We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
US$453
US$438
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$361
US$346
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$346
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$376
US$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Barcelo Maya Beach(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$346
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Catalonia Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$389
US$256
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aventuras Club(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$318
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LM by Inmense(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Mom's House(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (11,441)
Filter reviews
11,441 results
Traveller rating
8,253
1,820
761
300
307
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,253
1,820
761
300
307
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun barzen restaurantrock royaltyrock spabrazilian steakhousevacation plannerssuper mariosky terraceheaven poolrock starmonkey tourriviera mayale petit cochonresort creditheaven sectionfoam partylos gallos
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 11,441 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First,let me preface this by saying that I have stayed at 2 other Hard Rock Hotels before so I am qualified to review this hotel in comparison to the others. It is 6/19 and we are still here until tomorrow. We reside in 6243/6245. When we checked in on 6/15, it was raining due to the Tropical Storm-not a problem. But the hotel appears to not have been prepared for the amount of rain that the storm brought with it because there were NUMEROUS leaks all over the hotel and in the restaurants. It would not be out of the ordinary to be eating your meal and water drops would fall on your head. See attached picture from restaurant. I don’t understand how a hotel that experiences hurricane season yearly has so many leaks and is ill prepared. Also, the flooring leading to the outside rooms - we stayed on the family side-is an accident waiting to happen. To me and I worked in the project management side of construction, the hotel should have used stone flooring - not the cheap VCT type of flooring. What they have now is fine if it doesn’t get wet. It’s not even slip resistant. I almost slipped on numerous occasions. The flooring is pretty to look at, but not at all practical. It will take the right person to fall before they pull it all up and replace. Also, I have never been to a Hard Rock hotel without a casino. I have been to Hard Rock Punta Cana ( the best Hard Rock ever!) and Hard Rock Seminole in Fort Lauderdale. I didn’t ask the hotel staff if they had one or not. I figure if you have to ask, then you don’t have one. I’m not a gambler like that, but I like the noise, people watch, and it just another option in your day. My wife and I went to the Heaven side on several occasions. This is the side for the singles - no children allowed. So we thought we would be wild and go over and hang out late in the wee hours and our let our kids fend for themselves. Let’s just say that we were sadly mistaken. I warn single or couples without children you will be sorely disappointed if you are looking for a jumping resort with all types of bars and nightlife. To be honest and I didn’t think I would ever say this and I hope I never have to say it again, the family side had more activity than the couples side. Also, the Woodward (an activity building for kids) needs some sort of signage on it. It looks creepy. It has no windows. Also, my wife is a pescatarian with dairy allergies. The only restaurant that I felt that really showed concern for diet was Zen. They made sure she did not have dairy. They questioned, confirmed, and confirmed again. They were awesome. All of the other restaurants asked if she had allergies, but you were on your own after that. It shows that they are trained to ask about allergies, but you have to go a step further. We usually ask for the chef or the manager to explain the severity of our concerns, but there was a slight language barrier. Basically, if you are any kind of -atarian when it comes to your diet, then good luck because your choices are extremely limited. Lastly, we were awakened by maintenance hammering about 3-4 am on the floor below us. It appears that it was a major LEAK because I saw the ceiling torn out and mounds of towels on the floor. And yes, I said I saw because the hammering woke me up out of my sleep and went down to see where it was coming from and to give them a piece of my mind. The hotels both Heaven and the family side were just plain boring. Our comfort zone for all inclusive resorts is Sandals/Beaches properties and if this is the competition, then Sandals you have nothing to worry about!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank rickjr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_Hundrieser, Director General at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear rickjr2000,

I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us. This office is aware of your dissatisfaction and on behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya; we offer you our most sincere apologies for have fallen short to your expectations.

We would like to change your perception of our service as it is our main goal to achieve your satisfaction with the epic service that sets us apart.
I will have one of our specialists from Public Relations contacting you to further discuss this matter.
Sincerely,


Jan Hundriser
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family of 6 stayed there May 25 through June 1st. My children are 17, 15, 14, and 12. There is a gym for the kids (very small) and bikes to sign out. With the kids they need a parent to sign for everything. There is a really neat trampoline gym with a skateboard park that you can pay extra to use. There is also a ninja warrior like park (again, there is an extra cost). There are daily activities that my 12 year old enjoyed. Activities were rock climbing wall, zip line that extended from pool to lagoon, large hamster blow up wheel. The 1 and only basketball goal was broken...no rim or net. My 15 year old was bummed.

All the kids enjoyed the pools and the donut/ice cream bar and pizza by the pools.
The lagoon was incredible. Some people don't like it but when the ocean got choppy we could still snorkle. Lots of fish. It's beautiful and clear water. Its about 10 feet or more in some places.

My youngest enjoyed the kids only room called the cavern with pool tables, video games, and airhockey.

The nightly entertainment was fun and better than a couple of places we have been to.

My daughter, 14, felt she had made a friend in the hard rock cafe gift shop. The young woman working was friendly.

Overall the food was just ok. My husband and I stayed at the Royal in playa de carmen and the food there was INCREDIBLE (but beach too rocky to swim in).

The scenery was pretty but a little bland. The monkey tour was fun. Then we knew what to look for on our own walk at a later time.

The rooms were very nice. The kids have there room and adults have there own. I felt safe with my kids running around the hotel campus.

We did our own excursion, xplor (bought online at discount price) and took a cab there for a lot less than what was offeru from HRC.

The weather was nice. 70 at night high 80 in day... pools were still cool water.

Overall it is a fun nice place. I think it's more for younger kids (6 through 12)......

I don't regret going but I doubt that we would be back.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank jennihart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_Hundrieser, Director General at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jennihart,

Thank you very much for your comments, it's a pleasure hear that you enjoy it. I do really appreciate your opinion and it is an honor create great memories together. The most gratifying feeling is your satisfaction and we love to hear your loving comments. Everybody in Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya send their regards hoping to have you back soon and making you feel like a Rockstar again.

Keep on rocking!

Jan Hundrieser
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took the family here for our 2018 holiday, one week all inclusive.

Very good service throughout and always looked after very well by all the staff that are always happy to help.

Food and drink are available in abundance, the family, especially my son, never wanted for anything.

Great time had by all.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_Hundrieser, Director General at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Matthew A,

It has been our real pleasure having you here at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya.

It is gratifying to know you could experience the Rock star stay at our resort, as we work persistently to get our guests’ satisfaction.
We feel very excited by your kind words that help us to keep on rolling every day!
Cannot wait for you to come back!

Jan Hundrieser
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are no words to describe the amazing service we received!! Professional, Prompt, fun, & great energy! I am in the wedding industry in NYC and Philadelphia and we had very high expectations because I have seen it all and planned other weddings. So I know what goes into making an unforgettable event. Everything was just perfect and more than I could ever ask for! Not a detail forgotten or missed. True passion, true love, true service! THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING!!
Bill & Vito - 4-28-18

Room Tip: They always put you in the best!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vito R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_Hundrieser, Director General at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Vito R,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are much appreciated. We are happy to see that you spent such an amazing time at our resort. It is gratifying to receive such comments as a vote of satisfaction, we are working relentlessly to meet our high standards in quality and we feel really happy and proud to see that we are reaching with the epic service that sets us apart. It’s been a pleasure having you with us and we look forwards your next vacation. We would love to have you back and make another great memory together.

Jan Hundrieser
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some slight confusion upon arrival with the reservation and certain needs. Were not able to resolve to our satisfaction on day 1 but were able to have them taken care of in an extremely acceptable fashion on the 2nd day. Beautiful resort with abundant restaurants and activities.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank bolton9525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_Hundrieser, Director General at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello bolton9525,

It has been our pleasure having you with us and we truly appreciate your positive comment. It is very gratifying to learn that you had a great experience at our hotel as we work constantly to get our guests’ satisfaction. We are very excited by your words. Everyone at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya send their regards and we look forward to have you back in a blink!

Jan Hundrieser
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews