We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
11
5
1
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
5
1
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2020

We went there on our way back to Christchurch ,and what a wonderful evening we had ,the welcome ,food incredible ,and the staff and owner were so pleasant we could not fault it .The owner informed us that he had been to the U.K. working and was a great guy .

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinkH8346LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2020

A group of 8 of us had dinner at the Springfield hotel to celebrate a birthday.

This is a long drive out of Christchurch, but worth the effort – particularly on a lovely late summer evening with such lovely scenery.

This hotel, in the small village of Springfield, excels in providing top quality food, prepared and presented to an excellent high standard.

The hostess (owner?) was very welcoming and service from her staff was very good.
I had a terrific salad containing original ingredients and my wife enjoyed a top quality ribeye steak.
All others in our group appeared very happy with their choices.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2020

We rode our bikes down from where we were staying on our last night on the South Island and it was such a great finish. As vegetarians, we don't hold high hopes for pub meals generally - we prepare for pasta, pizza or salad but here, we were greeted by the awesome Michelle and the wonderful Shelley, along with a creative stuffed peppers meal with rice, corn tortillas, black beans and sour cream. Delicious! We played a game of pool, had great chats with the two Shells and felt like we were home. Thanks Springfield Hotel for adding to our amazing time away.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Service
1  Thank LissieAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2019 via mobile

A huge thanks to the Srpingfeild Hotel who fitted 23 tired climbers in for a meal with an hours notice.

We were warmly greeted and very quickly the owner knew our names and had us settled in a separate room from the main bar. They had advised up front that they would need to stagger the cooking but we got the kids meals underway first and brought out some complimentary Abe’s bagel crisps for the others.

The food was great, large portions and nice and hearty. They also catered for the wide range of dietary needs in the group, from vegetarian to gluten free.

I would thoroughly recommend a visit here for a meal or a drink if you find yourself in this beautiful part of the country.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank andreamN4158VZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2019

This is not "pub grub". We always enjoy having dinner here. Really. good food and great value.
The gnocchi is superb, and my husband always enjoys the chicken curry.

Well worth stopping after a day's skiing

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sam3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews