We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cool place!”
Cassiar Cannery - iconic Guest Houses looking towards the mouth of the Skeena River
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cassiar Cannery - iconic Guest Houses looking towards the mouth of the Skeena River
Cassiar Cannery - Steelhead House - porching Cassiar Cannery - zen view towards the mouth of the Skeena River
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Cassiar Cannery - iconic Guest Houses looking towards the mouth of the Skeena River
Cassiar Cannery - Steelhead House - porching
Cassiar Cannery - zen view towards the mouth of the Skeena River
Cassiar Cannery - Cassiar 56 at sunset
Cassiar Cannery - heritage houses
Cassiar Cannery - porch on Sockeye House
Cassiar Cannery - Sockeye House - kitchen to second bedroom
Cassiar Cannery - Sockeye House - kitchen
Cassiar Cannery - Sockeye House living room
Cassiar Cannery - Sockeye House - living room
Cassiar Cannery - Sockeye House - master bedroom
Cassiar Cannery - Sockeye House - Eating Nook
Cassiar Cannery - Sockeye House - middle bedroom
Cassiar Cannery - sunrise towards the Skeena
Cassiar Cannery - Coho House (1BR) extremely comfortable bed
Cassiar Cannery - Coho House (1BR) kitchen
Cassiar Cannery - sunset over the docks
Cassiar Cannery - rainbow - beautiful in any light
Cassiar Cannery - clubhouse and houses towards the Skeena River
Cassiar Cannery - VIA Rail pick up
Cassiar Cannery's neighbour - North Pacific Cannery Museum, A National Historic Site
Cassiar Cannery - Osland Pass
Cassiar Cannery - Osland - an old Icelandic community
Cassiar Cannery - dawn
Cassiar Cannery - Port Edward Marina - where guests keep and launch their boats - 10 minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Prince Rupert, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
limeydrum...
Rainbow Lake, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool place!”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in the steelhead house for 4 nights with family and friends. The place was excellent and we have already booked again for next year. The owners were super friendly and very helpful with anything we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location, right on the water.
Liked least: The bugs were pretty bad in the evening.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59_Oiseau...
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful and unique place to stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a great night at Cassiar Cannery. Justine and Mark (owner/operators) were really friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. Our cabin was clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated with a lot of wood, very quiet, and had a full kitchen. But the best part is the location. The cabins are situated on a quiet and serene inlet, so you can sit on the back deck of the cabin and take in the amazing view. Plus, the property is an historic cannery that Justine and Mark are actively preserving. This adds a really great charm to the whole place, making this a very interesting place to stay. We highly recommend Cassiar Cannery -- it is well worth staying here if you are in the area, and is one of those places that you won't soon forget.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsugaPam
Prince George, Canada
1 review
“Eagles, seals and history”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Amazing and relaxing. We saw the listing in the Prince Rupert visitor guide and took a chance on a last minute vacancy. Amazing beautifully restored cabins so close to the water it laps underneath at high tide. We sat in the huge deck and watched the tides go in and out while Eagles flew all around us and seals popped up in the inlet. Super comfortable beds and all the kitchen comforts so we could make a fantastic meal of crab and salmon. Our hosts were delightful ...the right mix of hosting and letting us enjoy the beautiful surroundings. We wanted to stay longer and will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on the ocean
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa B
Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful, must see gem just off the beaten path”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had an amazing two week stay at Cassiar during our fishing trip this year. Mark and Justine are amazing hosts who will strive to assist in making your stay as memorable as possible. We stayed in the Coho House (1 bdrm) and enjoyed many nights relaxing on the deck watching sunset and water after a day of fishing. Very quiet and scenic property! Can’t wait to visit again next July!

The cannery is at the “end of the road” and is very secure, there is a gate at the entrance and two “guard” dogs (that are very friendly but just “look and sound mean”). The Rail Road goes through the property and we have been told that the passenger train can accommodate pickup/drop offs at the cannery. You can walk along the road and pick all sorts of berries, there are also some water falls on the sides of the roads that you can see if you look.

The cabins are very unique, and the beds are very comfortable. Some of the furnisher is made by hand from reclaimed wood that floats up the skeena river.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hospitality, hosts, relaxing, quiet, scenic stay.
Liked least: Road entering is a little bumpy - no fault of the owners - just have to take slow if towing boats. Very nice that it is at the end of the highway though!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyNeal
Makawao, Hawaii, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A delightful gem off the beaten path with true hospitality.”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

MIke and I loved our comfy bed with it's pristine, high-thread count sheets and fully operational kitchen. The deck was right on the Skeena River, and we were able to catch the Northern Lights in the clear, gorgeous night. Mark and Justine are wonderful hosts, friendly and helpful well beyond the minimum, and the setting of the old cannery is perfect for those who enjoy a comfortable accomodation in a wild and wonderful place where bald eagles perch on the nearby dock. Don't miss Cassiar Cannery! Read two fuller blog posts here:
http://tobyneal.net/2015/06/23/cassiar-cannery-day-7-of-mikeandtobytravels/

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing