We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
45
22
15
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
45
22
15
13
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed two nights (June 21 - 22, 2013) in what appears to be a newer section. We found it to be a cozy, quiet campground. Close to a road so you're going to hear some light traffic. It's a small camground adjacent to the St John River. Very beautiful surroundings with a walking path that stretches for about 6 kilometers. We have a 26-foot trailer and found the lot to be a great size. You won't feel crammed in like sardines. Every lot appeared to be very level. Each lot is made of crushed gravel, with grass separating each lot. Firewood is $6/bundle although you can walk across the street and buy it from a house for $5/bundle. Nice little play area for the children.

We paid $50/night for a lot with water, sewer, and electric. That price does not include access to the water park area, which would have been an extra $15/day per person. We found that price to be a little high for the caliber of this campground. Nothing wrong with the campground, but for $50/night they should be including access to all additional amenities (waterpark, boats, mini-golf). Staff were very friendly. Check-in was simple. If there was an on-site convenience store I was not aware of it.

We would certainly stay at this campground again if it weren't for the price. There's still a little renovation going on but it's not intrusive. Curious to see what the place looks like next year.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Advil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This 'resort' has delusions of grandeur but has yet to reach its full potential. The owner seems to be building a major upgrade step by step as he is able to finance the construction. Some of the choices made, such as the lighting stands have been bad choices. The new washroom facilities are clean and bright; the newly constructed water-play area is open to the public. At some point it is to be hoped they actually build a proper reception area. The check in process takes way too long; on the other hand without a reservation I've never been turned away. Camping includes the waterplay area; if you aren't using it you're paying a premium price for a service you aren't using. Staff are friendly if inefficient.

Room tip: If you can reserve a waterfront site the views of the Saint John River are magnificent. Sunrises and Sunsets are spectacular.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarthM601
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2013

While we were there they were doing a major expansion. We pulled in and couldn't find the office (it was in a shack).

We wanted a full hook up but could only get water and electric. We were told we could have a FHU if one was available - none were available because all appeared to be seasonal sites. (They were working on a large new section which I assume has FHU now).

We found the campground noisy from the nearby road. Our site was narrow with a large tree with LOW branches on one side and a large bush on the other. We had to decide which we wanted out - the slide or the awning. We chose the slide since that's the only way to access the bathroom.

Speaking of low branches - watch out for them in the old section. One low branch hit our AC unit on the roof. While construction is likely over now it started at 07:30 with lots of heavy equipment. The new sites look like a parking lot. Cramed together in parking lot style.

The resort is not just open to campers. While we were leaving 6 bus loads of school children arrived. Anyone hoping to get anywhere near the pool would have been disappointed.

We found the $39 + HST high for just W&E

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDaddyHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2012

WOW !! What a great spot to camp and take the kids.
Recent renovations look great, the camp sites are large, very clean and exceptional landscaping.. you can certainly tell they have done alot of work to improve the camp ground, which can accomadate anything from tents to big rigs.. lots of parking too.
Pool area is amazing!! Real looking palm trees, colorful lounge chairs, waterslides, spray park, swirl pool and kids slide/area. I posted pics on facebook and had people ask me if I had just come back from down south.. it literally looks like something you would see in Mexico. Brand new bathrooms always kept clean. The only downfall is theres not much for food.. just hotdogs/chips/burgers.. I am told that the restaurant is in the makes and should be in for next summer. I think there is supposed to be a licensed bar too. Pool was sometimes busy and could use more lifeguards so I would recommend going with/watching your kids.
We didn't do any of the water sports, but the campground is right on the St.John river and i know there is a pontoon boat that goes out daily for river tours which looked nice. There were kayaks and canoe rentals too.
It was only about a 5minute drive into downtown Frederiction which is a bonus too.
I will definately be returning next summer!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbum2008_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked Site #55 one week in advance and were asked to pay a deposit equal to one night of $56.50 - very pricey but the site was grassed, fenced and close to the waterslide/patio area. When we arrived one week later, the same trailer that was there the week before was STILL OCCUPYING THE SITE - and no one had any idea why. The same garbage from the weekend before was still in the firepit untouched. The "Office" was organized chaos - many campers waiting with numerous complaints and problems and the man in charge (Richard) was rude, abrupt and uncommunicative at best. He tried to bump us into a gravel-only site behind the "office" with no offer at a price reduction. We wouldn't have accepted it anyway. Got a refund and left. Very sad as the Site has HUGE potential but is very poorly run and Management have NO PEOPLE SKILLS. Smarten up Hartt's Island!! At this point you are window dressing only.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews