We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
11
5
1
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
5
1
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2020

We rode our bikes down from where we were staying on our last night on the South Island and it was such a great finish. As vegetarians, we don't hold high hopes for pub meals generally - we prepare for pasta, pizza or salad but here, we were greeted by the awesome Michelle and the wonderful Shelley, along with a creative stuffed peppers meal with rice, corn tortillas, black beans and sour cream. Delicious! We played a game of pool, had great chats with the two Shells and felt like we were home. Thanks Springfield Hotel for adding to our amazing time away.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Service
1  Thank LissieAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2019 via mobile

A huge thanks to the Srpingfeild Hotel who fitted 23 tired climbers in for a meal with an hours notice.

We were warmly greeted and very quickly the owner knew our names and had us settled in a separate room from the main bar. They had advised up front that they would need to stagger the cooking but we got the kids meals underway first and brought out some complimentary Abe’s bagel crisps for the others.

The food was great, large portions and nice and hearty. They also catered for the wide range of dietary needs in the group, from vegetarian to gluten free.

I would thoroughly recommend a visit here for a meal or a drink if you find yourself in this beautiful part of the country.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank andreamN4158VZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2019

This is not "pub grub". We always enjoy having dinner here. Really. good food and great value.
The gnocchi is superb, and my husband always enjoys the chicken curry.

Well worth stopping after a day's skiing

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sam3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

We were fully prepared to have dinner and drinks, seeing as we were staying near by ... but the moment we walked in the staff member immediately said “we’re closing very soon” in what felt like a fairly matter of fact/ rude matter. Ultimately letting us and another couple walk out.

Yes it’s a Monday, but it’s January and heaps of people are still on holiday and it was only 7:20am

Sad that you can’t visit a local pub after 7pm.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DeeeeThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Old style pub with good old fashion hospitality
Amazing huge meals (Rib-eye was just divine)
Rooms - clean, warm fresh towels every day
Bathroom - clean and a mighty powerful hot shower
Real tea and coffee in lounge with microwave, toaster, TV, DVD etc
great pub downstairs with huge TV for live rugby
Fabulous company - made to feel very welcome

Room tip: All rooms are good - just say what you are looking for :)
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews