We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Cottage”

Review of Bracken Cottage

Bracken Cottage from gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bracken Cottage from gate
Bracken Cottage in winter sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Bracken Cottage from gate
Bracken Cottage in winter
sitting room
Kitchen
Main Bedroom
main bedroom view
surrounding area
Bathroom
breakfast bar
bedroom 2
bedroom 3
bedroom 3
bedroom 4
reception area
Dining Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Sway, Brockenhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Inspire59...
1 review
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location for a family holiday....beaches, shopping, cycling.The cottage had a lovely feel and was a perfect size for 4 adults and 4 teenagers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delicia S
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage - we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We spent two nights at Bracken Cottage. It was very easy to find and is a 10 minute drive to Lymington and 25 minute drive to Beaulieu high street. The beds were comfortable and rooms were tidy. The bathroom was a good size, despite only having one bathroom for a cottage that can sleep eight people. There's a toilet downstairs though, which is good. The cottage has a decent boiler which meant that we were all able to have a good hot shower. The kitchen is a good size and you could happily self-cater as the kitchen has everything! We ended up using the microwave to heat our water (as the kettle was too limescale-like for our liking so bring a de-scaler / some vinegar if you are fussy like us!). There are two fridges in the kitchen and one in the garage, so ample space to keep food and drink chilled. There's space for a BBQ in the garden which is lovely, with a picnic bench outside. Expect the electricity to go out as it is the country side! That said, it only happened for a few hours during the day, and you'd probably be enjoying some cycling or canoeing in that time anyway...

Communication wise - Johnathan was great and got everything sorted pretty quickly. He also gave us some good recommendations for things to do around the area. If I visited the New Forest again, I would definitely stay in Bracken Cottage again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M
Blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Large Family Cottage”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ideal large family cottage, 4 good bedrooms, we were a party of 8 and had plenty of room. The property was very clean throughout and as an added bonus many extras were supplied, from dishwasher tablets to BBQ coals and use of fold up chairs etc.
Good location for coastal towns of Lymington and Christchurch, easy access to all New Forest Villages, 30 mins to Bournemouth and about an hours drive to Portsmouth Docks.
Had a great stay despite the British weather and would certainly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith f
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An ideal location in the New Forest.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Bracken Cottage is an ideal location, comfortable and well appointed. If you have a dog then you can be assured that the garden is secure and no chance of any "escapes".
From the front gate you can watch ponies and other animals, as they graze on the other side of the road.
Being the New Forest you have plenty of delightful walks on the door step. A short car ride and you have a choice of many beaches, dogs welcome on most.
We were lucky to have good weather for our stay and took advantage of the barbecue provided by the owner.
We would recommend Bracken Cottage as an ideal place to stay and are sure that you will find Johnathan the owner, as welcoming as we did.
A place that we would go back to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: It rained for 20 minutes (you can't have it good all the time)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maude_cha...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed with a group of friends at Bracken Cottage. The cottage was clean and comfortable and the surroundings were lovely. The owner was very hospitable and made sure that we were comfortable and had all we needed due to the very bad weather. We would definately recommend this to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was clean and comfortable and the open fire was lovely.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing