher was restricted to items listed at $6.49 and included tea or coffee ($2.25); it would have been cheaper to throw away the voucher and just pay the $8.74, unless it was included in the cost of the room as we had assumed.

We mistakenly assumed the voucher was complimentary, in lieu of having the included breakfast at the hotel. We were surprised to find the $8.95 per person added to our hotel bill. The breakfast at the Bar & Grill was one of the worst we have ever had because of *extremely* slow service (only one waitress serving 8 or more tables) and the *horrible* coffee.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LarryJSabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle B, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

Hello LarryJSabo, thank you for your comments regarding breakfast. We would like to extend our apologies for you having felt misled. We have reviewed with out front desk team how we present the option to our guests and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. I hope that you'll consider staying with us again on your next trip to town so that we might have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021

A bit disappointed with hotel. Beds were small and bathroom is tight. I understand it is COVID but a bit more could be done to make stay more enjoyable. Like chairs on the front porch and put out wipes for people to use on them.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank vinnieh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle B, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

Hello Vinnieh77, thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your most recent stay with us at the Colonel Butler Inn. I appreciate your suggestion, and we did look at doing that when we reopened earlier this season however we concluded that it would not possible to ensure that the patio furniture would be properly sanitized after each guest use, and as we are required to make sure that happens we opted to remove the tables and chairs for the time being. I hope you'll stay with us again next year so we can have another opportunity to wow you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews