We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for a pre "Christmas" get together”

Review of Old Beams

The Old Beams
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Beams
The Main Lounge 2 The Main Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Old Beams
The Main Lounge 2
The Main Lounge
The Study (through view from the snug)
The Kitchen/Breakfast Room
The Conservatory/Dining Room
The Conservatory/Dining Room 2
Second En suite Bedroom
Master En suite-Bedroom
En suite (all have large cast-iron baths)
The Lawn
The Garden/Water Feature
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Waterhouses, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helliwell...
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great place for a pre "Christmas" get together”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We go away every year as a group (10) and struggle to find a property with 5 bedrooms all with ensuite facilities. Old Beams was brilliant. It has 6 bedrooms but 2 are on the top floor served by 1 bathroom so private for the 1 bedroom used.
The downstairs bedroom would be very useful for people with mobility issues.

The house is brilliant, very comfortable. The large conservatory was great, table would sit 12, we only needed 10. Lovely lighting and fairy lights round the window made is sparkly as we sat down to dinner. Kitchen very well stocked with cutlery and crockery etc, I don't think there was anything that we needed that they didn't have.
Dishwasher, 2 fridges and 1 freezer. Microwave has convection oven facility so technically another small oven which was good.
Very good range of games supplied.
Lovely open fire and large basket of logs, firelighters supplied to start us off.
Bedrooms very comfortable, although 2 of them could do with an over the bath shower as they only had baths, but there were other good showers so no one went without for a shower. Every bedroom was supplied with Baylis and Harding soap and hand lotion which was kind.
The large car park at the side was excellent as sometime we have struggled to find properties with sufficient carparking.
Owner Mark called in just after we had arrived to see we were ok and had any problems and said not to hesitate to call him or Helen if there were.
First evening we went to the local pub (Ye Olde Crown Inn, separate review) which was only 5 mins away.
Saturday we had our "Christmas" morning full breakfast, later on full 3 course "Christmas" meal, no problems with the preparation and cooking for 10 people in the kitchen etc.
We would all certainly recommend this property to anyone and are happy to answer any questions from other reviewers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: It would have been nice to have a downstairs loo, other than the one in the downstairs bedroom.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Old Beams, and hope to welcome you again another time.
Regards, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraz S
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic cottage!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The cottage was amazing, especially the large dining room conservatory - cant recommend it highly enough!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Thanks for your review! It's appreciated.
We're glad you enjoyed Old Beams!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Thank you for your great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed Old Beams and that your mother enjoyed her celebrations. We hope to welcome you back again sometime.
Best wishes, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review. It's always lovely to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay at Old Beams.
Best wishes, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emily F
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a brilliant long weekend at Old Beams with 11 adults. A really great house with everything we needed! Everything was spotless when we arrived and the owners were very helpful - even lending us forgotten shopping items :)
The house is in a great location and very easy to find. Some of us went to Alton Towers, which is just round the corner, and some of us went horse riding. Also in some lovely countryside so there really is something for everyone!
I'd be more than happy to recommend it to friends or stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen / downstairs shower
Liked least: Living room was quite snug for 11 adults to be in at the same time
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Old Beams, and that everything was to your satisfaction.
Best wishes, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing