We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Nearby Hotels
Marival Resort & Suites(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$238
US$190
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$672
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$506
US$378
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$264
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$232
US$190
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$336
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$420
US$133
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
US$238
US$215
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,749)
Filter reviews
3,749 results
Traveller rating
1,910
1,212
371
147
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,910
1,212
371
147
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubfirst clubla haciendale buffetitalian restaurantmall across the streetadult poollounge barsmaller resorttime sharevacation clubthe general managerspecial thanksocean viewrecommend this resortall inclusive resortnightly entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 3,749 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were recently at this resort for 10 days. We did upgrade to the royal on the 3rd day and were so happy we did. After a few frustrating encounters with the front desk staff we were so pleased with the concerige assistance at this level. The cabanas by the ocean and the royal level pool were divine. We would really like to single out the morning staff at the Royal Level restaurant. Aracely, Marela, Anahi and chef Yessi you are simply the best! You made the start of the day perfect on so many levels. We hope to visit you all again soon.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sherri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sherri

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental Nuevo Vallarta hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice area to visit. Beach area clean and comfortable. Grounds well maintained. Staff very friendly. We stayed in a one bedroom unit which had a nice outdoor deck overlooking the beach. Great entertainment in the evening loved the Mexican night show, we were able to watch it from our patio!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sharon

First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Nuevo Vallarta hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the options of things to do and yet the areas to have peace a quiet to relax on the beach or by the pool! The room was clean and comfortable. The entertainment at night was awesome and so many options for things to do right at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank devilbill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear devilbill10

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it’s amazing to know that we were able to make your holidays special and you enjoyed at fullest. Once again thank you for sharing your comments about your visit, we would love to serve you again at your next holidays in town.

Sincerely

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our Family travelled to this resort in Mid April. We had a wonderful time and would recommend this place to anyone. Now the resort itself is not big, which we loved because everything was a short walk away. The buffet was very good for the size it was. If you look at the gallery photos or videos you'll see its not very large.

a la cart - here what you need to know about the specialty restaurants. The Mariachi (mexican grill) is situated on the beach and has a gorgeous sunset but it was the worst food and service we've ever had any vacation, couldn't even give you a reason why it was so bad. The Tokyo and the Les Olives was perfect. I would love to give out a shout out to the two managers because they're fantastic. We were a group of 6 that loved to party and take lots of shots and they were very quick with the service. Food was fantastic, fresh tuna and salmon for sushi and unreal steak and MaHi MaHi on the grill. We ended up going to these two restaurants several times.

Bar Service- as mentioned before we liked to have s good time and we loved getting out beers and mixed drinks in a timely fashion. Our daily spot was on the beach but close to the pool as well and we had the best service ever. Aurelio was a great bartender, and martin, peewee and Fernando were our beach drink guys. Ask them about their specialty shots, they were delicious and service was out of this world.


DOWNFALL-
We booked our flight through Air Canada and when we booked it there were some perks that we were supposed to get like extra WIFI days and Late check out etc. The concierge staff ended up arguing every single thing we asked for or was suppose to be part of out travel package. If you plan to make a request to the front desk staff don't expect it be done. Theres only one pool unless you're part of the royal club.

OVER ALL GREAT FOOD, GREAT SERVICE, GREAT RESORT.

Ps. to the staff Ivan and Family would like to thank you for a memorable week, hope to see you guys next year.

Room Tip: choose rooms over looking the pool close the elevators. They have been upgraded and they all pretty much have ocean views.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andriy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Andriy

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our trip was amazing. Our group included three girls and stayed in one room in the royal level.
First, the hotel would not be as great without the excellent staff. The staff was very helpful, friendly, and genuinely kind. They made sure we were always happy and satisfied. I'm not sure if this was because we were in the royal level, and most of our experience were with the staff members in the royal level, but I'd say everyone was very great. Special shout out to Julio, Augustine, and Manuel for excellent service and genuine kindness at the Royal Level Bar. Adrianna was also great for the Royal Level concierge.
The restaurants were good overall. The best restaurants were Los Olivos and the Royal Level Restaurant (on the 7th floor). They both had very delicious food and many options to choose from, which was great for dietary restrictions and if you were to eat at the restaurant more than once. Our group got a variety a food, and I’d say mostly everything was delicious. The service was amazing, but the long wait for your food was not that much fun. Having a five course meal most meals was definitely another plus. The other restaurants, including Tokyo and Le Buffet, were pretty good. At the Tokyo restaurant, we reserved a spot for the Sushi side, not the hibachi side. We didn’t eat at La Hacienda for dinner, but tried the snack bar during the day. I’d recommend Le Buffet for lunch over the snack bar at La Hacienda for lunch.
Our meal plan for the day included, breakfast every morning at the Royal Level Restaurant, which was convenient because instead of walking outside and go to Le Buffet we just went up one floor in the hotel. They had many breakfast options. Then for lunch we went either to Le Buffet, La Hacienda snack bar, or the Royal Level Restaurant. I’d recommend Le Buffet over La Hacienda snack bar and the Royal Level Restaurant for lunch. Lastly, for dinner we ate at Tokyo, Los Olivos, and The Royal Level Restaurant. We enjoyed all three. One negative review would be the reservations. You had to make a reservation to eat dinner every day and had to be done by 3pm. You couldn’t just walk in to the restaurant for dinner. It was a bit annoying if we forgot because the staff made it seem like they didn’t have enough spots if you made last minute reservations and had to eat at like 8/9pm.
The entertainment staff was very kind and had fun things going on each day. We didn’t try too many activities, but they seemed fun. They have limited number of kayaks, paddle boards, etc. but it was nice to have access to them for free.
The rooms were good for us three. They were clean and had little fun perks like waters, slippers, and bath robes.
For the Royal Level, the question of whether or not to upgrade—I’d say yes! It wasn’t much more money to upgrade for the week and upgrading included: access to Royal Level restaurant, personal concierge (which was helpful for check in we didn’t have to wait), Royal Level pool and bar area (which was much better than sitting at the other pool. The service was great and accommodating. You could pretty much ask the bartenders to make you any drink with whatever type of alcohol. The alcohol selection was also much better in the Royal Level), access to cabanas on the beach (amazing!), and free wifi (which you could pay about $10/day if you want it). You were given a black wristband for access to these areas. If you didn’t have a royal wristband, you couldn’t be in the areas. We were always being checked up on for any drinks or anything we wanted—it was great, kind of felt like royalty!
Side note on tipping. We brought ($100 USD/each) of dollar bills and tipped for drinks and meals. Maybe 1-3USD per round of drinks and 4-5USD per meal time. We didn’t tip every time we drank, but a lot. Also, you can go on excursions through different companies ie Vallarta Adventure. They have a representative in the hotel to discuss options, which was very helpful! We went to Las Caletas for the day and it was great! I’d recommend it! Lastly, we booked our vacation through Costco travel, which was the cheapest option and am so happy we did so. Costco provided transportation to/from the airport and were super helpful with booking. Overall, we loved our vacation and mostly due to the amazing staff and the beautiful city of Puerto Vallarta. It’s a great town and we felt not only safe, but very welcomed.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank smihalk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear smihalk0

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews