We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely Cottage in Peaceful Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy double bedroom
The sunny, south-facing, private terrace The private terrace leading straight out onto the gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Cosy double bedroom
The sunny, south-facing, private terrace
The private terrace leading straight out onto the gardens
Dining area onto patio doors
Kitchen
The front of Nuthatch Cottage
The bathroom
Tennis court
Hidden Lakes - Lower Lake
Hidden Lakes - Upper Lake
Picnic down the lakes
Part of the gardens
Dog friendly Sandymouth Beach
Wild flowers from the meadow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bradworthy, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Homely Cottage in Peaceful Location”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cottage and its rural location are perfect for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We found it very clean, homely and very well equipped. The hosts have clearly thought of everything and put a lot of effort into making it a welcoming and pleasant place to spend time.

A few minutes walk from the cottage there are the cabin and lakes. The cabin is well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, and even fish food so you can feed the fish while sitting by the lakeside. A very relaxing place to sit - either outside next to the lake or in the cabin if it's raining.

The Bradworthy Inn is a convenient five minutes drive away and sells pub food which we enjoyed on more than one occasion. We also enjoyed the coastal paths of Sandymouth, which is about a half hour drive away.

The hosts (including their little dog Scarlet) are welcoming and friendly. Sarah greeted us on arrival and gave us useful information about the area / local attractions.

Highly recommended and hope to return in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Sar...
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage ,lovely spot,and great hosts!”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a week at Nuthatch cottage with our two dogs and had a wonderful stay. The cottage is cosy and well equipped.( We even managed to cook a full roast dinner!)Simon and Sarah were warm and welcoming hosts and there was lots of info on the area including walks for the dogs. The lakes are beautiful and very handy.The only thing we would suggest is to take your own towels as they arn't provided as standard. All in all ( apart from 2 days solid rain!) a thoroughly enjoyable visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Hi Karen, It was our pleasure to host you at Nuthatch. Your dogs were so good. We are so glad you enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the setting and the lakes are so wonderful. Yes, please bring personal towels but all other linen and kitchen necessities are provided. We would love to welcome you back again soon. With best wishes
Simon and Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon W
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely dog friendly holiday cottage”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A very comfortable 3 night stay at Nuthatch cottage with my wife and our two Westies. The little touches were appreciated with dog treats labelled 'woof' and lovely biscuits for us. There was enough milk in fridge to make a cup of tea on arrival. Open plan kitchen and lounge opened out on to lovely garden. Large enough for dogs to run around. Even has a tennis court in the middle of it. Simon and Sarah (the owners) were attentive and made us welcome. Lovely private large ponds/lake within 100 yards of accommodation for short walk nearby. We look forward to visiting again next time we want a quite weekend escape.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
It was a great pleasure to welcome you here and we are so pleased you had a peaceful and relaxing stay - what it is all about. Hamish and Hattie enjoyed the garden and lakes with meadow so they had a great time too. We look forward very much to welcoming you back. Simon and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evieturne...
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Nuthatch Cottage in july for a week .
The owners Leslie and Pete & their lovely dog Lexi made us feel very welcome .They really have thought of Everything ! the cottage is furnished with Everything you could imagine .Lots of information on the area, maps ,lovely safe gardens for our dog Hercules & if you wish a private fishing lake !.
we loved our stay .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: they supply everything tennis rackets ,washingup liquid ,torch ,you name it they supply it wonderful !.
Liked least: having to leave .
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thanks Evie & Dave, it was a pleasure having you to stay. Really glad you enjoyed your holiday and I do hope Lexi and Hercules will have the chance to meet again and have a good race around the garden once more!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lainey40
Plaxtol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday, great hosts”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week at Nuthatch cottage, Lesley and Pete gave us a very warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage was very cosy and comfortable and the garden was lovely. Holly our miniture Labradoodle had a brilliant time running round the garden with the resident dogs Lexi and Sam. the local pub the Bradworthy Inn had good pub grub and also very freindly locals, who made us feel very welcome and gave us some great local places to visit with our dog. Couldn't have asked for a more comfortable and freindly place to stay. Thank you all for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience, especially very dog freindly
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We really enjoyed having the three of you to stay and Lexi is seriously missing Holly! Hope we can welcome you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing