We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Read House

Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Side of house showing deck area with 2 BBQ's Living room with Gas fire and flat screen TV, Free Cable and DVD Player With Films for a Cozy Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Side of house showing deck area with 2 BBQ's
Living room with Gas fire and flat screen TV, Free Cable and DVD Player With Films for a Cozy Night
Kitchen/Dining room
Queen Bedroom 1
Queen Bedroom 2
Twin Room with 2 Single Beds (Bedroom 3)
Upstairs Bathroom Whirlpool Bath and Seperate Shower
Ground floor Washroom with shower
Side of Cottage and Driveway
Shops down the Main High Street in Niagara on The Lake
Niagara On The Lake Main Street
Red Grapes from Local Winery a Short Drive away!
Konzelmann Winery, The Read House Guests enjoying a free tour and taste
Ice Wine and Chocolates!
Niagara on the Lake Ice Wine Festival
1812
1812 War Celebrating 200 years of peace
Fort George
The General Brock Monument
Niagara Falls (Short Drive away around 20 Minutes)
Historical Famous St Marks Church
The Read House can arrange Weddings through Konzelmann Winery the only lake front Winery!
View from Niagara on the lake to the USA
Niagara On The Lake In Full Bloom
The Shaw Festival Theatre
The Court House - Shaw Theartre
The Royal George (Shaw) Theartre
General Simcoe (Founder of Niagara on the lake)
10% Discount to all CDN, UK and US Military
Cleaning the New French Oak Barrels at Knozelmann estate Winery
Food and Wine Paring at The Read House We come to you!!! See our Web Page for prices.
London Bus Tours in Niagara On The Lake and Horse Drawn Carrage Rides
Enough Said, Get away From those Kids You Deserve it Weekend !!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tommaruna
Carlock, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Believe all the positives; this is a wonderful, charming home. Convenient to everything, although at times you just want to stay home and enjoy the warmth of the house. The fireplace in the inviting living room was ideal for reading and relaxing, the large dining table provided amble room for not only dining, but, also, lots of card playing,The owner, Dail, went way out of her way to provide us with a special item that we needed for health reasons. Dail also arranged for a Sommelier to come to the house and provide a personalized wine tasting of local wines. Now, that is what I call Canadian Hospitality !! Renting this home removes all worries about your accommodations. You won't regret booking this lovely home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2PenceTx
Denton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expected Better”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

First let me say that this house is charming. Yes, the floors slope but this is expected with an old house. The bedding is very pretty and of good quality. The furnishings are very nice. I would like to point out that this was not our first vacation rental, which means we have had others to compare it to. I have never had to contact the homeowner or management on any other rental. This time I did. I am happy to say the managers were responsive to emails. However, the instructions listed in the home are completely inaccurate. The listing says it has a phone and the instructions even give you a phone number. No phone in home which is why I had to contact them via email. Extra towels are supposed to be in kitchen cabinet, no towels there. The home has two full baths, one upstairs and one downstairs. The upstairs bath had 6 towels (there were six of us). The downstairs bath had no towels at all. We were staying 4 nights and had to use the same towel the entire stay. We were told we could use the washer and dryer to clean them but we were on vacation from household chores. The emergency flashlights did not work. They ask that you put the trash out on Friday, but the trash pick up is on Tuesday. The pans were not clean. With the exception of the patio doorwall, the windows were very dirty, as were the throw rugs. A little more attention paid to details would go a long way with this home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2017
You found a list for the owner of the house 10 years ago. The house has not had a phone for 8 years due to cell phones. We did bring three more towels over to you, we keep all towels upstairs as guests like to keep their towels in their rooms. We had three flash lights at the house yes, only one worked.
We DO NOT expect our guest to put out the Garbage, We come over on Fridays and put it out. The Town of Niagara on the Lake picks up garbage on FRIDAY ONLY they do not pick-up on Tuesday.
Please note that OLD list has been removed from the house.
I asked my housekeeper to see about the pans, she did not find the pots you talked about, the only thing was the tea pot was stained from the tea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather E
1 review
“lovely clean and central”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

we really enjoyed our stay at Niagara on the lake . After a long flight it was nice to find a clean and well equipped home.
We very much enjoyed the little town and of course the wineries . Very close to the falls without being to close to the hustle .
I would recommend this cottage highly .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASouthAfr...
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My husband and I enjoyed this home with our daughter, her husband, and our two grandchildren (ages 11 and 12). Three bedrooms upstairs with a big bathroom. Another nice bathroom downstairs. Kitchen was nicely equipped for breakfast every day and dinner one night. Big table with 6 chairs was perfect for us. The best part was the location in that we were so close to Main Street (we rode bikes) and to Fort George (we walked). We thoroughly enjoyed both places! This is definitely a nice place for a family who enjoys walking here and there. There is a driveway which provided plenty of parking for our two cars.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipehitte...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Very nice. Would stay here again”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This place is in a good location – 10 minutes walk to town.
It is quiet and peaceful.
There is ample off-road parking on its own Private Drive.

It has everything one would expect and all works well.

Three comfortable bedrooms and two good bathrooms with nice powerful showers.

Nice outdoor space (although we were here in the winter so did not use it)

Good big gas barbecue.

Booking and dealing with the owners was straightforward. The key is in a lock box at the property which makes it straight forward to check in and out.

I would definitely come here again if I was in niagara on the lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing