We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
113
20
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
20
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dairy cottage hive beach arts and crafts gardeners cottage lyme regis family party extractor fan outdoor space useful information beautiful coastline beautiful area west dorset short drive four nights friendly owners fossil hunting jurassic coast
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Norburton Hall was recommended to us by a previous couple that return on a yearly basis to this tranquil location. As keen walkers we found this location to be a perfect base for exploring the Jurassic coast and 'The Stables' to be a real 'home from home' experience especially when all we wanted to do every evening was relax and chill out with some good food and a glass of wine after trekking the beautiful coastline each day. The stable amenities made our stay effortless and the bed was particularly comfortable. Kitchen is well equipped and the table and chairs outside is a lovely 'alfresco' touch. Wi-Fi is limited but to be honest it's a great excuse to switch off from the everyday world. We would highly recommend Norburton Hall to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and chill out location in Dorset.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michej774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenVenn, Owner at Norburton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Thank you for recommending us to anyone looking for a relaxing break in Dorset. So glad to hear that it was the perfect base for you and a home from home. Thanks to your friends for recommending us to you, too, we really appreciate that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

This is the fourth time we have stayed at one of the facilities at Norburton Hall and the second time at the stables.... The accommodation is very clean cosy and wecoming and a great base to explore many places along the Jurassic coast!!! The grounds are very well kept and pleasant to explore, plus a quick walk into the village of Burton Bradstock takes you to two local pubs with excellent food!! The Anchor pub in particular has an amazing fish menu. On our arrival we are met by Karen who is very passionate about the running of Norburton Hall and is keen to help wherever possible to make our stay the best it can be. We will be returning and will recommend this very pleasant experience to family and friends.

Room Tip: Wifi is included but not always able to get a strong service
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claireeady1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenVenn, Owner at Norburton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Thank you for a wonderful review - it's always good to welcome you back and we really appreciate being recommended to family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We stayed in the ground floor stables. Well furnished and lit IKEA style. Cushions and pillows all feather and need replacing, we got ours swopped. Towels tiny and not changed during weeks stay. We asked for larger ones. No views of gardens, just 2 old cast iron chairs on the tiny weedy crazy paved patio which get sun for about 1 hour a day.No useful information in room just old leaflets. Not even a timetable for the excellent Jurassic Coast bus service.
Lovely grounds but no real seating in them. Bring your own outside chairs to use in the garden (and nearby beach). Every movement of people upstairs could be heard. The lawns were mowed but the plant growth around all the properties has got out of hand with climbers obscuring windows and outside lights. Not a flower to be seen - outside pots just had weeds in them. Gave the impression of neglect, WiFi and phone signal almost non-existent plus to cap it all bin men don't come here so you have to take your rubbish away with you and dispose of it. But great location and grounds would be nice to use if you are in a group and bring your own chairs!

Room Tip: Stables both up and downstairs don't have good views or sit outs. Larger properties look better
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenVenn, Owner at Norburton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments about the grounds and the great location. Our gardener has worked for The Royal Parks and tends to all of our pots and topiary helping to choose fragrant shrubs and plants to enhance the garden all year round. We have numerous picnic benches and more formal benches, hand-crafted from 100 year old trees grown here, and these are placed in sunny spots on formal patios. There is also a swing seat from Sitting Spiritually that guests have enjoyed using. I regularly post photographs on our Facebook page featuring our gardens to help our guests know what to expect when they arrive.

I am sorry that there appears to have been some miscommunication during your stay. After I had addressed a couple of issues that were concerning you, you said that everything was to your satisfaction and that you found the accommodation very comfortable so your review contains a few puzzling elements.

We have a number of compost bins and encourage guests to recycle. We had discussed how to find the dustbin so I am surprised that you thought you needed to take your rubbish away.

In common with most self-catering cottages, we change towels on a weekly basis. Our cottages have gold awards and are rated as either 4 or 5 star standard by VisitEngland which means they have to be well-equipped with washing machines and dryers. We can also offer additional service cleans by arrangement.

All of our cottages have a print-out of our website information, and copies of local guide books, including Bradt’s ‘Slow Dorset’ where we are described as ‘the kind of self-catering accommodation that travellers always hope to find and seldom do.’ The bus timetable was the most recent one available at the time of your visit, a new one was issued shortly after.

Vodafone has good network coverage in this area and we do advise where other networks can be accessed. We have also installed Superfast Broadband. We have experienced some teething problems with signal strength inside a couple of our cottages but in those cases it is possible to access wi-fi from the patios immediately outside. We have spoken to BT and we are currently experimenting with switching channels on our main router to increase signal strength.

I am sorry that all of the above was not made clear during your stay. When you came to say goodbye I was told you’d had an enjoyable time and, as you know, as hosts we are easily accessible and are always pleased to offer the highest level of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We were 6 couples in a mix of our own or shared cottages. Our ways the Hayloft, perfect for 2 and we were allowed to bring our dog, perfect. The grounds are charming and an easy walk to the local pubs and to the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielvG9443PZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenVenn, Owner at Norburton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Thank you for a perfect review. I'm so glad that you'll have lots of happy memories of the special celebration, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

We needed to find accomodation for 6 fussy couples to celebrate our great friends 60 th Birthday....so we took all the accomodation at Norburton Hall each couple having their own "cottage" and excellent facilities except for Gardeners Cottage which housed 2 couples ,separate facilities - it normally accomodates 8! and its where we entertained the rest of the party. Drinks a celebratory dinner ( outside caterers provided and very good it was too ) and general gathering. It worked splendidly...everyone had their space yet we were altogether and everything was of a very high standard,fixtures and fittings,comfortable beds and space...
It is a very peaceful part of Dorset and a very well run operation ...Mrs Karen Venn was extremely welcoming and helpful both when we researched the property last October and throughout our stay.Thoroughly recommended by our whole party...
We will certainly be back...we know the area because of the excellent seafood restaurant The HIve and now the relatively new Seaside Boarding House both close to the sea and where we had two excellent meals. The outside caterers recommended by Karen were The Hungry Mule very good quality catering
and lots of it.....So whether a couple or a party you will find unique and peaceful accomodation at Norburton Hall ...oh and everything is within easy walking distance should you be so inclined most of our party were!

Room Tip: Norbuton Hall and the accomodation buildings clustered around the main building are all delightful and parking is good
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wab7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenVenn, Owner at Norburton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Thank you for your glowing review regarding both our accommodation and the location. I am sure lots of people who haven't stayed here yet will find your feedback really useful. Also many thanks for choosing to host such a special occasion here - I know lots of research went into it and I was pleased to help. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews