We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$429
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$427
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$383
View deal
Hotels.comUS$427
PricelineUS$427
TravelocityUS$427
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,565)
Filter reviews
2,565 results
Traveller rating
1,118
924
321
134
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,118
924
321
134
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub bedroom suite waffle maker living area hard boiled eggs free breakfast small kitchen standard room underground parking free bus pass downtown banff the main street close to downtown canadian rockies cave chillies cereal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,565 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2022

I had a chance to once again head to banff for business and some time with the family for 5 days and 4 nights. I chose a new place to stay (Fox Hotel and Suits) and booked a premium loft suit. The hotel was very accommodating to book the room and our late arrival.

Arriving in our room we noticed a few unclean items like the table , chairs, mirror and took a few minutes to wipe things down with dissenfecting wipes. Then, we went to use the sink and the tap was so loose it was almost falling off and it for a while wouldn't shut off until we positioned it just right.

Then, we went to open the pull out couch for the kids to sleep on...the stains on the grey couch were noticeable and the inside had dirt and debre from between the cushions.. could the kids sleep on the floor with a camping matress in the vehilce? No, that was dirty with plastic, dirt and stains...ok got the pull out matress wiped off, open and the sheets down and settled the kids in for just the night....we went upstairs...the taps to the shower just about fell off, but worked...standing in the shower the water in the tub started filling up about ankle depth in no time. The tub wasn't draining. A glob of hair and gue was creeping out of the drain. Gross. Ok we thought it's late, let's get some sleep and fix in the morning. Then into bed. What's that smell? It's the pillow. So stinky. Must have been sweat on or something else. Clean pillow case, but very smelly under pillow. Tossed it outside on the balcony. Got into bed with no pillow. Tired.

Got up in the morning itchy. Red dots on neck/skin. What the heck. My eyes were also so red and puffy. Not happy.

I went down to the desk and explained all the above and more to front desk. They said we would be refunded for the night and would get someone to clean the room. Very apologetic and said they would tell the manager and we would recieve a call.

Myslef and Family went for breakfast in the hotel at Chili's. Food was decent .

With still no contact back from the Fox we proceeded to find other accomodation and returned to our go to place at the Moose. We had to settle on a smaller room for the family, just to get out the Fox.

We checked out of the Fox. Lady checking us out was pleasant. She said they were willing to reduce our nites stay by 50% rather than the 100% previously expressed to me by the other front counter staff. By this time we were just happy to leave and paid the bill.

Please note that all we wanted was a clean healthy room for the family to stay in.

The moose was very clean and accomodating. At arrival they offered us to park the vehicle undrrground while our room was being prepared.

We remain to be at the moose for duration of the trip, hoping to hear about an available larger room.

With all the years staying in Banff at various hotels the experiences were always great until the Fox.

Please keep in mind the Fox lobby and restaurant were fine. The general architecture and layout was nice. The nite staff at the front desk allowed us to park at the front drive area while the underground parking was full.

We never had a chance to try the outdoor hot tub.

Staff were generally pleasant but inconsistent. We never did hear back from the manager on our concerns and issues left with the front desk staff.

The 4th floor premium loft suit was really dirty and the plumbing sink and tub were in disrepair. The pillow and glob of hair in the tub drain was the last straw.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 March 2022 via mobile

The rooms at this hotel are very small. They all have room doors that open up to the outside. The rooms have no sound proofing so you hear you neighbors go to the washroom and hear others talking in adjacent rooms as well as others TV’s. You can also hear people all night long talking as they walk back and forth to their rooms. If you want a restful sleep, this is not the hotel for you. The rooms are outdated, my toilet handle was almost impossible to flush, tub does not drain properly, iron did not work, no smart TV’s, worn out carpets and rough towels. The couch was stained and the rooms needs updates. At $200 a night there are better options in Banff but you got to search because most hotels in Banff along the strip are old and outdated except the new Moose Hotel. The free breakfast was also terrible. Cold boiled eggs, poor quality fruit bowl, cheap bread, waffle makers that looked disgusting. Servers only attend to those paying for breakfast, the rest are seated and forgotten, waited 15 mins to get coffee and it was barely lukewarm. Would not stay here again.

Room tip: Almost all restaurants close at 10 pm. Chilies Restaurant won’t let you in well before 10 pm.
Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank JayfromCowtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sahil C, Guest Services / Front Office at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2022

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay with us JayfromCowtown. I am so sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay here and I do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered as well. I do hope that you notified the front desk during the stay so we could promptly address your concerns and provide some resolution as well. Once again I do apologize for the troubles and hope that you were able to enjoy your time here otherwise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2022

Overall, the Fox Hotel is a pretty decent spot to stay in Banff. If you’re looking for casual ski lodge, this is definitely it. Not sure if it just was the weekend we stayed, but there seemed to be a lot of large parties (and by parties I mean also ). Good proximity to Banff Ave shops, though Moose would bring you closer and is definitely more upscale at first glance. Room was super clean and bed very comfortable. Also loved that they had an iron and a fan in the room.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dccrandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sahil C, Guest Services / Front Office at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review and provide feedback for your recent stay with us dccrandell. My apologies for any inconveniences caused by the noisy group of people, I hope you notified the front desk so we could promptly address it. However, I am happy to see you enjoyed your time here otherwise. We really appreciate your support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2022

We stayed in a two bedroom loft unit . The service from reception was great . The bed was comfortable .
The unit was not clean , The pull out couch was disgusting ! I would not sit on it without covering it first . It needs to be replaced . The rug on the floor was very dirty and the floor under the rug had not been cleaned in a very long time . When we pulled back the covers of the king bed in the loft false eyelashes were found in the sheets , maybe went through the laundry ? (Hopefully)
We had intended to bring a baby with us but I am glad we didn’t as I would not put a small child down in this unit .
The walls around the sinks in the washrooms were not clean.
The light in the stair way did not work . The heating was difficult to adjust .

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank K3384QUwilliamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sahil C, Guest Services / Front Office at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review and provide valuable feedback for your recent stay with us K3384QUwilliamh. I am ever so sorry that you came across these issues and I assure you that we will follow up with our housekeeping team for the same. This is not our usual standard but it is unfortunate that our housekeeping team missed out on the said things. I appreciate you bringing it to our attention so we can address these concerns and improve on ourselves for the future. Once again my apologies for the inconveniences and hope you enjoyed your time here otherwise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2022 via mobile

We stayed for new year as a family of six. We had a 2 bedroom suite with 2 doubles and a king size plus the sofa also 2 balconies. Really nice layout and facilities. The heating in one of the rooms wasn’t great and the bathroom was a little tired but all in all very nice.
Car parking lot spaces are limited but there is street parking.
Reception welcomed us really well and the staff were lovely. Breakfast buffet was great- the kids loved making their own waffles. We also had a chilys room service- excellent food and service. Ready and delivered in less than 30 minutes.
The pools in the basement are lovely. They get busy so time it to arrive early afternoon or late evening.
All in all a great place to stay- a reasonable price and good facilities.

Room tip: Street parking so can get cold for a winter stay. The suites have microwave, fridge, cutlery, kettle and coffee machine.
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank janeyecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sahil C, Guest Services / Front Office at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us Janeyecc. My apologies for any inconveniences due to the heating but I hope you notified us at the desk so we could promptly fix that for you. However I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we certainly appreciate you mentioning our staff. It is always wonderful to hear when our team members have aided in making the experience better for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews