We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
12 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
clubmed.us
US$414
View deal
Traveluro
Lol.travel
Destinia.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,947)
Filter reviews
4,947 results
Traveller rating
3,709
836
232
105
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,709
836
232
105
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews circus team iguana building chef de village family vacation white night crazy signs sol suites flying trapeze land sports aqua gym fitness instructor tennis lessons main restaurant sports activities paddle boarding child care kids room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 4,947 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2022

Two of us had a fun one week get away. We planned to stay at the property every day and did just that, traveling to Zihuatanejo for one day of shopping and eating at a favorite restaurant.

Bullet points:
1-Beds are too hard. ( we found out on the day before we left that you can request a foam bed mat to help)
2-Tasteless fruit. (what's up with that?)
3-Pretty dirty pool
4-Weekends appeared to be most crowded and we noticed that they sell daily resort passes for locals.
5-Need to train the new bartending staff who did not know how to make some basic drinks.
6-The GO's were VERY helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed meeting them and talking about the property etc..
7-Rooms were very well air conditioned. This is perfect when very warm outside
8-Food appeared fairly fresh but the weekend was nuts and the buffet ran out of things consistently.
9-With the deals that locals receive, the attention appears to be centered on them and not so much as it once was...... a world wide property with many other countries represented.

Overall, this was a fun in the sun week and it delivered. Weather was great and ocean was what we needed. Although, the property is getting VERY tired.... I had visited this property when it was newly updated about 12 years ago and I was disappointed to see it go so downhill without any interim updating.

COVID has obviously played a part in staffing and supply chain of items and who visits, but with it being closed for almost two years, you would think they would've had time to update/fix things.

Finally, we do plan to visit other Club Med's, especially those that are adults only.

Room tip: Beach front. But is no balcony is included
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ID_Sun_Chaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2022

Just spent an incredible weekend at Club Med Ixtapa. Beautiful beach with an authentic Mexican feel.

Special thank you to Fer, Victor, and the Sol team for your flexibility, Eduardo and the restaurant staff for warm service, and Chris for a great bootcamp. I especially enjoyed the kindness and warmth from Alvaro, Nathan, Irlanda, Miranda, and Alan.

Will definitely be coming back!

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sarah19931213
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2022

What an excellent and memorable experience! Food was excellent - high quality, fresh, reflection of our location. Options to dine with community or privately. We loved the variety of water and fitness activities. The fitness instructor/coordinator (Chris) and water sports instructor (Marcoval) were excellent - as teachers and active skilled participants. My partner learned how to paddle board with 1-to1 instruction - as Marcoval was extremely patient with him.

They were also friendly great people to hang out with - such a cool group of adults from all over the world, and many of course from Mexico. Excellent GO's that made a difference in our social and cultural experience - a shout out to all of them... the Water Sports Team (Rodrigo, Fernando, Marcoval) the Trapeze Team (Eduardo, Ines, Mini, Kim), and others - Marco, Bruno, Jonathan, Abi, Genesis, Fernando, Aldo, Mercedes - were all so great.

It was refreshing to hang out with them after COVD made our jobs stressful over the past two years. Hanging with genuinely, kind and interesting GOs melted away our stress!

We also loved the option of yoga and pilates by the beach. We didn't take advantage of these other options but there is also volleyball, tennis, pickleball, ping-pong and basketball. Would definitely come back!

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Club Med
Thank susanaK9683OQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2022

It's Mexican food and little else. Roast chicken, talipia fish and pork?They can't even do french fries right. 3 days in a row?!!! Four trident resort? Yes, there's bean and rice or taco and beans and rice!!! Only have sailing, paddle board or kayak as water sport. GOs are very nice which makes the trip bearable. If you like food ... don't come here!

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mj70461
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2022 via mobile


Pros
Nice beach albeit it a bit short.
Lots of activities.
Staff are generally very helpful.
Rooms are clean.
Beds were confortable.
Food is plentiful.
Great gym!

Cons
Weekends are overrun by locals who diminish the quality of the Club Med experience by over crowding, eliminating a nice ethnic mix, repetitive Mexican music on the weekend dance nights, drunken behavior etc. If you are visiting from abroad, avoid weekends.

Rooms wreak of mold. We had three rooms, two were unbearable and thankfully the staff helped to move us.

The main pool was not well filtered. It was low on chlorine and dirty. Good to catch a UTI.

Quality of the food is average. Used to be much better at this Club.

Suggestions
Chef de Village Antonio is absent appearing mainly at night. At other Club Meds the Chef de Village is omni present. If he looked around more he would be able to resolve issues before they became annoying.

Moldy rooms need a deep cleaning and disinfecting of the ducts. Then the ac should be run NON stop. One cannot switch off the ac to save money in such a humid climate! This is why the mold festers.

We had a suite, but the minibar was poorly stocked. This could be addressed easily.

This club used to be better managed. Visit the Club Med in Cancun and repeat in Ixtapa and you'll be Golden.

Stop the cheap weekend offers for locals. It's makes it a cheap, unappealing, Mexican resort which is not why one goes for a Club Med holiday. One of the perks is international variety.

Room tip: Avoid weekends due to cheap local packages drawing large undesirable crowds
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dzekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews