We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$346
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$346
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
US$457
US$438
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
US$456
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
LM by Inmense(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aventuras Club(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Mom's House(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa La Porta(Puerto Aventuras)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (9,633)
Filter reviews
9,633 results
Traveller rating
5,138
2,752
972
438
333
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,138
2,752
972
438
333
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaya beachcoba buildingfishplaya del carmenspanish restaurantother resortsrancho grandea la carte restaurantscaptain morgansbeach buffetlobby barmini golfbeach sectionbeautiful resortbuffet foodsteakpalm trees
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 9,633 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

You will not regret giving a chance to this hotel. I work for famous hotel chain and I was impressed how this resort operates. Food and beverages are great, a lot of things to do, clean, overall great stay. The beach is great! I am planning on visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank vanjamatkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear vanjamatkovic,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your All Inclusive type of meal plan, allowing our guests to take advantage of our different bars and restaurant throughout the day and are grateful for your highlight on the quality of the products and drinks including in its board.

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We just completed our 5th trip to Barcelo. We have stayed at Palace, Colonial, Caribe and Beach in a variety of room categories. We have kids 1.5, 4.5 and 8 years old. The hotel is immaculate and the beach is amazing. We loved seeing some staff from previous years, in particular, David C.C. and Gilberto in the Caribe Buffet both who made a point to make our meal times go smoothly and interact with our children making them feel special. If you are traveling with kids and have any questions, feel free to send me a PM.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank DMWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear DMWD,

First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your trust and loyalty to Barceló Hotels & Resorts for your holidays and for choosing our Barceló Maya Beach hotel this time around, it is indeed a great source of satisfaction to read that once again you had a pleasant stay among us.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

just said never go to Barcelo Maya Beach, the staff don't have a good actitud, you paid premium level for nothing, the Buffet , terrible don't have service are all ,if you order a juice you finish your breakfast and you will be still waiting for your juice, the are more concerned about clean the tables than service the guest. is the worse hotel that I visited.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank olga l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Olga,

Firstly we thank you for making our Barceló Maya Beach your choice hotel for your visit to Riviera Maya, although we regret that we fell a little short of your expectations this time around.

We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

May 12-18, 2018
Flew into Cancun and took a shared shuttle by BD services. very easy and nearly a direct drive south for a little over an hour. We got a great deal on premium service, ocean front suite. We were booked at the Caribe but were switched at the Premium concierge desk. The premium service check in was very, very easy and by- passed at least 75 other people queued in line at the regular check in line. We were checked in in about 15 minutes flat and in comfortable chairs. at first we were disappointed that we were switched from the Caribe to the Beach, but actually the Maya Beach ocean front was closer to the pool and beach and had a better view of the ocean.
No disappointment there. Grounds, pools, rooms, and buffet areas were meticulously cleaned and polished.The beach in front of the Maya Beach is the best out of all the complexes there. we had relatively stone free swimming. There was an occasional rock sticking up out of the sand while swimming. They are not sharp but they do hurt tender feet. The other resorts had rocky beaches and unsuitable for swimming. The beach has plenty of shade palms with plenty of lounges. Actually the beach is very scenic, white sand. Yes, there was some sea weed and yes it would wash up daily. Nothing horrific and they tried to clean it all up but they would leave some. It is Sargasso sea weed.
The pools are great. Water was warm both in ocean and pools.
We were automatically given reservations for all the restaurants upon check in. That was nice, a perk of premium service. We went to some of the restaurants- we went to the steak house, Spanish, Mexican, Italian, and the Italian sea food. The Italian and Italian sea food restaurants were great. I highly recommend them. The steak house was good. The Spanish and Mexican were terrible. I was expecting tapas at the spanish, no such luck. The Mexican was actualy really bad. I was expecting authentic Mexican cuisine, after all we are in Mexico. I'm not talking about usual Mexican fast food, tacos, buritos, fajitas, etc..- That would have been enjoyable too. No, It was just not good food that you would expect as if you were at a fine Mexican restaurant. WE left quickly
The buffets were typical of any good resort. There was exceptional foods and mediocre foods. Some combinations were strange. Breakfast and lunch were great. Buffet theme nights were great, especially Caribe night where they had piles of lobsters, clams, mussels, and shrimp. All for the taking. The shrimp were a different species than what I was accustomed to. These were really huge, head on and with tiny lobster claws. Only three would fit on a large plate at a time. But I managed to suffered through a few plates of them.
The evening shows were also typical. We managed to stay awake for one or two. After drinking, swimming, drinking, eating, and drinking all day, it was hard to sit through a performance at the Teatro, especially with the lights turned down.
The Good tequila was very good drank straight. We drank high end spirits, even in mixed drinks. I highly recommend it.
All in all we had a very good time. Good value for the price

Room Tip: look for specials on premium service, get ocean fron suites at the Carbe or Maya beach
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salimig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Salimig,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your All Inclusive type of meal plan, allowing our guests to take advantage of our different bars and restaurant throughout the day.

Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Very nice resort, very clean, wonderful staff, good food and a fantastic beach. Have been here before and will go again. Great for a family vacation or a couple or friends get-a-way. The Dolphin experience on site was a real plus and we liked the specialty restaurants. Did not spend much time in the pools because we came to swim in the ocean but the pools are fantastic. Looking forward to another vacation here in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank drifterman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear drifterman2,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Maya Beach hotel once again for your holidays and for sharing this wonderful feedback of your recent stay among us, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we keep on meeting all your holiday needs and wishes year after year.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews