We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restaurant”

Block Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #5 of 138 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Banff's newest hot spot bringing a menu of hearty rustic sandwiches for lunch and tapas for evening with a paired wine list and progressive cocktail menu.
Reviewed 5 March 2021 via mobile

Amazing restaurant.
Really small restaurant with a unique vibe to it. Drinks are great and food was excellent. Great service too and nice ambiance.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank fxsimardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2021

The menu is varied and all choices we had were delicious. The kitchen unfortunately, doesn't know how to manage the flow of the orders. We had spicy apps, followed by subtle pork rillettes when our tongues were still burning. The cold noodle salad dish came at the end, just as the hot Thai curry arrived. This would be a tasting menu disaster. Small dining space and limited tables. Reasonable service.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank must_travel_soon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2021

We order out once a week for takeout from local restaurants to support them during Covid. This was our second time with the Block in 2 weeks. It was Block burger night.
OVER THE TOP!!!! Burgers were amazing, fries best ever, and you have to have the Calamari! We will be back, during Covid and after. Thank you to Stephan and his team for serving original, creative and tasty food to Banff.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robertkN9371MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

We are not used to eating in our hotel room and feel the ambiance of the restaurant adds to the experience. Covid restrictions required us to order take out and were not disappointed. I we had the miso pork soup and duck drumsticks. So delicious. My daughter had the Udon soup and she said it was the best she ever had. This is saying something. The chicken yakisoba was 7 out of 10 and the yunagi bbq bowl was tasty with an 8 out of 10. I am gluten intolerant so I did have choices here.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2020 via mobile

Ok. So yes. Covid. We’re all trying. I get it. And at least Block is open for lunch. Because most of Banff is closed up now. But two burgers and fries in a box, one salad, and two pop. Over $50! Seriously. There’s nothing outrageously special about the takeout. So why the outrageous prices. I actually WANT to buy food here to support those that stay open. But I’m not keen on getting hosed while I do it. Banff is used to demand. And it should be. It’s beautiful. And the restaurants are used to commanding whatever price they want. And it continues even when the food is delivered in a box on the deserted sidewalk. Adjust please. We’re here for the week but not going back for the $50 Block burger lunch any time soon.

Date of visit: December 2020
2  Thank worldwidegneiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Block Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Block Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.