We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,046)
Filter reviews
10,046 results
Traveller rating
5,401
2,830
1,013
452
350
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,401
2,830
1,013
452
350
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaya beachcoba buildingfishplaya del carmenspanish restaurantother resortsrancho grandea la carte restaurantscaptain morganslobby barbeach buffetmini golfbeach sectionsteakbeautiful resortbuffet foodpalm trees
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 10,046 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Excellent resort with great pools, swim up bar and beach. The food was good but not great and our room needed to be updated, but was comfortable. Staff were very friendly and the resort was very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear Jason,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics.

We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This is a great resort for family! There is so much for the kids to do right at the resort that you never need to leave if you do not want to do excursions! Most bang for your family buck is this resort! Hands down!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank desascott15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear desascott15,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

This is the worst hotel you can ever stay at. The service is horrible. Everyone is rude. If you stay at any other place other than maya it’s not a real All inclusive because you only get to eat at two restaurants for dinner. Really? Horrible. Don’t ever stay here!!!! Waste of money.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank An N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear An,

We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Barceló Maya Beach hotel, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity.

We understand reading your review that apprently you were not properly informed about your All Inclusive type of meal plan upon reservation and would like to take the opportunity to point out that,as reported on our website, the All Inclusive is related to drinks, meals , snacks and the entertainment program. There are 8 specialty restaurants and 4 buffet where you could go for dinner.

It is with great concern that we read your comments about our staff mostly because their service has been praised many times for their professionalism yet genuine friendliness and we assure you that what you described is not the norm for us. We appreciate you taking the time to notify us of your personal expérience and rest assured that your review will be discussed with all departmental managers for evaluation and action as needed.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We just returned from 8 days at Barcelo Maya Beach. I hadn't visited this resort in over 10 years and overall probably wouldn't return for another 10 years unless there was an incredible deal.

Pros:
-Huge resort with lots of pools, never really an issue getting a seat although prime spots still have towels on them all day with no one ever sitting in them.
-Lots of beach with plenty of palm trees, again no issue getting seats. They clean up this area well. The exception is the seaweed which is completely out of their control, it was coming in much faster then anyone could keep up with.
-Maintenance issues were dealt with very timely, however it took 2 attempts to resolve the issue with the TV.
-The Japanese restaurant (either one) is very good and much higher quality then any meal a la cart or buffet.
-Plenty of places to grab a drink, never waiting long to get a drink.
-Premium room was spacious but cons or rooms noted below.
-Grounds are well taken care of
-Very clean

Cons:
- Bed sheets in premium feel like plastic, feels like you are laying on plastic under sheets. It is not at all a heavenly bed and very uncomfortable for 2 people, we had 2 beds.
-Bathrooms are not private, the entire bathroom is open with a glass door to shower and toilet side by side. I bet we wasted 50 gallons running the water so we wouldn't have every moment listened to while wanting some privacy. Adding a door would make sense and by not having one adds really no design advantages in my opinion.
-Buffets: As an American that considers Texas Roadhouse, Chili's, Pei Wei to be average restaurants, and Golden Corral, Burger King, McDonald's to be below average quality food, I would consider the buffets to be even lower then the lowest scale. I did lose weight which is good, and ate lots of fruit. I found the buffet food to look unappetizing, overcooked, low quality, and questionable. Mashed potatoes were very hit or miss, pizza was yellow, hamburgers looked like anything else but beef, fish was dry, and the beef steak as they called it for grill did not like like any beef you'd find here at grocery store as it was purple and slimy and honestly steered clear.
-Strikers late night buffet: This was honestly insulting as a consumer, the quality of food they just throw together and serve here is shameful. For example they had something that looked like breaded chicken maybe, it was burnt, very dry, sat out untouched as it should have been for hours, hot dogs were raw when added to heat rollers, and even new items they added that should have been hot were ice cold.
-A La Carts: Mexican servers risotto that was just Mexican rice in red broth, it was terrible. The steakhouse served a really nice tenderloin but my wife got a pork chop that was paper thin, over cooked, and so dry we couldn't cut it. All served with the smallest baked potato I have ever seen.
-Finding out what is going on in a resort so big seems impossible. Maybe I missed it but I could not find a document or board that listed all the activities in one place. We found one board that listed pool side activities and beach activities but obviously was outdated and not followed. Suggestion here add a channel to TV so people can view what is going on like shows, theme for buffet, and if one of the other 4 resorts has something different list it them as well. This was very frustrating as we missed many things we might have done if we had known about them.
-Drink quality at the pool bars was just average if you get mixed drinks or frozen drinks.
-Pepsi instead of delicious Mexican Coke. :(

In closing I really wanted to like this resort, I always show up on vacation open minded and wanting to just enjoy the sun, beach and pool. Many resorts can give you that in the Mexican Riviera. If you are coming for that you will be fine here or a 2 dozen other resorts in the area. The food was disappointing and done cheaply in my opinion.

Stayed: June 2018
2  Thank mindelicato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear mindelicato,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Maya Beach for your holidays in the Mayan Riviera and for letting us know your concerns relating to your time in our hotel as it gives us an opportunity to look at areas which may have for improvement and for that we are grateful.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

A great place to take the family for vacation. Nice rooms, pools, restaurants and friendly staff. I would definitely stay again. Tokyo was my favorite restaurant. It is hibachi style and the chefs are on top of their game. The pools had scheduled events for everyone to join in and is kid friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank TaterSalad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear TaterSalad69,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Maya Beach hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 

Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews