We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to end our vacation in Newfoundland”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
backyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
backyard
Tree garden
Deck
Heritage Designation
View of the beach from backyard
Torbay beach...a 2 minute walk
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main floor area
Queen bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
The mini 3rd bed - loft
The mini 3rd bed room - loft
Kitchen looking out to the Bathroom
Laundry room
Porch
Lower Bathroom
Upper Bathroom
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT hiking
Cabot Tower
Cape Spear
Petty Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St. John's, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
13kim13
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place to end our vacation in Newfoundland”
Reviewed 8 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

clean,comfortable and welcoming with all the amenities of home. Perfect mornings sitting out back watching the sunrise over the bay. With its proximity to St John's it was a great starting point for a long day of visiting various sites and hiking. Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2018
So glad u folks loved our cottage! It really is a beautiful gem. : ) Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnmI295...
Peterborough, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A cttage getaway close to the city”
Reviewed 27 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

This is a great cottage down an unassuming lane in Torbay.
You walk out the east door and you are presented with the most amazing view of the Harbour entrance. The scenery from the firepit is one to be seen at night.

The accomadations were perfect, clean and Pauls father looked after problems and garbage - we had no problems. By the way Paul answered any questions we actually sent to him. The Kitchen has all the ammenties that you could ask for.
Bed rooms and Bathrooms were great and clean.
Paul also supplies a great deal of information on a side table. The detailed hiking maps were great. This was such an impresive place we are trying to arrange time to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2018
Thanks John. So glad you loved our place! Looking forward to having you back next year! Will chat soon. : ) Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Extraordi...
2 reviews
“A Gem Cottage in NFLD”
Reviewed 26 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We loved our stay in this cottage- very clean, super cute decor and the ever-changing views of the ocean were utterly mesmerizing (especially in the morning from the loo- husband and dad confirmed and reaffirmed)!! Fully supplied with everything essential, all we had to do was fill the fridge with food, wine, and beer.

When staying in this cottage, I highly recommend :
- waking up to see the sunrise as much as possible- absolutely worth it even it you go back to bed right after
- a little fire in the evening with a nice glass of wine- the sound of the ocean can be your music
- breakfast, lunch and dinner all enjoyed outside and cooked on the BBQ
- a walk to the water followed by a refreshing cold dip, followed by rock picking/gathering

Thank you, again, Paul for allowing us to stay in your little gem- we truly felt like we got to experience a little piece of history. I hope our path leads us back to another stay in this lovely cottage.

Cheers,
J, J & A

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2018
Thank you so much for the kind words. We are are so happy everything was just perfect including the loo location! Lol. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage right on the East Coast trail!”
Reviewed 3 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying here, the cottage had everything we needed for a home away from home.
We loved hiking the nearby trails, BBQ-ing the catch of the day and enjoyed the amazing view from the deck.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2018
So glad you and Klaus had a great stay and loved our cottage! Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarrieMeh...
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 18 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
3
people found this review helpful

This cottage is really a home away from home. The veiws are amazing. They even had binoculars to help with our whale watching from the deck. It is a perfect place to relax after a busy day hiking or sight seeing. Thank you Paul and Nancy for sharing this with us.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2018
So glad you enjoyed!! Our goal is to make sure everything is perfect!
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing